New York Color • IndividualEyes 941 Smokey Browns palette • Eye Shadow

rated 3.7(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AndreaJunelle on 6/8/2013 5:23:00 PM more reviews by AndreaJunelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I believe that this product has been reformulated and also contains different shades than the original "Smokey For Blue Eyes" palette..?
I had several of these NYC "customized for your eye color" palettes 2, maybe 3 years ago and gave them away. They were not pigmented and not flattering shades for my brown eyes (yes I have brown eyes and bought the palette for "blue eyes" - I'm a rebel! lol ;D)

For reference I'm 31 years old with fair skin and dark brown hair & eyes. My "season" is considered a Clear Winter.

Several weeks ago while browsing the drugstore makeup at WalMart this palette caught my eye (specifically the Taupe shade which is the 2nd up from the bottom, and darkest shade which is a reddish-plum with hints of brown and is the shade at the top of the palette) I paid right around $5 and did not have high hopes for it when I got it back home. To my delightful surprise, these are amazing! All four shades are super pigmented, and even though these are marketed for blue eyes, it's one of the most flattering palettes on my brown eyes that I own.

The "Smokey For Blue Eyes" palette that I recently purchased (in May 2013) contains a deep champagne shade(perfect for applying all over the lid and up the brow bone), a basic taupe shade (it's what I'd consider a *true* taupe), a deep brown (not your average dark brown though, it's quite unique looking IMO), and a deep plum that contains hints of red and brown to it once applied and is VERY deep in color.
None of the shades are not matte, they all contain a hint of glimmer but it's NOT teenage glitter looking eye shadow or anything to be concerned about it you're an "all matte eyeshadow" kinda person ;) It seems to be just enough shimmer to add depth to the eyes.

The palette also contains what NYC calls a "Primer" and "illuminator" which are both creams. The primer does an ok job with helping improve the intensity of shadows, but does nothing for shadow creasing (I have VERY oily lids though so YMMV). The Illuminator/Highlighter is quite pretty though but not "one of a kind" or anything, just a basic creamy white shimmer that can be used on the eye area as well as other areas of the face for highlighting. I've used it on my cupid's bow and a dab on the middle of my nose and it's a nice touch.)

Overall I would totally recommend these if they're all as good in quality as the one I purchased & would also repurchase in a heartbeat. (If I can find an accurate photo of this palette via Google I'll upload it!)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rawrmonster8992 on 1/16/2013 5:37:00 PM more reviews by rawrmonster8992

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So this product comes with a base that I use everyday. I think it has the perfect shade of grey for brown eyes. I sweep the grey over my lid. I blend the black into my crease. Next I apply the highlight under my brow. Next I use the illuminator it comes with over the highlight and it looks amazing!!!! It didn't cost that much and even if it did i would still buy it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennifa55 on 1/14/2012 8:32:00 PM more reviews by jennifa55

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this palette. I love it for the 2nd from the top shade. I have not found anything like it. I like to wear it as a crease color and it looks so good with anything(taupe, brown, purple). I agree the quality is not the greatest. But I just love that color. I bought a few of these palettes with the 40% sale so it was an amazing deal. I also like the eye primer I have used he primers that were similar and I paid a lot more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tightkitty on 9/29/2011 8:23:00 AM more reviews by tightkitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I picked this cute looking palette up thinking wow it even comes with a primer/base ,a highlight ,as well as smokey shadows. What a disappointment since they are all of poor quility .ok fist of all there is hardly any pigment when I applied these and I have tried different shadow brushes,but when I swipe my finger in the shadow they seems to warm up to my finger and I see a lot of pigment and looks the way it should. I prefer WNW shadows by far these also felt scratchy to my lids something Im not used to feeling at all. This is one of those products that sits around and goes in the product graveyard..oh and the primer/base is not easy to get over my lid not smooth and the highlight reminds me of my barbie makeup when I was a child. This palette is horrendous to me and anyone that likes it I question their makeup knowledge lol but 4.99 I cant gripe to much

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RingofFire on 8/19/2011 9:40:00 AM more reviews by RingofFire

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

There are four gray- taupe shadows in this. Two medium shades, one cool and another warm shade, charcoal shimmer black and a light silvery shade for highlighting. I do love the colors,especially the medium shades.
This quad gives a nice soft daytime matte look if applied lightly and blended well. Not hard since its not as pigmented as WnW icon palettes or NYX but still nice. I like that the shimmer that shows up in the pan is for most part is VERY SUBTLE when applied but can be amp up for night with heavier application or a slightly damp brush for a super shimmer look. Most of the colors (with the exception of the lightest shade are more matte with tiny bits of soft shimmer here and there so it does not look drying .This is what I wanted the NYX palette in charcoal grays to be as far as color/tone. The primer is okay, very creamy. I had to be patient and let it dry some before applying the shadow . Primers seem to be a hit or miss with me anyway as I seemed to have a problem applying it evenly. I found it marked down at Target. Nice impulse buy in shades I have look for over a year.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GreekGodess on 7/29/2011 7:21:00 PM more reviews by GreekGodess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was pleasantly surprised. The colors are really wonderful for a smokey eyes. I did it fast fast in the morning and the girls at my work said wow your smokey eye makeup is really cool. I really love the primer and the Illuminator which you can just put a dab in the inner corner of your eye... The only little thing was the staying power, it last for a good 5 hours but after it started to fade a little.. But overall, It is soo worth the money and I cant wait to go to WM and get a few more kits like this. Pick one up for the price you cant go wrong.... It's a pretty good buy!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LEVMEALONA on 1/31/2011 10:20:00 PM more reviews by LEVMEALONA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Very chalky, I think wet n' wild is far superior. There are way better taupes and smokey palettes out in drugstore land

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oscarnabby on 1/23/2011 1:14:00 PM more reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this is a fantastic product too! The first reviewer gave an excellent review of the colors. I think this kit creates a really sultry, sexy, classy smoky eye....not too much for daytime if you apply it lightly, and just really smoldering for evenings out. IMO, pigmentation of the shadows is perfect. I've even found that the primer works quite well. I have four of these individualeyes kits now, and I love all of them, and would highly recommend them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missnewname on 1/23/2011 9:05:00 AM more reviews by missnewname

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got this because it looked like my stila press shy palette (my most favorite palette in the world). it has a light silver, medium shimmer taupe, darker purply taupe (kind of like moth brown but less shimmer), and a sparkly black. it also contains a little pan of primer and a cream high lighter in a shimmery white color. with this palette you can make a natural look for every day or a super smokey look for going out. the pigmentation isn't the greatest in the world, worse than the better MAC formulas (frosts and veluxe pearls), but better than the worser MAC shadows (lustres and satins). but the colors are ideal for me, the primer works well, and I love the highlighter goop. it will be nice for travel. oh and it was $4.99 so it's no big deal if you lose it/hate it/break it/etc.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More New York Color products

More Eye Shadow products