Amouage • Epic edp • Fragrances

rated 4.1(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Diankarl on 6/3/2014 2:19:00 AM more reviews by Diankarl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample in a tiny bottle when I was on holiday in Oman. I kinda ignored it at first but when I sprayed it I fell in love with this perfume straight away. I always love musky perfume such as Obsession. Amouage Epic is an epic. It gives me different sensations in tone after tone and lingers on my skin until the next day.
I was crazy about this but couldn't find it anywhere in Hong Kong (where I live). Two years ago my husband was travelling to Doha and found this at the airport perfumery. Wow expensive. He paid almost US$ 194 for 30ml!!! I wear this only in winter or on special occasions, and 2 sprays are enough. Once I put too much and people around me were almost suffocated LOL. Still have 2/3 of bottle left.
Epic is a mix of cumin, pink pepper, cinnamon, damascene rose, geranium, jasmine, tea, amber, musk, frankincense, oud, sandalwood, guaiac wood, patchouli, vanilla and orris.
It requires boldness to wear. It is a statement perfume for me. The very last tone is very subtle and melancholic unlike the first tone which is like a wake-up booster.
Definitely will buy it again if I can find it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theresasampson on 4/5/2014 6:48:00 PM more reviews by theresasampson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Amouage Epic woman EDP is complex woven tapesty of a perfume & no doubt I will come back to add to this review. It is a warm spicey incense rose oriental with an unusual opening & has many stages of evolution: from salty/spicey, to rose incense/oud with over 12 hours of wear to a fabulous comforting herbal vanilla incense dry down that is absolutely gorgeous.

A well blended cinnamin/pepper opening with a salty facet is so /unique. The rose, incense & oud are forshadowed but the initial whiff is spices, salty almost herbal with a tad bit of sourness almost. This last for 15minutes before moving in direction of the heart notes. If you dislike this perfume at first wait because the middle & drydown are not to be missed to fully evaluate.

Rosey spice cools down a bit but the mix remains warm & the subtle tea note are noticible about 1-2 hrs in. It lists jasmine & geranium but I feel these blend in to the mix. The base to me is comforting and can last up to 12 hours. Vanilla, incense & patchouli are the most prominent to my nose. Truely a beauty.
Sillage moderate to high....2 spays will last day to night
Longevity 12+ hours.

I am hard pressed to find an exact relative to Epic but I also love lyric (a brighter rose vanilla oriental)..epic may be more spicey/pepper/resin, ubar (a more floral rose oriental) Obviously I love roses & Une Rose is on that list but I find her the rendering more a great unique rose/wine itself. There is some kinship in drydown to Ormonde Jayne woman to me...in terms of salty/resin quality. OJ Taif has a gourmand quality with date but also lovely. Truly epic is is her own and her story her own and I am happy with that. Some have mentioned Q.Latiffa Queen but I haven't tested that.

As full disclosure I am on my 2nd 100ml bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 debrsl on 1/30/2013 7:43:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty and. at times, delicious, but not compelling enough for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 estherurwin on 3/28/2012 5:57:00 AM more reviews by estherurwin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Just another reason why you should always sample a scent before you buy. Epic gets raving reviews here, and I just want to add mine as a word of caution. I like Amouage scents. I adore both Dia and Gold and like Jubilation XXV too. I haven't tried the others yet. Today I am sampling Epic and it simply doesn't work on me. I can't tell any of the actual notes, as I am no expert, but it smells loud, really headache inducing and old ladyish in the worst sense of the word. I don't mind strong fragrances. En Avion by Caron is my all time favourite and that is strong stuff, but Epic just doesn't agree with me at all. So, if you are tempted, please sample before you shell out the 160.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 9/8/2011 10:05:00 AM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Just to be clear - this review is based on a sample, not a full bottle. As to whether this is worth the price, I guess it depends how dear that price is to you. I can't afford it. If I could, I'd buy Epic, and never doubt whether it was worth it, I'm sure. And someday, I think I plan to.


Epic is a beautiful scent. The main players here are probably rose and oud. There are a lot of scents which marry these gorgeous notes - and to much success. They go so perfectly together. The outcome in this case is deep, intellectual, somewhat melancholy but with a feeling of purpose. There are hints of incense (frankincense) earthiness (patchouli) and resinous (amber) woody (sandalwood, guiac wood, oud) notes ensuring that the gorgeous depth of Epic resounds throughout the fragrance's composition. All the ingredients here are of the highest quality, and you can smell the difference. Juliette Has A Gun can pull off a nice rose/oud type of fragrance, but measure it up against Amouage's offerings and you will find it lacking. Some ingredients really let you smell the quality, and Epic is packed with them. A blend like Montale's Black Aoud can knock you down, but compared to this scent, seems to lack artistry (no offense, Black Aoud). Ormonde Jayne's Ta'if is a lighter blend, almost perhaps the same heroine, but living a very different life. A slight bitterness can weave its way in and out of Epic's composition, but it never takes over, just brings an independent strength or a slight stand-offish quality to this scent. It helps to keep Epic interesting and original feeling. It can have green (dark green, almost dried) notes to it, but as soon as this aspect (or the tea) begin to cool the fragrance, spices inevitably ground the fragrance in a soothing but strengthening warmth. Sweetness, similarly, never truly wins out but weaves its way through Epic supported by jasmine, amber, and vanilla. Towards the heart, Epic becomes warmer, richer. I don't always like fragrances *more* as they settle and develop on the skin, but Epic is an example of a scent that is gorgeous at the beginning, but becomes heartbreaking as it melds into your skin, and settles in for the duration. Epic's sweetness (more apparent at this stage) that almost lends a heart of vulnerability to this adventurer - at times the rose can even smell lightly candied to me, without ever becoming syrupy or candy-shop. The base is comforting, without ever being tame. I have read elsewhere that Epic is fundamentally an introspective fragrance, and I agree wholeheartedly. The combination of warmth with coolness, intimacy with reserve is irresistible to me.


Did you ever see that movie 'The Fall' (2006)? If you haven't, go watch it. I'd make Epic the scent of that movie -- the aesthetics, the mood, the honoring of the intellectual while overwhelming the senses with beauty, and the melancholy heart underlying an ultimately strengthening and strangely uplifting whole all fit perfectly.

My husband, having only smelled the drydown (he keeps missing the opening) has said that to him it smells sweet, and buttery, and a little bit like Turkish Delight - an observation that made me realize that this scent is not entirely dissimilar from Keiko Mecheri Loukhoum Parfum du Soir in feel (though that fragrance is simpler, sweeter, and doesn't take the same journey to get where it's going). Another dark rose which I love, Frederic Malle's Une Rose is, I would say, completely different. That scent actually is a rose, growing in a dark place, complete with earthy, rooty, animalic, and even boozy notes. Le Labo's Rose 31 is more woody, the spices are more distinct, but it does dry down into something that feels almost creamy, and it shares this in common with Epic, at least. Epic is not a repetition of anything I've smelled before, despite its classic feel. It is the sort of fragrance that actually makes spending well over $200 on a bottle of perfume feel perfectly sane.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elaborate on 8/30/2011 7:50:00 PM more reviews by elaborate

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Tester insert says: "The eternal legend of the ancient Silk Road from China to Arabia. This spicy floral oriental fragrance is infused with notes of cumin, pink bay, cinnamon layered with tea, geranium, jasmine and rounded with orris, frankincense, patchouli and sandalwood."

The first impression is that it reminds me of Ormonde Jayne Tolu. OJ Tolu is wonderful stuff, this one is like Tolu with amplifiers on. Interestingly I find this rosier than Lyric which I tested the. Evening before. Earlier commentator seems to suggest Lyric is rosier, hmm...

Next morning (around 10 hours later) however, the "Tolu" is gone. OJ Tolu does this interesting thing on my skin... it pretty much disappear straightaway and then around 6 to 8 hours later it comes back out of my pores like as if I smell like that originally. Lyric after 10 hours is a mild slightly greenish rose with a tinge of remaining spice. It's on my skin and I have to stick my nose on the spot to smell it.

Tester insert says: "Evoking memories of the ancient Silk Road journey fom China to Arabia this woody oriental fragrance is inspired by the poetic splendour of cumin, saffron, cardamon infused with myrrh, geranium and the richeness of oud, musk, leather, patchouli, cedarwood, frankincense."

The men's one is pretty OK but doesn't capture my attention. Around 10 hours later what remains is a slightly soapy, again the same Chanel No. 5 basenotes that I love in Amouage Gold Men.

Although originally I think when my Tolu runs out I might get a bottle of this but having experienced the drydown I still think Tolu is nicer. :-)

4 stars for women, 2 stars for men. Tester sprays came from a sampling kit, a roak from a lovely muaer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 taniaboox on 5/28/2011 12:19:00 AM more reviews by taniaboox

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Wearing this perfume makes one feel epic, like a heroine in a film. So memorable, deep, luxurious. Expensive but so worth. The best oud composition I've encountered. It's a floral with deep oud notes. I wear it more in the cooler months of the year.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HelenVanPattersonPatton on 1/11/2011 4:34:00 PM more reviews by HelenVanPattersonPatton

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

EDIT: I have to take it back. I think I love Epic just as much as Lyric, and on some days even more. Its drydown has my husband and I swooning. If I were to suggest two samples from this amazing line, it would be Lyric and Epic. It's like watching an Elizabeth Taylor (RIP) film, then immediately watching a Catherine Deneuve film: both are gorgeous, but in completely different ways and moods. But I can't imagine either ever hearing the word "no" because everyone wants to be closer. Original review: I might have more love for Epic were it not for Lyric. Though the two certainly have their similarities, I can't help but compare Epic's somewhat introverted rose--though a beautiful rose it is--to Lyric's lush and vibrant rose. Both are equally passionate--but while Lyric is the hopeless romantic sister sneaking out to see her lover, Epic is the more brooding of the two, sitting in the moonlight and writing furiously in her journal about the angst and uncertainties of life and love. Notes (according to Luckyscent): cumin, pink pepper, cinnamon, damascene rose, geranium, jasmine, tea, amber, musk, frankincense, oud, sandalwood, guaiac wood, patchouli, vanilla and orris. $265/50ml

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Amouage products

More Fragrances products