Organix Renewing Moroccan Argan Oil shampoo

2.6

168 reviews

32% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

DISODIUM LAURETH-3 SULFOSUCCINATE Cocamidopropyl betaine Water Cocamide dea Dimethicone Cetyl alcohol Glycol distearate Argania Spinosa Oil Theobroma cacao extract PANTHENOL-DL Cocos Nucifera Aloe Barbadensis Parfum Persea gratissima oil Polyquaternium-10 PEG DISTEARATE PEG-23 Stearate Dmdm hydantoin


on 1/27/2015 10:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I don't hate this stuff, but by no means do I love it.

The odd texture of the products gets me every time. It's slime-like and gunky. It does lather up well and has a pleasant texture. The problem for me is that my hair feels dry after I rinse this shampoo from my hair. I love the way argan oil makes my hair feel, but honestly I could not detect it in this shampoo, at all.

My usually greasy hair does feel soft and nourished after using this shampoo (with the matching conditioner) but it usually only lasts for less then a day.. by the second day, all softness is lost.

I wouldn't buy this again.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to love this stuff. Recently, however, I haven't. It dries out my hair and the moisture it does give, only last for a few hours. I just don't like it like I used to.


on 1/14/2015 6:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm sure there's some benefit to this new argan oil craze...I'm sure it's great for your hair. But everything that has argan oil in it smells awful to me...it smells like an old man's stinky cologne. I used this a couple of times and tried to like it but the smell lingers in my hair forever and made me nauseous. I work at a nursing home so I gave it to one of my patients.


on 12/11/2014 9:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Im so surprised this shampoo's rate is low.. This is the only shampoo that made my frizzy hair soft and easy to manage...


on 11/8/2014 5:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got the 50% more bonus bottle (19.5 fl oz) of this + the conditioner from a local supermarket for $5.99 each. My friends looooooove this stuff and I was curious to try it out. It's much thicker and more gelatinous than any shampoo that I've ever used before; maybe this consistency is why it doesn't lather nearly as much as other shampoos. It's lightly perfumed and it smells WONDERFUL.

The product promises a sleek, sexy shine. I have rough, dry hair and it made almost no difference other than cleaning it. I used both the shampoo and conditioner from this line for about 2 weeks straight and I can say that my hair is in the same condition it was before I started using this line.

It's mediocre and not THAT great, but it does its job as a shampoo. It didn't make my hair shinier or sleek like it said it would. I bought it on impulse and because it was 50% more than the usual bottle. I may buy it again, but there's better shampoos for the price, considering that one normal sized bottle is pretty small and quite pricey at almost $6.


on 10/21/2014 8:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This dried my hair out and tangled it up so bad. It smells great and I was excited to use it because actual argan oil was nice on my hair and skin but for some reason this just mummified my hair.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE: WTH? Why would they re-formulate with non-natural ingredients inc. dimethicone? Cost, perhaps? Or maybe complaints from people saying they couldn't get a lather, it was drying etc. Just re-purchased then noticed the ingredients list has changed. I loved using this shampoo in my rotation but my love affair only lasted one bottle. Oh well. I'm returning it to Boots as their website shows the old ingredients list and I obv. won't re-purchase unless I can find some 'old' bottles on Ebay. NOW I understand some of the negative reviews. ORIGINAL REVIEW: Considering Argan oil is fairly high up on the ingredients list (as well as other natural oils) this is a reasonably-priced shampoo. I'm stunned at the negative reviews on this shampoo as I've had such a positive experience with it SO FAR(!) but I wonder if they're mostly from people whose hair is very dry already as more natural shampoos won't usually do your hair any favours when it comes to moisture. Even though this one is supposed to give you moisture it probably wouldn't give enough for those hair types. Anyhow, despite being a regular 'oiler' (mostly for hair growth) recently I've been finding I need a slightly more moisturising shampoo than I'm used to in order to avoid tangles as I grow my hair longer. Nothing too conditioning, just a natural-ish shampoo that won't leave my hair squeaky clean, just clean. I have coloured, fine, bra strap length hair with a slight wave and I normally do well with mild, natural shampoos. I don't want SLS or anything else colour-stripping, or dimethicone (it contains dimethicone copolyol, a water-soluble silicone-derivative) and I don't mind a slight lack of lather which you expect when you leave out SLS. It's early days but this seems to fit the bill. I don't use the matching conditioner as I'm happy with my current ones. I'm not sure I'd want to use this one every time I wash as I think I would soon get buildup at my oily roots, but as it doesn't make my fine hair a stringy mess or overload it, I'm pleased. BTW the texture really reminds me of Faith in Nature Jojoba shampoo (for dry hair). I gave up on that really quickly about a year ago as I don't think I understood you have to emulsify it with water in your hand to get a lather before working it into your hair. I might give it another try if I can't find the old formula for this shampoo.


on 9/13/2014 1:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ive been using this for 2 years since garnier fructis changed their triple nutrition line changed and i LOVE this shampoo and conditioner. The conditioner is amazing, however the shampoo can be a bit stripping but i find that the conditioner fixes the problem. I use the conditioner to co wash in the winter and i love it. I wear weaves and braids and it works amazing with them as well. I do want to try a new shampoo because its expensive but i always seem to go back to them. I thought i had 4c hair because in the beginning of my transition, my hair was unmanageable but after i started using silicon mix and castor oil my hair is more of a 4a/4b. I bleached my hair and this condition seems to be the only thing that works to keep it healthy.

I LOVEEEE ITTTT. i have to say i have noticed a slight change from when i started using it to now but i still love it. Ive tried other organix (coconut, regular argon oil, shea butter) and my hair felt like straw afterwards so idk what it is about this one but i love it


on 8/22/2014 7:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Cool

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Personally, I would only use this product again if I had ran out of a better shampoo. It does a good job of cleaning my hair and lathers well but doesn't make my hair feel soft at all. In fact, I can feel my hair drying out as my hair gets cleaner. The texture of the shampoo is very silky and thick, which feels lovely as I put it on my hair. It has a nice smell but doesn't last long after it has been rinsed out. I have 4c coarse hair. Tbh the conditioner is a bit better than the shampoo. For the price, I think Organix could have done a lot better.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

There doesn't seem to be much oil in this at all! Unlike the elvive one this is awful, it makes my hair frizzy and the only thing good about it is that it smells good


Back to Top