Max Factor • Xperience Volumising Mascara • Mascara

rated 4.1(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Polarfrau on 8/19/2013 2:35:00 PM more reviews by Polarfrau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this mascara =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Keloraz on 4/14/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Keloraz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Worst mascara i've ever tried! Gives no volume, no length, and smudges all over the place. Don't buy, it is horrible. The Masterpiece Max is a lot better, if you are to buy a mascara from Max Faxtor. Definitely not buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 frickinradical on 2/19/2013 6:41:00 AM more reviews by frickinradical

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

it's a decent mascara, i bought it after reading the reviews on here and thought i'd give it a try. it's alright, gives a bit of volume, but no length (i have long lashes any way so i don't need a lengthening effect). the first time i used it i was quite impressed that it didn't smudge, but since then i've found it smudges slightly and occasionally. i think for the price it's quite a 'regular' mascara, theres nothing that makes it jump out above the rest, it would have had a huge 5 lippies if it hadn't smudged :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aguadora on 1/28/2013 4:35:00 AM more reviews by aguadora

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Straightens my eyelashes, even if I've curled them. Does volumize, but formula is rather wet and can get messy to apply. Also tends to clump after the second coat, so I do brush out with a clean spoolie.

On its own I don't like how it looks, like my lashes are black bristles sticking straight out from my eyes, but I use this together with the Maybelline One By One, which I like for the separating, lash-defining effect, but lacks the volume. So I use this mascara first, then the One by One (which somehow helps hold the curl).

Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Recussion on 8/14/2012 2:20:00 PM more reviews by Recussion

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

AMAZING MASCARA. I have tried mascara's from Dior to Chanel to Maybelline to Helena Rubenstein and this one is the absolute best. It seperates the lashes very well, gives 2x length and a lot of volume. Normally when I use a mascara the first time, it clumps like hell because there's so much product in the mascara. The brush of this mascara however, perfectly evens out those clumps and makes sure there's an equal amount everywhere. I'm very very impressed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Enkida on 8/12/2012 8:23:00 AM more reviews by Enkida

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Preface: I have naturally black, relatively thick and long eyelashes, and by most accounts I don't actually "need" to wear mascara for an everyday look at all. I like wearing mascara because my eyelashes tend not to hold a curl well, and I like masking the inevitable "dust fallout" from my brighter shimmer eyeshadows and returning my lashes back to their natural black state. What I look for in a mascara is volume enhancing properties that still manage to retain a very "natural" look after application. Length, drama, and the false lash effects are exactly what I don't want to see. With my preferences established onto the mascara review:

This Max Factor mascara is to date the best one I've found for my purposes: to achieve an enhanced natural eye for subtle everyday wear. I will candidly admit that it's probably due 99% to the shape of the brush applicator more than anything else, but the formula is no slouch either. Pros - the formula is not heavy or sticky at all, it's a very rich black which suits my natural color perfectly, and it's not waterproof, so it doesn't stress or weigh down my lashes too much, and comes off painlessly at the end of the day with a gentle oil based eye makeup remover (Pond's Cold Cream), without taking my lashes with it. I find one careful coat to be enough to enhance my natural eyelashes, but with the combination of nice brush + smooth formula, I have managed to get two coats without any serious clumping or spider legged effects. I will stress that the brush has to be clean for this flawless natural effect; the lash bristles are so short, that any excess product, dried flakes or thickened mascara clumps will affect the application. Then again, if the product clumps up like that on the wand, it's time to get a new mascara anyway. I haven't yet had any problems with the formula drying out too quickly on me, but I have sensitive eyes and follow very strict rules with my mascaras: always seal them tightly after use, make sure the brush is clean before sticking it back in the bottle; work quickly so the open bottle doesn't have much air exposure; never pump the wand, but rather swirl; and most importantly, a shelf life of 3 months maximum once opened, full stop, no exceptions. In that sense I've never had problems with any mascara of any brand drying out on me, so Max Factor is not "special" in that regard. Last but not least, the great shape of the wand with its fine bristles and small tip mean you can even get into corners and your lower lashes, if you want to be thorough, without too much stress and acrobatics.

This leads to the biggest and only critique I have of this mascara: it is really, really damn expensive for a drugstore brand. Normal priced, I would pay about 14 for the bottle; I wait for 20% off sales from my favorite drugstore to get the price down to "just a little more expensive than every other mascara in the store". Considering that I replace mascaras every 3 months, that's 45-50 / year for drugstore mascara alone. One thing that might mitigate the prohibitive cost is to buy this mascara once, use it up, and then thoroughly wash, disinfect and keep the wand for later use with a different, cheaper mascara brand; as stated above the fantastic results on my eyelashes are due mostly to the shape of the wand, after all. I haven't personally tried this yet, as I like the formula as well, but it's something to consider if you're on a budget, and healthier and safer than trying to keep any mascara alive for more than 3 months at a time.

Would definitely buy again, so long as I don't run out of money in the beauty budget.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chelseabun74 on 5/10/2012 11:02:00 PM more reviews by Chelseabun74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I too got this free in a Price Line deal. I was really impressed. I was just expecting it to be very oridinary but after 3 weeks of use, I'm hooked. I love that it lifts my lashes and seems to make them stay where I arrange them, if that makes sense. The formula is excellent: not too runny, not clumpy at all and separates each lash. It has very good staying power and doesn't smudge. If I blind tested this mascara I would have thought it was a high end brand. I will definitely be repurchasing my new holy grail mascara. If you like defined eyelashes that are not overdone, yet are lifted and very black, this is the mascara for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beingfollowed on 4/25/2012 10:16:00 AM more reviews by beingfollowed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Hands up if you got this in the Priceline Beauty Bag? I've been a long time devotee of Max Factor's False Lash Effect and have been disappointed every time I've tried any new mascaras since. This was free so I had nothing to lose in trying it out. I was pleasantly surprised and have used it every day since getting it. It's curiously called 'Volumising Mascara' but I find it to be more lengthening than volumising. In fact, if I had to find a negative, it would be that it separates and defines my lashes, whereas I generally prefer a more volumised 'lots of lashes' look. I have pretty long lashes anyway and wear glasses, so length is not really a priority for me. Regardless, I have enjoyed this mascara for its staying power (which seems to be a common characteristic of Max Factor mascaras) and its ability to hold a curl all day. I would pay money for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizzea on 4/23/2012 11:33:00 PM more reviews by lizzea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Got this as a freebie/in a gift bag... wasn't expecting much at all but was pleasantly surprised by it's performance. I put 3 coats on my stumpy, thin asian lashes and it volumised and lengthened them quite nicely, but I didn't expect it to stay that way. I was pleasantly surprised as I forgot I had even applied it and went to the gym. After my workout (and having rubbed my face several times on my towel) I went to the change rooms expecting to look like a panda and surprisingly there was just a bit of minor flaking. Pretty impressed it survived several hours let alone a workout (btw I'm not one to wear makeup to the gym, I just forgot I had put this on!). It's still on now several hours later and the curl has held pretty nicely too. Only thing I don't like is the wand... i poked myself in the eye a few times haha! Good mascara though, especially if you hate ones that smudge all the time (this one doesn't). I only wouldn't buy it again because I like to experiment with different mascaras.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephaniiie on 4/17/2012 3:39:00 AM more reviews by stephaniiie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product! I'm very picky when it comes to mascara but this one I really love. I got it for free in a Priceline pack (I spent over $60 on cosmetics and got a heap of free prodcuts) but I would defiantly spend money on it. Didn't clump, gave me volume and really separated my lashes. My new every-day mascara. One thing i noticed is it does flake a little by the end of the day, but nothing too bad. 5/5

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Max Factor products

More Mascara products