New York Color • Smooch Proof Lip Stain • Lips

rated 3.8(106 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 MadchenRogue on 2/28/2014 11:43:00 AM more reviews by MadchenRogue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

despite the reviews, i purchaed one: persistent pink. it is a gorgeous color. a beatiful neutral pink with no blue undertones. i didn't mind the packagind at all. in fact i like how you can be precise with the application...but this is where the positives end. issue one -peeling. this formula made my lips peel..more than usual. 2nd issue-performance. after 3 hours the dye is 100% gone. no my lips but better. absolutely nothing. for what i payed roughly 5$.... i was better off buying another jordana llipstain. at half the price of nyc they perform better, lasts all day (8+ hrs) and my lips dont get as chapped as nyc. will finish product but wont repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DrGMart on 2/27/2014 12:42:00 AM more reviews by DrGMart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know why I keep insisting on trying these marker lip stains, but I love lip stains so darn much. I got two - 498 Berry long time, and 493 Champagne Stain. The berry one is basically a deep berry stain, the champagne is a corally-pink. The crazy thing is that the lighter champagne one actually seems to be more pigmented than the berry, and it shows up more on my lips! These aren't that great, but they are on the better end of the spectrum of marker stains. They're patchy, kinda hard to apply, don't last crazy long. Five bucks, wouldn't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Xbeckygx on 2/9/2014 10:42:00 AM more reviews by Xbeckygx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the coralicious (506) lip stain a few weeks ago, just because I wanted a bit of a brighter lip colour to cheer me up with all these cold, rainy days in the UK. It's pretty cheap, at just 3.99 in Superdrug. And, I have to say, this product does stay on all day without budging. You have to be careful not to smudge it right after application, but once it's on, it's not going anywhere. It has a pretty good pigmentation too. I've had quite a few compliments on it when I've worn it, which I think speaks for itself. I wasn't crazy about the packaging, which was like a marker pen, as I thought it was a bit difficult to control, but it was manageable. It smells great, but I didn't really like the taste. I also found it a little bit drying, I don't know if anybody else experienced this? Easily fixed with a good lip balm though. But I would probably repurchase as the colour and pigmentation was nice, it's so cheap, and it really does stay on all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ixSNOWBUNNYx3 on 1/26/2014 11:45:00 AM more reviews by ixSNOWBUNNYx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is actually pretty cool, I do have to admit, even with my love hate relationship with NYC products.

I really needed a color that would stay and last the whole day without it budging at all, and I'd have to say, this really covers it! It doesn't move, or transfer, as long as you let the product settle into your lips. The stain smells amazing, and it's really easy to open and use. I bought the color champagne stain on a drugstore haul last month for about 5 dollars Canadian.

I've noticed that it does tend to bleed a bit, so it may be a good idea to work fast, and be consistent in how much you put on. The stain is like a marker, and I've noticed that if you store the stain tip facing down, you actually get better color, and better product flow.

I took a lippie off because I didn't really like the marker tip, I found it hard to control at times...

Overall, a great product, great range of colors, and I probably will go back for more!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautyflower on 1/11/2014 11:38:00 PM more reviews by beautyflower

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Ok, so most of NYC's products haven't really worked out for me, but this!!! I picked it up on a sale at Walmart and I do no regret it, I would have bought it full price! This is nice, opaque and full on color! I put it on and later on washed myself and rubbed my face... the color was still there! (not full on but goodly stained!!!) I couldn't ask more for this lipstain, it's better than any others I've tried! 16h ??? Maybe if you don't eat, but if you do, GIRL this will last you a full day!!!!!!!!!!!! Plus, it doesn't bleed and the color doesn't comes off blotchy, it fades nicely as it goes off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lushblush on 1/1/2014 6:32:00 AM more reviews by lushblush

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! It makes my lips shiny and colourful and it lasts a little while too. It is very pigmented and reminds me of revlon lip butters! I will repurchase! (It smells lush too)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tdhx0 on 12/25/2013 3:23:00 AM more reviews by tdhx0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am absolutely impressed with this lip stain! I'm a sucker for all high end makeup and hold my standards to that. This lip stain I'd pay $30 for. The color pay off is great and last for hours! Also, it doesn't get on my husband when I kiss him! Even HE is impressed by it. Like most stains, it's drying. But nothing severe. It's so light weight, it doesn't feel like you have anything on your lips! I've only tried two colors so I can't say much about them all but the ones I've tried I'm obsessed and will be buying and more

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 caouette on 12/23/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by caouette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I like the color selection, but this stuff doesn't even stay on for 10 minutes, let alone 16 hours, and although it is decently pigmented, it goes on weird, not smooth at all. Definitely wouldn't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Indigo1707 on 12/8/2013 1:42:00 AM more reviews by Indigo1707

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is pretty solid stuff! I find myself consistently buying lip stains, enamored with the concept of color without transfer or a chalky/sticky/otherwise unpleasant feeling, but still experiencing downsides such as bad color payoff or patchy fading, etc. Nevertheless, though, the pattern continued, and I purchased New York Color lip stain in the shade 494 Smooch Proof with the intention of trying it out in a full-lip application and just a center-of-the-lip application for the popsicle-effect (I have posted pictures of both) and I will say that this is a fantastic product. The color payoff is great whilst still being able to build the color, and the marker-like tip is fine enough that you can properly do a precise full-lip application without a problem. The color is a perfect blue-toned, bright pinkish-red on my cool, fair NW10 skin and gives me the Snow White effect I'm looking for. Great price point as well--nice work, New York Color!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/2/2013 5:22:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't get over how good these are. Best lip stain I have ever used -cheap or pricey! Most NYC stuff is junky quality - dusty eyeshadows with no colour payoff, eye pencils that rub off 5 seconds after application. . .much of it isn't even worth a second look. But I tried this on my hand at the store one day, walked around, washed hands, did groceries, ate lunch, washed hands, went home, washed hands again and it was STILL there, several hours later and vibrant. How is this even possible?

After that, I went out and ended up buying every colour I could find. I must say not all are great - the nudes don't show up on my lips and the lightest pink was barely noticeable but still good for a more natural look. But the reds, deeper pinks and fuchsia are outstanding. My favourite is Forever Fuschia - and if you are dark-haired or medium/olive yellow-toned or darker skinned this colour will most likely be BEAUTIFUL on you and it is pigmented, bold, bright but still quite natural looking like you ate berries and they stained your lips kind of way. I work in a hospital and also part-time at a club and I don't get many breaks at work. Sometimes I go over 8-10 hours with no break/lunch or even a mirror and I need my make-up to last. That's where these stains come in. Before I'd be using NARS Matte Lip pencils, YSL, etc and no lipstick, gloss or stain ever made it, except this cheap one. I eat, drink and run my mouth all day and it lasts :) The worst that's ever happened was after a popsicle it slightly faded. And even then it wore off evenly, no random patches of colour (which was my worst nightmare due to other lip stains I'd use, and they would fade in odd patches on my lips. .ugh). This is super easy to use: has that marker tip type applicator, swipe this on and let the liquid dry for a few seconds. Done.

I now keep back-ups of my absolute favourite: Forever Fuchsia; and also love Persistent Pink (for a more natural look), SmoochProof (soft red), Forever Freesia (bolder pink), and Forever Mine Wine (deeper burgundy wine). I found that keeping them marker side down so the tip stays moist is the best, otherwise the tip can get slightly dry and it takes longer to apply. Also - they can be a bit drying, not uncomfortably so but annoying nonetheless so I keep lip balm around just in case - I usually use Neutrogena Lip Balm on top which works great.

If you see these I would totally recommend trying at least one shade. I would probably cry if these were ever discontinued and I'd pay double or triple for this if I had to - thankfully these are affordable and I stock up when I find them at stores nearby.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lips products