Unlisted Brand • Denman - Classic Styling Brushes • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.5(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 12/21/2014 2:09:00 AM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Lots to say about this brush. My experiences have been mostly with the D3 (seven rows of bristles) both the wooden version and the all black, and the D14-the tiny 5-row travel/purse brush.

In short:
I vastly prefer my wooden paddle brushes for everyday use (Aveda, The Body Shop, Conair)…they sort out tangles unbelievably easily and are more gentle than any Denman I've tried. My hair: 2b-c, fine, dense, heavy highlights, almost elbow length. I would only repurchase the small travel size brush, the D14.

PROS:
-Durable/sturdy. I find the D3 a reasonable size for travel, especially for a full size brush.
-Easily cleaned and sanitized by sliding out the rubber pad from the plastic handle. It's sort of revolting how dirty a brush can get, so being able to thoroughly clean the brush is a huge plus. Obviously, you'd want to be more careful with a wooden handle and water than a plastic one, but my wooden one has held up fine over the past year or so with light monthly washing.
-Customizable: again, by sliding out the rubber pad, and removing however many combs is necessary. There are YouTube videos explaining this further, if interested.
-When used correctly, they can provide an amazing scalp massage. To do this, I sort of begin by applying one side of the bristles to my scalp, then gently rolling the brush (making sure not to tangle hair) so all or most of the bristles are touching my head, then gently stroke the brush down my hair.
-Affordable. Yes, about $5-10 more than a Conair brush from the drugstore, but if you love it, your hair is so completely worth it and it's really not a "splurge" at all…especially considering the Denman will last so much longer.
-A reasonable substitute brush for a blow out, if you don't have a round brush (make sure your brush isn't the soft rubber/men's version that isn't suitable for blowouts). It's not ideal, but it doesn't do a bad job.
-The smallest version, the tiny/purse size D14 (I have the wooden model) does a pretty good job at following suit of it's larger sisters. I'd recommend it if you like the larger Denman brushes and are looking for a decent travel brush.

CONS:
-These are stiff brushes, meaning, there's no give to the bristles or pad when you push it on your scalp, so the brush feels hard. Those with sensitive scalps might need to be careful.
-Because the brush is so stiff, it can easily tear or stretch hair if there are tangles that aren't treated properly.
-Because the brush is rather harsh and stiff, I have to be more gentle on my hair, and thus, it takes longer to brush my hair out, than with my regular paddle brushes.
-Even with careful brushing, I find more broken ends laying on my counter than with my paddle brushes.
-Bristles are quite close together. Customizing the number of combs in the brush helps, if you're finding that the brush gets stuck in your hair.
-They're not weighted well. I feel these are heavy brushes, with most of the weight in the brush head, and a light handle that isn't horrible, but might benefit from redesigning the grip to make it easier to hold.
-They're not very attractive, at least to my eye. I have two wooden ones, which are more handsome than other versions I've seen: there is a embossed "Denman" logo on the handle. The all black D4 that I have, has a gold logo on the handle, and an embossed, gold logo on the back of the brush head.
-They aren't available everywhere, but Sally's does carry a limited selection of them.


Some information about different models:
The number of rows the brush has may make a difference in how the brush performs through your hair. The D4 and D5 both have nine rows, and I feel like they would be difficult to get through textured hair (there were too many rows even for my 2b-c, below bra-strap, fine/dense hair: they would get caught up and tangled in it). The most popular, D3 has seven rows: this is the one you see in most of the YouTube videos and blogs. There are some other versions, but these are the main ones. Keep in mind that there are a few different colors, and there are some with soft rubber, which is NOT safe for blow drying, as it can melt--I think the call these "soft" or "men's".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danibx on 12/10/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by danibx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

After discovering the Denman hairbrush range (through hairdressing) i will never use any other brand of hairbrush! love the whole range of denman brushes, each perfect to create a certain style or look.
there is a huge variety of Denman Brushes and once you know the appropriate times to use each one - fantastic!
A hairbrush for every style you're wanting to create.
Definitely worth paying a little extra for a fantastic long lasting hair brush which you can rely on to do its job.
loveee love loveee x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1lilelf on 10/10/2014 5:22:00 PM more reviews by 1lilelf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have never written a review for hair...well...hair ANYTHING here before, but I just had to share my feelings and user experience on this, as it is a HG for me ( and I don't have many of those at all).
I ADORE THIS BRUSH!!! No, seriously, I really do. My dad used to use these on my fine, blonde hair when I was little, and for years I missed the massaging action of the bristles and how easily it glided through my very tangle-prone hair. So I recently purchased my own at Sally's for $10. So worth it. Oh, it is so good. Detangles like a dream, even when my hair is a rats nest after washing with my shampoo bar ( I don't usually use condition since I made the switch to Shampoo Bars), and that is seriously saying something. One word of caution though ( and a main reason I wrote this review): BE CAREFUL USING THIS TO COMB THROUGH OILS. It does a fabulous job of this, of course, but..... THE OILS WILL CAUSE THE RUBBER PAD TO BREAK DOWN FAR MORE QUICKLY THAN NORMAL. My rubber pad became sticky, which is the first sign of breakdown ( ever stretch a rubber band that has become sticky?? Yah, not good) so just be wary. All in all, this doesn't affect my rating, as this is just the most awesome brush of this type ever and since the oil thing should be a given, as the base is real rubber and real rubber breaks down in the presence of oils. ENJOY!!! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 1/22/2014 3:13:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to buy those hard plastic vent brushes that are so ubiquitous but they were so hard to clean with the ball tips holding onto the lint, I'd just toss them out. This brush is so easy to clean, and it doesn't scratch my scalp even though it has no ball tips on the bristles. It'll last forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emily897 on 11/21/2013 5:20:00 PM more reviews by emily897

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I just bought the "Large Styling Brush" (D4 Professional) today from Sallys for ~12$. I have long fine wavy hair that tangles very easily and was looking for a brush that wouldn't snag. I found this one and honestly the selling point for me was that it is made in the UK as opposed to China. It has a rubber pad and black plastic bristles, without nibs on the ends-I don't see how your hair could get caught in this thing, it's smooth (no ridges or sharp plastic edges anywhere). It makes my hair nice and soft. The package claims it is "anti-static" and I have not noticed any since using, however this was never a major issue for me. Would recommend for the price, I am happy with my purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sjess on 8/1/2013 9:52:00 AM more reviews by Sjess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have the D4 Denman brush. Bought it 10 years ago, still looks and works perfectly! I even use it when blowdrying my hair! It is a basic brush imho, but one of very good quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nuni2011 on 2/28/2013 2:22:00 PM more reviews by Nuni2011

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I like this brush.

Yes, it does pull hair--but the curl payoff is great and there are many ways to modify it.

The pros outweigh the cons--get it if you want a long lasting brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsKelCeeEee on 12/12/2012 9:07:00 PM more reviews by itsKelCeeEee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Best. Brush. Ever. I have kinky-curly hair, so naturally I avoid brushes like the plague and stick with wide toothed combs. Unfortunately, the longer my hair got the more difficult it became to get all the shed hairs out of my hair after detangling, even with insane amounts of conditioner and water. By the time my hair hit my bra strap I knew I'd need something else to detangle with.


Enter the denman brush. I'm not sure which version I got, but it's the one with nine rows (or maybe it has seven...?!). I use it in the shower after detangling with my comb to get the rest of my shed hairs out and it leaves my hair knot, tangle, and shed-hair free! On top of that it clumps my curls together so beautifully, it's like a dream (but it also causes my hair to shrink from below my armpits to my chin, so...) and helps my hair absorb my conditioners better, AND makes my conditioner lather up as well, so it's like I'm cowashing/deep conditioning my hair after shampooing. I'm so glad I bought it, and I plan on using denman brushes for as long as my hair will permit me to. :)


Also, I got mine from Sally's for about $9.00, maybe a little less (my Beauty Supply card gave me a discount). So it's a worthwhile investment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LookingGood85 on 9/24/2012 12:55:00 AM more reviews by LookingGood85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a mini version of this and the large one. It's the ONLY brush I can use on my hair with confidence. My hair is low maintenance. Shoulder length, I don't straighten it unless for a day/ night out, so it just goes up into a ponytail with a quiff! This brush doesn't snag, pull or rip my hair, it just brushes through with ease and is soft on the scalp. If I ever lose it ill buy another, as I just love these brushes. There is Jo need for cheapy hair brushes, they just snag and rip your hair. Invest £8 in one of these and your hair will love you for it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 namil on 6/1/2012 9:53:00 PM more reviews by namil

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Purchased the Denman paddle brush (online through killerstrands) for straightening hair and love it. I purchased a lot of products online and for the first time, today I had to file a fraud report with UPS regarding extendedlengths.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair Styling Tools products