Paula's Choice • Almost the Real Thing-Self Tanning Gel • Self Tanners

rated 3.9(77 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eire1 on 7/27/2014 11:16:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was amazing! It goes on with color temporarily so you can see where its being applied but this subsides within minutes. Blending is always critical with self tanners and this could streak but I thought it streaked less than 'jergens' and 'Mina organics' the other products that I tried. The color gathered slaround my knees because the skin is tougher there and color on my arms showed up within 2 days with barely any streaking. The formula is simple with only caramel and dyhodroxyaceyone as the chief coloring agents.My suggestions are to exfoliate and blend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nicoleeverett on 2/6/2013 9:53:00 AM more reviews by nicoleeverett

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This self tanner didn't work for me at all. It had all of the qualities of the "cheaper" self tanners-- color was a little orange, it was kind of streaky and it smelled like 'self tanner'. It wasn't the worst self tanner I've ever used, but I ust think there's much better self tanning products out there.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashley92504 on 7/23/2012 11:19:00 AM more reviews by ashley92504

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got 5oz for $12.95. It was not on sale but just using powder bronzer on my face was not keeping up with matching my body. All self tanners seem to dry out my face like crazy or make it feel cloggy and slimy. I mainly bought this for my face since I can pretty much use any other self tanner on my body.
--
This is a gel that has a caramel tint that disappears once you put it on your skin, it is not moisturizing but it is not extremely drying like other self tanners, and it is most definitely not going to make you look like some bronze babe who just came back from vacation.
--
This gel is mostly for us glowing pale white skin ppl who need to warm up a skin a little bit. It is VERY gradual and very light.. in fact it is not even much of a difference where anyone besides yourself(or someone who really pays attention to you) will notice..
--
pros: fragrance free, non irritating, no breakouts
--
cons: very light/not dark enough, not moisturizing, no antioxidants
--
I put that I would buy this product again because unless i find a magical antioxidant rich non slimy face self tanner, it is fine for my face without causing any reactions, feeling slimy, breakouts. This plus the powder bronzer is enough for some color on my face.
--

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emmgill on 5/3/2012 11:15:00 PM more reviews by emmgill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was a little hesitant to try this because I have tried 'gel' self tanners before and they have been horrible and sticky and streaky.mthis is like a soft gel. It sinks in so well andmhasma bronze color to it. No streaking at all!! I followed e instructions and got a lovely natural looking tan. Perfect, perfect!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 findmehelpful on 9/24/2011 2:23:00 PM more reviews by findmehelpful

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My favorite self-tanner!!! Believable color, applies smoothly, not streaky, color stays, smells ok. I think that's all the check points......

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bluemymind99 on 9/24/2011 1:59:00 PM more reviews by bluemymind99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried so many self-tanners to take the glare off my legs. They all work just fine--that's not the problem. The problem is how unpleasant they are to use. Stinky, greasy, and generally a mess. Paula's Choice's offering is none of those things. It's an ingenious gel instead of a lotion, with a smooth, dry texture that imparts a natural glow. AND IT DOES'T SMELL!!!!!

So why only four lippies? It's really hard to get right. I follow the directions to a T--washing my legs with shampoo instead of soap, exfoliating, applying a thin layer of lotion, and then patiently applying the gel in small sections--and it doesn't matter. I still get an uneven application on at least one part of my legs. It's a frustrating problem plaguing this otherwise perfect product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 9/3/2011 1:47:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in love! I've used Jergens self-tanner for years but I just got a sample of this and it's amazing! The color is the perfect deep golden brown and looks so natural on. And it's basically scent-fee which is really unusual for a self-tanner. It's not expensive and I LOVE that you can try almost all Paula's Choice products for $.80 USD. Highly recommend and I can't wait to receive my full-sized product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 7/28/2011 7:34:00 PM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This was my last try in a long line to find a self-tanner that would work on my pale skin. I got uneven results just like all the other ones I have tried. No matter how much I exfoliate, I still get the uneven areas. Apparently, self-tanners and my skin are not compatible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 7/28/2011 5:08:00 PM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This seems to have mixed reviews. I for one did not like this. The smell was not bad and did not really smell like a normal tanner until several hours had passed. The application process was very long. It took quite a while to apply this and even after applying it took quite a while to dry. This had one of the longest dry times I have ever had to do for a self tanner. The next morning after I applied I did indeed have a tan, but it was horrible. The color was dark but had an orange tint to it. It also was so splotchy. I followed everything to a tee but I still had splotches. Those splotches were hard to get rid of. The lasting power on this was actually quite a bit longer then some others and that ended up being bad being it looked bad. This was alright, for me it just did not work well enough to keep trying with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* agibeault on 6/22/2011 9:56:00 AM more reviews by agibeault

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

:( I was so excited to get this, I bought two bottles before I even tried it. The self tanner does have some amazing qualities - first off, it is fragrance free which is rare for self tanners. The self-tanner smell does come after a few hours, but this is going to happen no matter what, or else the self tanner doesnt work. Definitely much more bearable than any other tanner I've tried. Secondly, your skin fees so incredibly soft the next morning. The problem lies with the results. I could deal with the gel taking over an hour to dry, however my results were very orange, uneven, and splotchy. I don't have this problem with my Life Brand cheapy drug store tanner, and I think it may be because the colour guide is much lighter with the PC version. I do blend very well and apply the same way, so I'm not sure why so uneven. My dry patches came out completely white, whereas with my other tanner they normally tan fine or go on the dark side, if not moisturized enough beforehand. I will continue to use the two bottles I have purchased but probably just on my face...I need something fragrance fee because my skin is extremely sensitive but I really do look fake. I'm very surprised...I thought I would at least get a better result than from drugstore, but no.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Self Tanners products