Clarins • Gentle Exfoliater Brightening Toner • Toners

rated 4.1(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Sian01 on 7/23/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Sian01

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have dehydrated, acne-prone skin and this toner has worked a charm! I was slightly reluctant to try this toner out at first, seeing as it's rather expensive (I payed £25 for just 125ml - whereas my old toner was £2 for 200ml)
However, none of the previous toners I used have ever came close to this one. Using it for the first time, it felt smoother than my other toners and glided on like a dream. I know that may sound slightly ridiculous seeing as all toners are smooth, but it just felt nicer and more luxurious on the skin. After a couple of weeks of using this toner once a day (at night), my skin texture improved greatly, and my face looked brighter and less congested. I would certainly be interested in repurchasing, but unfortunately I'm not sure if I'd be able to afford it (the joys of being a student).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shones22 on 3/25/2014 1:18:00 PM more reviews by shones22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love. Total love for this product. The bottle is great as design means it doesn't spill if knocked over, opaque so less likely to spoil quickly on light exposure and light enought to port. The smell is nice and I am not overly fond of scented products but this is fine, not too sweet or headache inducing. The cost is twenty five pounds and as I plan on only using it once or twice a week I feel it is a good investment.
For the last decade I have had a gradual build up of bumps under the skin which are really visible in bright light but as they were mostly on my chin they did not bother me too much as figured hormones etc but now they are on my cheeks just under my eyes and all over my forehead which used to be beautifully clear. Have never had perfect skin but was pleased with my clear cheeks and forehead. Nothing has worked to remove them. Facials, serums, saunas, spot treatments so gave this a try after reading about it on various blogs. Lots of reviews on how it got rid of bumpy skin. Was sceptical.
One visit to clarins counter and came back with this and samples of sensitive day and night cream. I know I was only to use it twice a week but after first use at night and seeing the results the next morning I used it again and the next day. Oops. Result almost flat,smooth forehead. Honestly bumps are 90% gone. Cheeks are clearing nicely. BUT obviously too much too soon for my skin as skin a wee bit red on cheeks so am going to stick to the directions and use once or twice a week. Also you must use SPF with this as skin is prone to freckling after.......I didn't as weather is overcast and I live in Scotland but on a walk to the nursery I came back with a crop of freckles around my hairline. Which looks nice to me but guess skin is sensitised with this product.
Less bumps and brighter skin. No dryness even though there is an alcohol content and my skin usually has dry patches on cheeks. Cleanse , tone, serum, moisturiser and lovely skin. Worth the money. My skin has not looked this clear in years. No reaction to it. I have a four day rule with new products because by the fourth day my skin reacts but on day seven. Am very hopeful.
3rd April no breakouts or adverse reactions from this just beautifully clear skin. I can't believe the difference it has made. My skin feels so soft, not dry and my facial oils just get absorbed into my skin after using this. An absolute must buy for those with combination,dehydrated, ageing and sensitive skin just don't overuse it at the beginning.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alesdux on 3/23/2014 1:05:00 PM more reviews by alesdux

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have adult acne on the sides of my face and this toner definitely helped me solving my problem. I use it 2xweek and it lasts ages. I will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ebecks on 3/22/2014 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Ebecks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had a three month stretch of bad skin. I had break outs the the after effect of acne marks and discoloration. I was so frustrated! So in came this toner...and two months later I can see a HUGE difference. My skin is even in tone and texture and I can go makeup free again! I love this and will continue to use and repurchase this toner!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 enki on 3/5/2014 11:36:00 PM more reviews by enki

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love this toner. Brightens my skin and helps with overall smoothness and clarity.

Also found fewer hormonal breakouts since I've been using this and if I do get a pimple/bump it doesn't seem to last as long.

Not horrendously priced. Definitely worth trying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alison1986 on 2/25/2014 4:00:00 AM more reviews by Alison1986

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm so pleased with this product! I've got sensitive skin and suffer from redness across my cheeks! If my skin does not like something ill break out into a red blotchy mess! However since using this product my skin is much brighter. It's taken away a lot of my redness across my cheeks and I haven't reacted to it. I'm really pleased! I use it as directed twice a week and a little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 liselorebon on 2/18/2014 11:30:00 AM more reviews by liselorebon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love using this product, but I don't really know why. It is often decribed as an instant pick-me-up for your skin, but I can't really tell the difference to be honest.

That being said, it does feel nice. I use it every now and then after cleansing my face at the end the day and it jsut feels good. I particularly like the 'balmy' feeling. It definately does not feel drying. I have not noticed any exfoliating though.

Anyway, I'm sure it does something, if not- it's just very nice to end a cleansing routine with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 camillajhb on 2/14/2014 5:04:00 PM more reviews by camillajhb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

For someone with ultra-dry, ultra-sensitive, eczema and acne prone skin (thanks Accutane!) acid toners are generally off the cards. I haven't been able to use Alpha-H Liquid Gold (and certainly not a scrub) in a very long time due to the irritation. My skin was super flaky and in desperate need for exfoliation, and I heard this was a nice and gentle version of my favourite acid toners. And it's a LIFESAVER!

I can use this every single morning and have been for about a month now. No irritation or dry, tight sensation, only hydration. I took a couple of days 'off' just in case, but all I noticed was my skin getting a little worse! Clearly it was working. Breakouts have diminished (although that is probably the Accutane doing its thing), my old acne scars are fading and the general smoothness and feel of my skin has vastly improved. I used to hate feeling my face due to the rough, sensitive, painful texture. This toner cured that.

I really like the smell and texture, and the alcohol and fragrance contained hasn't been an issue for me. I'm also less than a quarter of the way through my 125ml bottle and it's been a month, even though I've been applying with cotton pads.

If you are on Accutane or have otherwise very dry and sensitive skin, you really, really need this or a similarly gentle acid toner. Don't use harsher toners or scrubs, I beg of you. This is the ANSWER. Amen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EsposaPerfecta on 1/6/2014 9:17:00 AM more reviews by EsposaPerfecta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use it twice a week I tried two days in a road and burnt my skin, so I guess I should follow the usage recommendation, I don't need a deep exfoliant after using this toner regularly, I use it only at night only after cleansing my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/16/2013 4:58:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this last year at Shoppers. After over 5 months of using this almost daily and seeing no results in terms of exfoliation meaning what I was used to with any other mild AHA's such as an evening of skin tone, smoother skin - I would not repurchase or use ever again. It just felt like applying very perfumed water, and nothing else. I decided to test the pH at work and it was about 4.2 which is a bit high and likely explains why nothing happened.

Another oddity, with alcohol listed as the 2nd ingredient it does not smell of alcohol - only fragrance. Clarins would not reply with exact information regarding %'s of acids but you can tell this contains a low amount of AHA (I'm guessing 2-3% or less glycolic, unsure about the tartaric acid) and BHA (probably less than 1% salicylic acid) when compared to other products for example: St Ives exfoliating pads with AHA, which list water first and then glycolic acid second and only contain 5% glycolic acid while Clarins lists all acids after many other ingredients. I've used cleansers with AHA's or BHA's that I left on my face for a minute or so, with better results.

It also contains some irritating ingredients (alcohol as mentioned, along with different extracts, lots of fragrance ingredients, geraniol, limonene and citronellol). So even if the % of acids is low there are all these irritating ingredients that make it a poor choice for sensitive skin, such as mine. Not everyone will have a problem with these ingredients but really in addition to that, the low acid %'s makes it even more of a "why bother?" type of product for me. This year I started using Alpha Hydrox (available in gels, lotions, creams etc) which is 10% AHA, fragrance-free, at a pH of 4 and within 2 days saw a big difference in my skin - smooth, glowy and less clogged pores. For BHA I use Dermarest BHA gel or my HG - PC's 2% BHA Liquid - wouldn't be without it! All of these products combined cost less than one bottle of the Clarins and have made a HUGE difference in my skin. I like some other Clarins products, but this is oddly too mild in the acid department and too heavy in the irritating ingredients department. I feel it's an over-hyped product when there are so many better-formulated and effective options for less or equal pricing. This one does look pretty on my dresser though.

Bottom line: If you've ever used AHA's - you will likely not see any/extremely minimal "exfoliating" results with this, and those with sensitive skin should look for a more skin-friendly formula. If anything you may see some improvement in softness and hydration due to the inclusion of AHA's (but that's possible with any AHA product).

*an excerpt regarding pH: "AHAs work best at concentrations of 5% to 10% with a pH of 3 to 4, and their effectiveness diminishes as you go above a pH of 4.5. BHA works best at concentrations of between 1% and 2%, and at an optimal pH of 3, diminishing in effectiveness as you go past a pH of 4. Both AHAs and BHA lose their effectiveness as a product’s pH goes up or the concentration of the ingredient goes down. (Sources: Dermatologic Surgery, February 2005, pages 149–154; and Cosmetic Dermatology, October 2001, pages 15–18.)" Dr. Mara - Health Tips

or see http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed for various full articles.

*There is some research showing efficacy of BHA's at higher pH's but considering the amount of BHA in this formula is so low, it won't make a difference either way.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Toners products