Unlisted Brand • Personal Microderm • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 3.6(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 anne5025 on 3/11/2014 10:26:00 PM more reviews by anne5025

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately, I can only give this 4 stars. I works wonders on my skin

----HOWEVER---I experienced the same problems others did. It stopped working after 2 months. I called the company and they gladly replaced it. That one stopped working after 2 weeks and I gave up and threw it in the trash, so fed up, I didn't even call for my money back. I was shopping at Costco the other day, and they had them on special. I chatted with the person selling them and told her my problem with the other one. She said the company had corrected this problem (it sounds like she lied to me, as others are still experiencing this problem).

The device will suck up your skin and cause abrasions, if you are not careful. I had this happen, however, the area where the scabs were, cleared up and my skin was ever so much more smooth and clear. I got so many compliments on my skin. I am 58 and it definately smoothes out wrinkles and age spots. I am using my new PMD like crazy, hoping that it will continue to work. I was only willing to try it again, because Costco has such a wonderful return policy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 churakagi23 on 3/10/2014 11:14:00 PM more reviews by churakagi23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the PMD last year only to have it stop working (no suction) I used it maybe a few times. Never did anything. I contacted PMD and returned it for a "brand new " unit. I received it about 2months ago. Again, I used it maybe 3-4 times and what do you know, it stopped working again! It is such a huge waste of money and you girls/guys that bought it know this! I wish i would have just saved my money so I am writing for you guys who are thinking of buying this...don't. Just save your money!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rdbesse on 2/18/2014 3:05:00 AM more reviews by rdbesse

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This PMD device sold at Costco by a very convincing demonstrator caused injury to my face.At $159.00 I thought it would be a good price as one microdermabrasion session at the spa is about $100. And this was to be used every week. What a bargain, I thought.
The demonstrator showed how the device worked on my arm. Well, the face is an entirely different type of skin. This device uses suction and a spinning crystal disc. The discs come in sensitive to coarse. First off the dvd instruction did not work in dvd player. So I looked up online to make sure that I knew how to use it before using as it did look like it could be damaging if you did not know what you were doing. The booklet that came in the package gave very little instruction. I used the "practice disc" which is supposed to be the most lightly crytalized disc for very very sensitive skin. It sucked my face skin into the chamber and caused injury to my face in more than one area. I have scabs on my face now. Will be returning it to Costco tomorrow. Do not buy this! Very dangerous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Dr4Beauty on 2/9/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by Dr4Beauty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I review many beauty products for my clients.
I will review this product point by point.

Dangerous, this device sucks up the skin, then uses an abrasive high speed spinning head to resurface skin. Nothing like real microdermabrasion that has No spinning parts.
Little different than a Dremel shop tool please see www.dremal.com
Points
1- If you have thin crepey skin anywhere (Neck, Eye Lids or Under the Eye) there is a possibility the suction will draw up the skin and the high speed abrasive head will slice it.
2- Do Not get this device anywhere close to your hairline especially if you have fine hair. The high speed spinning head could wrap the hair around it and pull hair out.
3- I'm surprised a lawyer has not started a class action.
4- Please take caution.
I hope this review helps.
Dr4Beauty

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keellly on 12/25/2013 4:44:00 PM more reviews by keellly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is for the PMD personal microdermabrasion tool, I purchased from essential day spa for $200 CAD total.
I have oily skin, hormonal acne, ice pick scarring, hyperpigmentation, large pores, Asian skin, 37 yrs old.
Of all the other devices I've purchased in the past to help my skin for the above problems (clairisonic Mia, tanda zap, dermawand) this is probably the only one I would Definately repurchase if I lost all my tools. I've done professional chemical peels and microdermabrasion in the past so I know my skin can handle it. I started w the blue disc and used it almost every 2 days for the first week (I know you're not supposed to but like I said I've had professional treatments before so my skin is used to it) and now use it twice a week, still on the blue disc though, the plan is to work my way up to green. So far I've noticed the ice pick scarring/pox marks have smoothed over so the texture doesn't look so bumpy, the redness is lightening but by no means disappearing like for some other users, still have some small breakouts but not as bad as before. Bb cream looks better on my skin compared to not having used this tool. Pores look smaller and again texture looks smoother due to pores being smaller.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vanessamucho on 11/3/2013 4:55:00 PM more reviews by Vanessamucho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It isn't professional quality but pretty close, and cheaper.

I like that it exfoliated SO SO SO much deadskin which is scary. I have to say my skin feels and looks a lot smoother after and I think this is a great gentle way to slowly correct acne scars.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JadaIgwe on 11/2/2013 5:13:00 PM more reviews by JadaIgwe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Absolute most garbage product I have ever tried. It broke after a week and didn't do anything. I exchanged for a new one and that broke the first day!!!

I gave up and asked for money back

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 enamaya on 5/3/2013 6:34:00 PM more reviews by enamaya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This has definitely been a lifesaver for me. I used to suffer from cystic acne. It was so horrible, that it left soooooo much ice pick scars and "crater" scars on my face. I also have a lot of hyperpigmentation from my occasional breakouts. I've been using this once every 5-7 days for about 5 weeks now. I gotta say, that my face has never looked better. I didnt really start seeing drastic results until last week after I worked my way up to the green disc. While it may not completely get rid of the ice pick scars/craters on my face, it has definitely improved the texture of my face making these scars less obvious. My hyper pigmentation is slowly starting to disappear to where I don't have to wear concealer over my bb creams anymore. I don't even feel the need to wear bb cream or tinted moisturizer anymore! I love this! I also use this in conjunction with Walgreens Alpha Hydroxy. I believe the two work and in hand in allowing my face to become smoother in texture and glowing! :))

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NhancedBeauty on 3/20/2013 3:42:00 PM more reviews by NhancedBeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT 2: To conclude, this product is RUBBISH. I'm sorry, but thats the truth. Its been four weeks, and absolutely no changes in my skin whatsoever. It doesn't feel smoother, by marks are still as evident as before. Please don't buy this, I would hate for anyone else to loose on so much money as I did. I was so hopeful for this product....but meh, I know a scrub thats better. Literally a 7 scrub that exfoliates 100times better than this. Awful product.

Im definitely using it correctly, been lucky to have never scabbed or scarred myself. All it does, is suck ur face slowly and PRETEND it does something. I think a lot of reviews abt the product are VERY misleading, be careful with what u read! Hope that helps people!



EDIT----added a star because after 2days my face is ever so slightly brighter ...I think it was the PMD that did this. Will definitely write back after the 2nd use.

WARNING: Please please please dont exfoliate all week with ANYTHING else. I made the mistake of exfoliating a day after (YES its dumb, but the PMD had actually showed no signs of anything, the suction seemed poor too). What happened next...was my face turned BRIGHT, yes BRIGHT red. So to neutralise it, I used a alcohol free toner...except it got more red. I panicked cos I looked completely sunburnt. Then I used aloe vera gel in an attempt to make the redness go down. Nothing happened. THEN finally, I threw cold water over my face...and begged GOD that the redness wud go. Thankfully, about 1-2 hours later the redness subsided. For the rest of the week I'm not even using a cleanser...Im just using good moisturisers and suncream.
DONT EXFOLIATE WITH THIS! EVEN IF YOU THINK IT HASN'T WORKED! :)



I just used the product, so this review can change (depending on results).

Ok, just brought this device, used it as instructions (watched DVD and did training) .

No scabs because I followed instructions very carefully. Beyond this, I don't think it has done anything (yes I have to wait for results) but my skin isn't smoother...it doesn't feel any different at all. Ive used normal exfoliators and felt my face instantly smoother...I thought this may at least have that as a minimal effect....

The device is a little tricky to use, so practice and get used to it. Im starting to think, maybe I don't have many dead skin cells on my face? It didn't do much on my arm either.

I'm hoping DESPERATELY that I see some sort of result by after my 2ns use or im going to be so upset :(

PLEASE PMD DO UR MAGIC! PLLLLLLEASE. Lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rumrumrum on 11/8/2012 6:16:00 PM more reviews by Rumrumrum

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I guess I should start by saying that I'm an exfoliation buff (ba-du-tss!) I have been exfoliating since before I knew what exfoliation was. I would scrub my face with those shower scrubbing gloves Arabs and Koreans use and my skin was nicer compared to my clueless teenage companions. Now, I don't know whether my skin has quicker cell-turnover because I trained it as a kid or if my body just operates that way but it makes my skin all the more difficult to impress. I think I may have what resistant type skin but that's really no excuse for this product. I think this would impress persons who don't exfoliate. There's no other explanation for the glowing reviews seeing as this product didn't perform as well as chemical exfoliates I got from the drugstore. Really.

I have relatively clear skin with hormonal eruptions on my chin and blackheads that are small but ugly nonetheless. I have a problem with hyper pigmentation from being an idiot and popping pimples and literally taking a needle to my face to scoop out what looked to me like Vesuvius. The idea of this product sounds amazing but really it's more difficult to actualize. The device doesn't shoot exfoliants at your face like procedures in spas and dermatology clinic. It depends on the little exfoliating heads which makes the device basically useless for some parts of your face. You have to scrunch up your face in order to do your nose (which for me is one of the two problematic areas) and the sharp contours of my face sometimes throw the device off guard and I hear it losing suction. The sides of my nose near my nostrils is virtually untouched. This isn't particularly a design flaw per se (because it's a good idea but just very difficult to replicate outside the spa/derm's that offers real microderms but you have to move the PMD quickly across your face and having to plan every swipe while contorting your face can give you a bit of a burn or worse no real exfoliation.

Also, I have seen identical reviews here on Makeupalley (and probably other places) from different accounts. That coupled with the fact that there are so many Youtube "gurus" pimping it out has led me to believe the makers of PMD aren't as confident about their products ability to speak for itself. My advice? Skip it. Use a Clarisonic or any buffer alternated with even a cheap glycolic product (check my review on the Wagreens brand) has better and more attainable results.

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Misc Beauty Tools products