Smashbox • Photo Finish Color Correcting Foundation Primer - Adjust • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 caityazimi on 2/23/2015 7:07:00 PM more reviews by caityazimi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I do not like this primer. At all. The color expert at Sephora told me to get a green primer to counteract the redness of my skin, so I picked this one up on a whim. $15 for a small bottle. UGH! I HATE THIS. This does nothing to "color correct". This feels oily when you put it on, and it made my already oily skin even earlier. I try using more liberal amounts to achieve color-correcting, but it still does nothing. I regret buying this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarolinaMidwife on 2/1/2015 12:49:00 AM more reviews by CarolinaMidwife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think this does anything. I mean, I don't think it functions as a primer nor as a color corrector. I love a good primer and this just doesn't do anything. Maybe, if I had to stretch, I would say it smoothes my skin a bit but I don't notice it assisting my foundation in any way. Boo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sophie_lapin on 11/10/2014 5:34:00 PM more reviews by sophie_lapin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have naturally flushed-looking cheeks that I would like to tone down so that I can apply different shades of blushes. Some days, I really want a soft pink cheek but I can't because my orange/red cheeks poke through no matter which foundation or concealer I use.
So that was my goal with this primer and if that didn't work, I would have been satisfied if it somewhat filled in some of my textured skin or dehydration lines.

It didn't achieve either of these goals for me (not even a little bit). I used an amount similar to a small pea for both of my cheeks (from orbital bone down to jaw). I expected to see green where my skin is a normal color under my cheekbones to my jaw- nope.

It does dry to a powdery soft finish. My skin is already soft so I wasn't looking for help in that department.

I paid good money for this so I will continue to play with it. If I get it to work, I will update this review. But at the moment I wish I would have never purchased it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MichPaon on 9/25/2014 11:41:00 PM more reviews by MichPaon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely adore smash box so I thought I would give this green colour corrective primer a try, and sadly, I was very disappointed. First off Iím very pale, and when using this primer I noticed in pictures my face had a bit of a green tinge to it (and trust me I used this product sparingly)! Personally to me I didnít notice it reduce a significant amount of redness, and I didnt want to apply more product to my face because I already had a green tinge.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Aase1 on 9/24/2014 4:11:00 AM more reviews by Aase1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Everybody is always raving about Smashbox primers, so I thought I'd try one. The SA suggested I try the green color correcting primer. I must have seemed pretty red that day, cause usually I don't feel I have much redness to cover. Anyways, I bought the small size.

I do not like the green color. I have to be careful not to over apply, as it gives me a greenish tint and makes my makeup almost slip off my face. If applied really sparingly (less than the recommended pea) it gives me a slightly smoother look. Does nothing for oil control.

On the plus side it does not make me break out, and it takes forever to finish a tiny tube .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mutethecity on 8/21/2014 2:11:00 PM more reviews by Mutethecity

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My friend has a lot of redness in her cheeks and recommended this to me. In the winter, I rub my nose a lot causing redness in addition to redness from acne. I decided that after trying my friend's, I'd purchase my own.

I really like this product a lot. It does what it says it will, and more. I wouldn't say I have severe redness, but it is noticeable. This product reduces the redness around my nose A LOT, and definitely makes the redness from my acne disappear completely. In addition to redness reduction, if blurs my pores really well and keeps oil gone pretty much all day. My skin is nice, smooth, and oil-free all day after wearing this. I like the texture of this product, it's not silicone-y and feels more like a lotion.

I only have a few cons with this primer. One is the price. I'd rather not pay $39 for one ounce of product, though you don't need much and a little goes a long way. I also don't like how it applies with powder. I don't wear a lot of foundation on a daily basis, especially in the summer, so I will usually wear a light translucent powder or powder foundation, or just primer. I have to wear just this primer or it with liquid foundation, because applying a powder on top of this makes it the powder cake up. Then if you try to blend it out, it clumps into little rubbery balls. It also does separate some if you don't use it often. So just be sure to agitate it now and again if you don't use it everyday.

Other than that I really like this product. All other green-tinted primers and concealers seem to not work or be too heavy and thick for my liking. That is why I really recommend this product and will buy again when I run out.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlueberryPancakes on 1/21/2014 10:43:00 AM more reviews by BlueberryPancakes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is a good primer, but I don't notice any color correcting difference between this and your average primer. I don't plan to buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jojomua on 1/20/2014 2:09:00 PM more reviews by jojomua

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the 10$ travel sizes at Sephora just to try it. And I gotta say it works pretty well for me. Reasons I gave it a five: 1) Its not oily 2) I do get a little redness around my nose from time to time but nothing major ,so it did correct the small amount redness. 3) The finish was smooth So yea I would by it again and only use when needed. Wouldn't use it for an everyday ,simply because there's no primer like milk of magnesium..just saying lol ,but just save it for my redness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kaitlynndiane on 1/12/2014 10:42:00 PM more reviews by kaitlynndiane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have pretty normal redness on my cheeks, nothing too extreme, but it does come through a light coverage foundation. I bought this hoping to use this and not have to wear medium or full coverage constantly. It works very nicely as a primer, although a tad bit on the greasy side. After putting my makeup on, I saw NO difference. Really don't waste your $40 on this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ktcolt on 11/8/2013 3:42:00 PM more reviews by ktcolt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this to diffuse the redness of my cheeks. This did not do that. I refuse to cake it on and make my foundation roll and pill when I get to that...this is a nice primer, smooth etc...but does NOT cover red like it advertises.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Primer/ Corrector products