Physicians Formula • Happy Booster™ Glow & Mood Boosting Blush in Natural • Blush

rated 4.2(123 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 flowerpan10 on 3/26/2014 3:29:00 AM more reviews by flowerpan10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A little pricey but the packaging is so freaking adorable that it's worth it to me. I got this in the color Pink and I think it's a wonderful frosty color for when I want to look glowy but not as if I just spent all day out in the cold. Sure it's more on the sheer side but that's where I find it's "frost" comes from. The "Mood Boosting" abilities it claims to have is just a cute gimmick. Honestly anyone who bought this product for that purpose is just ridiculous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 3/9/2014 12:57:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this originally as a blush but it's much too shimmery as a blush, so I use it as a great highlighter. It has a nice pink tone to it and works well with my cool-toned skin. I have also used this as an eye shadow and it looks very natural.

When I use it as it is intended it comes off as very shimmery and just too light. The packaging is a bit bulky as with all PF packaging but is very cute with hearts. The colors are a mosaic pattern in hearts all around the pan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katautumn on 3/5/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by katautumn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a love/hate relationship with this "blush". I put that in quotation marks, because I find this isn't as much of a blush as it is a contouring powder. At least on my skin. I've never been able to build this up enough on my cheek to actually have it qualify as a blush in my humble opinion, and I have fair skin!

Physician's Formula has always come across to me as one of the most over hyped brands in the drugstore. It's all packaging. PF does a bang-up job on their packaging. It sucks you right in and won't let you go until you have spent $12 on a drugstore caliber blush.

Most of the PF products claim to have some sort of smart reflective technology where there are billions of light refracting pigments in the product that allegedly compliments any skin tone (okay, I'm being moderately sarcastic about the billions of light refracting pigments part, but the rest is totally accurate). I have yet to see this actually demonstrated in a PF product, and this Happy Booster blush is no exception. Let me break down the issues I have with this product.

Overall Rating gets three lippies. Why? Because even if on me it's useless as a blush it makes for a very nice contouring shade to create a dewy look. Other MUA members have described it as having an offensive odor. I bought mine two months ago, so I don't know if that is an older formula and they've changed it recently, but mine has no odor to it at all, so that's a plus.

Price gets three lippies, because it's really way overpriced for what you're getting. It retails for $11.99+. I think I paid $12.99 for it at Rite-Aid.

Packaging gets two lippies, because mine broke. It seems like a nice, hefty compact, but it's really not. I am very careful with my cosmetics. They are stored away in a vanity drawer. This product doesn't get used every time I wear makeup and I never take it with me in my purse, and yet the catch on the lid broke within the first month after buying it, which stinks. So now I have to be careful not to let it fall upside down in my vanity drawer, otherwise it makes a mess, because the lid just flies open. The pan is loose and freely spins every time I try and swirl my brush in the product. So that's a huge hassle. Then there is the giant mirrored compartment in the bottom with the useless brush. Physician's Formula is really good about including cute, albeit entirely impractical, pointless brushes in their products. But, you know, hearts and pink shiny compact! Those alone give this the two lippies rating, otherwise packaging would be a festival of fail with this product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msharajuku on 2/6/2014 3:24:00 PM more reviews by msharajuku

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This really does give you a healthy glow, and its so cheap that its worth the price! Only problem is the terrible bulky packaging but besides this, it has an absolutely gorgeous sheer pink natural colour every girl wants and needs in their make up collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HautboisDream on 2/5/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by HautboisDream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first Physicians Formula purchase, and I really was wanting a better blush than what I got. While the packaging was adorable and the product itself looked beautiful, it was far too pigmented and dark colored for my skin. I used it a few times, but each time after I applied it I had to wipe it off because it looked too dark on my paler skin. I feel that with someone a little tanner or with a darker complexion it would be a beautiful blush, but it looked almost clownish with just the lightest bit on my cheeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 eclecticgrl on 12/29/2013 11:46:00 AM more reviews by eclecticgrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

It's not highly pigmented and it is very chunky for the amount of product that comes with it. I like the fact that it has a mirror but the brush is absolutely useless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nsugga on 12/17/2013 4:25:00 AM more reviews by nsugga

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Hmmm i like this product for about two weeks then I'll throw it back in the bin. Really pinky. Packaging is adorable. I don't know what ends up turning me off. I guess I'll give another try. I honestly forgot I had this product till I was scrolling the blush section.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 12/14/2013 10:27:00 PM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This has become my go-to all-year blush and the one I take when travelling because it goes with everything. I usually like a "cooler" tone, but this is very natural, as the name implies, and it works well when I don't have time to think about my look.

With this shade, I actually like that they haven't blended the shades but have all the little hearts different tones. If I want a rosier cheek, I can pick up a bit of the darker pink heart and focus it on the apples. If I want an almost bronzed/contoured look, I can load up my brush and focus on my cheekbones. A natural flush is easy to achieve with a quick whisk all over cheeks. So, for this shade, I find the gimmicky look of the product actually quite functional and versatile!

The brush that comes with it is softer than some of PF's other products; it's ALMOST usable. Not for everyday, but I have been known to throw this blush in my bag & add a bit more for an evening look, using the provided dreadful brush. With all of my other PF products, I wouldn't even consider trying to do this, because the brushes are so bad. So, normally I'd take a lippie off for bad packaging, but I guess PF has lowered their own bar a bit on this one. ;)

I use this so much that I expect I will actually finish it and repurchase. It's too handy not to have around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thisisnotindy on 11/24/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by thisisnotindy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This blush is so cute! The hears are adorable. I would buy this again, but I think it's a little too expensive for the drugstore. You do get a ton of product, almost double a Nars blush, so that's something to take into consideration. On the other hand, who has honestly ever finished a blush?

The packaging is hot pink in a bulky compact that flips up to reveal a mirror and a useless brush. Use your own brush.

The pigmentation isn't great, and it starts looking kind of unnatural and fake if you build it up too much. A light hand gives me a pretty flush, though. Lasts throughout the school day, so from 8-6 for me. It does fade, but that's to be expected.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ikhd on 11/9/2013 11:26:00 AM more reviews by ikhd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is a versatile little product! I like the packaging and it makes me smile (silly, I know). I use this for lots of different applications. There is a slight shimmer, but not too much, even for a conservative makeup gal like me. I don't use the brush that came with this at all...

I use the lightest shade with a small brush to highlight under my brows. I have even used the golden tone in this for eye shadow, this compact is very nice for traveling--a lot of uses for one product. This is what I have been using lately for blush, instead of my Clinique ones, for some reason, I always grab this. I just swirl my blush brush over the pink/golden tones--avoiding the lighter, more sparkly colors.

Will probably repurchase, when this is used up, since it is multi-purpose for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Blush products