China Glaze Below Deck

4.7

24 reviews

95% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Oh wow, I'm super late to the "greige" party, but I'm in love with Below Deck, which has such a strong dose of purple that I'd almost classify it as "purple"…anyway, it's in the greige/taupe/mushroom/dusty purple group and looks beautiful with my nw20ish skin. (On my computer, the picture associated with this product is accurate.) I know this came out in 2011, but it's still very relevant for 2014 - it seems most brands have this sort of gray/purple-taupe color in recent collections. I've been finding myself reaching for this when I don't know what else to reach for, it just kind of goes with everything…dark enough and off-beat enough to be slightly edgy while maintaining greige's chameleon-like ability to play nicely at work. Application is very nice, I just wish ChG would go for a wider brush. Beautiful cream formula that's opaque in two coats and benefits from a super shiny top coat (doesn't most polish?). Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/6/2013 1:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Below Deck is a very trendy and cool colour for the fall and winter. It is a purple with grey undertones and it super flattering on so many skin colours. The application of this nail polish is a DREAM it is creamy and honestly you could pull off only one coat of this, but 2 coats is absolutely perfect for this polish. It lasts for a long time without chipping especially with a good top coat. I get tons of compliments whenever I wear this polish and it's definitely one I see myself grabbing for more often in the fall.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2012 12:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is Below Deck (China Glaze) from their Anchors Away Spring 2011 collection. It is a mauvey taupey purple creme that had great application in two coats. Very trendy and cool neutral.


on 9/15/2012 1:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

A lot of brands have this type of color out right now---it's trendy. But the China Glaze version is so wonderfully creamy and opaque. Feels almost luxurious to apply. You could get by with one coat, but I like two because it wears longer and looks more finished. This lasts well on me for about a week. Great product!


on 5/17/2012 4:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

OMG. I so wanted to love this color, but it really hates my olive skin. YUCK With a tan or without, it made my hands look Frankenstein-ish, as in ....dead/sallow! I have a flat neutral beige olive complexion which tends to look sallow (greenish yellow) when I wear the wrong np colors -- I have no real warm tones to my skin (no warm caramel or strong golden tones at all). I can usually wear cooler toned np very well, but this was a disaster. :/ 'Nuff said. :/

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2012 3:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is one of my absolute favorite nail polishes, which is saying something because I have quite a few. Below Deck is a medium purple with strong grey undertones. It's so gorgeous and flattering; I don't think it would look bad on any skintone.
This polish has a cream finish, which I love (not a fan of sparkles). Like most cream China Glaze polishes, it's not too thick or too thin. It's pretty much opaque in one coat, but I always apply two for better staying power. This never bubbles or streaks, either.
With a base coat and a top coat, this lasts incredibly well. Usually after 6 days I have enough tip wear that I decide to take it off, but I'm really anal with my nails...I could see it lasting well over a week on someone who doesn't mind a little wear.
If you like unique shades, particularly shades with grey undertones, buy this nail polish! I can't see anyone regretting purchasing this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2012 2:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Only one coat needed. Lovely dark plum/brown/grey colour.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Ever since the term "greige" came into existence, I've searched for this exact polish, but nothing quite suited my NW20 skintone. From zoya kelly (total fail--streaky, absolutely chipped,) OPI metro chic/YDKJ, rimmel steel grey, and Sally Hansen commander in chic...nothing was quite right. My hands have a tendency to get decidedly red, but below deck remains on the decidedly cool end of the grey spectrum, where the aforementioned shades leaned too warm. The best part of all? The wear on this polish is astonishing, and it dried super fast. If my polish isn't dry within 10 minutes after application, I usually just take it off--I have the patience of a five year old, and I treat my nails like tools, so I'm extremely impressed with below deck. Got it at Sally's for $3.99 (they had a $1 off coupon for all CG polishes,) and it beats most OPI, zoya, and Essie IMO.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2012 12:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this color!! it's like a smoky gray with a tinge of purpleyness that keeps it from making my skin look ashy :) two coats worked just fine, but I did three thin ones. I like the way it looks on me! This color kept sticking out at me at Sally's so I had to get it :) yay :)


on 12/26/2011 9:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I cannot fault this gorgeous purplish taupe creme nail polish! It went opaque in one coat (but I ended up applying 2 for more colour depth and longer wear), dried quickly and has beautiful shiny finish. It dries slightly darker than bottle colour but still looks amazing against NC25 skin tone. Even though it is in grey/brown category it is not dull, nor OTT. But it will be noticed and admired by others.
I found a dupe of this colour in my collection - Essie Merino Cool!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
149 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Top Rated China Glaze Products

image

Ruby Pumps

386 reviews
image

Frostbite

70 reviews
image

Recycle

55 reviews
image

Fairy Dust

97 reviews
Back to Top