Denman - Classic Styling Brushes

4.3

15 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/23/2015 9:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really do like this brush. It works very well for running thru my afro before using a blow dryer (with comb attachment) to straighten/dry. It gets rid of all shed hair and tangles so I ca move my blow dryer thru quickly. There is a knock off version by Beautique that is at Sally's. I have that as well.



on 8/23/2015 7:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This isn't a bad brush and while I like it when I blow dry my hair, I think it's a bit overpriced. There are other brushes that are similar to the Denman for less money.
The bristles are hard so be gentle when brushing, especially on the scalp. I didn't notice a big difference with styling apart from my hair being a bit more smoother and less static cling.
(I think this also depends on the styling products used)

Maybe this brush would be ideal if I had really curly hair and wanted to blow dry it straight but it doesn't do all that much with my fairly straight hair.
I might check out the Aveda paddle brush and just use the Denman one for regular brushing.


on 6/7/2015 12:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I don't understand how people can use thus brush to detangle curly hair. I don't think this brush is made for that. I wanted this brush since I saw it on YouTube, but I was confused because I only saw one review using it as a styling brush and many others using it to detangle. I bought it, and this gives me the best curl definition ever seen!! Now I only use it for styling, to detangle I use Ouchless by Goody. 3a - 3b curls


on 4/4/2015 3:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a sturdy brush which isn't very forgiving for hair. It's good for blowdrying, but that's about it. I find it pulls my hair out far more than any other brush. I would not buy this again as I've lost too much hair using it. I would say this might be ideal for men though, I imagine it works on short hair which doesn't tangle.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Lots to say about this brush. My experiences have been mostly with the D3 (seven rows of bristles) both the wooden version and the all black, and the D14-the tiny 5-row travel/purse brush.

In short:
I vastly prefer my wooden paddle brushes for everyday use (Aveda, The Body Shop, Conair)…they sort out tangles unbelievably easily and are more gentle than any Denman I've tried. My hair: 2b-c, fine, dense, heavy highlights, almost elbow length and I don't find that these Denman brushes do anything special for my texture. I would only repurchase the small travel size brush, the D14.

PROS:
-Durable/sturdy. I find the D3 a reasonable size for travel, especially for a full size brush.
-Easily cleaned and sanitized by sliding out the rubber pad from the plastic handle. It's sort of revolting how dirty a brush can get, so being able to thoroughly clean the brush is a huge plus. Obviously, you'd want to be more careful with a wooden handle and water than a plastic one, but my wooden one has held up fine over the past year or so with light monthly washing.
-Customizable: again, by sliding out the rubber pad, and removing however many combs is necessary. There are YouTube videos explaining this further, if interested.
-When used correctly, they can provide an amazing scalp massage. To do this, I sort of begin by applying one side of the bristles to my scalp, then gently rolling the brush (making sure not to tangle hair) so all or most of the bristles are touching my head, then gently stroke the brush down my hair.
-Affordable. Yes, about $5-10 more than a Conair brush from the drugstore, but if you love it, your hair is so completely worth it and it's really not a "splurge" at all…especially considering the Denman will last so much longer.
-A reasonable substitute brush for a blow out, if you don't have a round brush (make sure your brush isn't the soft rubber/men's version that isn't suitable for blowouts). It's not ideal, but it doesn't do a bad job.
-The smallest version, the tiny/purse size D14 (I have the wooden model) does a pretty good job at following suit of it's larger sisters. I'd recommend it if you like the larger Denman brushes and are looking for a decent travel brush.

CONS:
-These are stiff brushes, meaning, there's no give to the bristles or pad when you push it on your scalp, so the brush feels hard. Those with sensitive scalps might need to be careful.
-Because the brush is so stiff, it can easily tear or stretch hair if there are tangles that aren't treated properly.
-Because the brush is rather harsh and stiff, I have to be more gentle on my hair, and thus, it takes longer to brush my hair out, than with my regular paddle brushes.
-Even with careful brushing, I find more broken ends laying on my counter than with my paddle brushes.
-Bristles are quite close together. Customizing the number of combs in the brush helps, if you're finding that the brush gets stuck in your hair.
-They're not weighted well. I feel these are heavy brushes, with most of the weight in the brush head, and a light handle that isn't horrible, but might benefit from redesigning the grip to make it easier to hold.
-They're not very attractive, at least to my eye. I have two wooden ones, which are more handsome than other versions I've seen: there is a embossed "Denman" logo on the handle. The all black D4 that I have, has a gold logo on the handle, and an embossed, gold logo on the back of the brush head.
-They aren't available everywhere, but Sally's does carry a limited selection of them.


Some information about different models:
The number of rows the brush has may make a difference in how the brush performs through your hair. The D4 and D5 both have nine rows, and I feel like they would be difficult to get through textured hair (there were too many rows even for my 2b-c, below bra-strap, fine/dense hair: they would get caught up and tangled in it). The most popular, D3 has seven rows: this is the one you see in most of the YouTube videos and blogs. There are some other versions, but these are the main ones. Keep in mind that there are a few different colors, and there are some with soft rubber, which is NOT safe for blow drying, as it can melt--I think the call these "soft" or "men's".


on 12/10/2014 1:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

After discovering the Denman hairbrush range (through hairdressing) i will never use any other brand of hairbrush! love the whole range of denman brushes, each perfect to create a certain style or look.
there is a huge variety of Denman Brushes and once you know the appropriate times to use each one - fantastic!
A hairbrush for every style you're wanting to create.
Definitely worth paying a little extra for a fantastic long lasting hair brush which you can rely on to do its job.
loveee love loveee x


on 10/10/2014 5:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have never written a review for hair...well...hair ANYTHING here before, but I just had to share my feelings and user experience on this, as it is a HG for me ( and I don't have many of those at all).
I ADORE THIS BRUSH!!! No, seriously, I really do. My dad used to use these on my fine, blonde hair when I was little, and for years I missed the massaging action of the bristles and how easily it glided through my very tangle-prone hair. So I recently purchased my own at Sally's for $10. So worth it. Oh, it is so good. Detangles like a dream, even when my hair is a rats nest after washing with my shampoo bar ( I don't usually use condition since I made the switch to Shampoo Bars), and that is seriously saying something. One word of caution though ( and a main reason I wrote this review): BE CAREFUL USING THIS TO COMB THROUGH OILS. It does a fabulous job of this, of course, but..... THE OILS WILL CAUSE THE RUBBER PAD TO BREAK DOWN FAR MORE QUICKLY THAN NORMAL. My rubber pad became sticky, which is the first sign of breakdown ( ever stretch a rubber band that has become sticky?? Yah, not good) so just be wary. All in all, this doesn't affect my rating, as this is just the most awesome brush of this type ever and since the oil thing should be a given, as the base is real rubber and real rubber breaks down in the presence of oils. ENJOY!!! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2014 3:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used to buy those hard plastic vent brushes that are so ubiquitous but they were so hard to clean with the ball tips holding onto the lint, I'd just toss them out. This brush is so easy to clean, and it doesn't scratch my scalp even though it has no ball tips on the bristles. It'll last forever.


on 11/21/2013 5:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I just bought the "Large Styling Brush" (D4 Professional) today from Sallys for ~12$. I have long fine wavy hair that tangles very easily and was looking for a brush that wouldn't snag. I found this one and honestly the selling point for me was that it is made in the UK as opposed to China. It has a rubber pad and black plastic bristles, without nibs on the ends-I don't see how your hair could get caught in this thing, it's smooth (no ridges or sharp plastic edges anywhere). It makes my hair nice and soft. The package claims it is "anti-static" and I have not noticed any since using, however this was never a major issue for me. Would recommend for the price, I am happy with my purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/1/2013 9:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I have the D4 Denman brush. Bought it 10 years ago, still looks and works perfectly! I even use it when blowdrying my hair! It is a basic brush imho, but one of very good quality.


Popular Hair Styling Tools


The Wet Brush
The Wet Brush
104 Reviews
Eclipse
Eclipse
17 Reviews
Tangle Teezer
Tangle Teezer
217 Reviews


Back to Top