L'Oreal • Infallible Le Rouge • Lipstick

rated 4.0(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/2/2014 12:32:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in Ravishing Red because Gwen Stafani wears it and she has the same coloring as me in L'Oreal's True Match, C3. I figured since i liked how it looked on her it would look good on me. It does. I love the color and the formula does stay put for hours. I am just not giving it 5 lippies because it does dry out my lips. I know that's to be expected with these types of products but it's probably not something I would use much. I prefer the regular lipsticks.

Appears to be a medium red that leans cool/neutral.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 12/27/2013 4:39:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I stopped wearing lipstick probably about 10 years ago. I switched to wearing glosses, balms, and the like because it was my opinion that lipstick made me look older (in a bad way). Recently, I decided to try lipstick again, being that punchy lipcolor is so in right now. I googled around the net & decided to go bold after reading an article featuring the best red lipsticks on the market today. I purchased this lipstick in shade# 312 Ravishing Red. It's definitely a change for me! It's a very bold red color, a true red, as if you used a Crayola crayon on your mouth. It has better staying power than any of the others that I have tried recently (which includes a couple of Revlon lipsticks) and the pigmentation seems more intense. It won't get me through a whole day of eating & drinking, but through more hours than any other lipcolor I've tried so far. (In fairness, I drink a ton of water at my desk all day.) My only gripe really, is that the color is kind of an orange-red versus a blue-red. I have a cool skintone, so some of the blue-based reds I've tried look better on my skin. Inside the silver tube, the red tones out and LOOKS cool, but once on, it's actually not. (Partially my fault, partially theirs). I agree with other reviewers that it's definitely drying and you most definitely want to use it on smooth, exfoliated lips. I do plan to continue wearing this product/shade; it's fun and makes my smile really stand out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KatyPuebla on 12/18/2013 2:28:00 AM more reviews by KatyPuebla

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this lipstick. I have been toying around with other brands and lines for a while like Revlon and Covergirl, only drugstore brands, ad L'Oreal is now my ultimate favorite. I loved the Colour Riche line, and my first lipstick was from that line, so I saw their new Le Infallible Rouge line and tried it out. I now have 5 if these and am in love with each one! I have Rambling Rose, a dark rose shade with some gold shimmer in it, Eternal Rose: a mid tone rose with a creamy finish and slight shine, Tender Berry: a light rose with silver shimmer (very gentle and sweet), Bold Bordeaux: a deep, dark red with enough class to wear everyday, but a little bit of sass, and Unending Kiss: a pink nude that is very gentle. All of these, and most of the line have cool undertones, which is great for my fair skin and dark hair. They all apply smoothly and are very creamy. If you apply carefully and do NOT rub lips together frantically they dry and "set". There is some color transfer onto drinks, but the effect on lips is almost nonexistent if you are careful. No scent, it dries to a slightly tacky finish and is not drying to lips at all. Great color payoff, what you see in the tube is why shows on your lips. Beautiful pigmentation and a lasting power that is great for several hours. (Not ten like the ad, but if applied correctly 5-6). Packaging is cute and in my opinion quite classy. If you are a "slap on without looking" person, this will present a challenge because you have to at least spend a minute carefully applying. Totally worth the 60 seconds though! ;) Overall my favorite lipstick ever and in constant rotation. Perfect for my busy student life and demure enough to turn heads in jut the right way. Not too bold or too faint. Beautiful lipsticks that evoke an age of grace and class.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nirvana9 on 11/25/2013 12:51:00 PM more reviews by nirvana9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have this is refined ruby and i quite like it. it shows up on me as a neutral leaning blue red on me which i really enjoy as most reds look orange on me. i don't find it too loud and in your face, but classy and wearable even though it's a bold colour. it has pretty good staying power and doesn't transfer a whole lot. the finish is semi matte but not drying on me. i'm curious about other shades in this line ..pretty underrated group of drugstore lipsticks in my opinion

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emily822 on 11/19/2013 2:20:00 AM more reviews by emily822

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

just got this product in forever frappe. LOVE IT .long lasting beautiful brownish pink color. cannot wait to get more from this line. goes on smooth, pigmented, &nice after a while it does get tacky . nothing too over whelming . runs about 10$ so a bit pricy . no sent long lasting drink and food proof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foryoursmile on 9/11/2013 4:36:00 PM more reviews by foryoursmile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I originally got this lipstick in the shade perpetual peach, which as the name implies is a gorgeous peach shade. This was one of my fave neutral looking lip colors to rock over the summer if my eyes were more done cause it was subtle on me. I think because it was meant to be long lasting (10 hours allegedly), the formula for this is a little bit dry. Just make sure your lips are moisturized before using this or it will highlight every dry crack on you. Now, while this doesn't quite last me the 10 hours it claims, more like a few hours or so, but keeping in mind I am almost always sipping on water or coffee at work I give it some leeway, it does last longer than most lipsticks I have tried. I liked it enough that I ended up picking up another shade, perennial pink, one of the last times I ran to the drugstore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* payjark on 7/25/2013 2:58:00 PM more reviews by payjark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I own Perpetual Peach, Refined Ruby, and my fav of the 3, Eternal Rose. I like that these are creamy but its easy to apply too much and it can end up patchy. Refined Ruby looks red in the tube but comes out as more of a fuschia. Perpetual Peach is a shimmery peachy color and Eternal Rose is a shimmery mauvy dusty rose color. I wish these were more opaque and also less shimmery. If I find a color that fits my skin more, I will probably give more lippies to these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Missconsistency on 7/11/2013 5:29:00 AM more reviews by Missconsistency

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am hooked on 479 Coral Seduction. I think the packaging is quite unique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LALAFLYx3 on 7/1/2013 5:30:00 PM more reviews by LALAFLYx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this lipstick sitting in the back of my drawer for the last year. I have the color 312 Ravishing Red. The color in the tube, is absolutely stunning. It's a cool red that has a hint of shimmer in it. In the tube, it looks like it would look gorgeous on any skin color.

However, there are several things I really dislike. To start off, the plastic packaging is horrible. The winding of the lipstick is very slow and not very smooth. This causes a possibility of potentially squishing the lipstick against the cap when you close it.

Another thing I dislike is the actual pigmentation of the lipstick. In order to get an opaque layer, I would have to layer on several layers. This creates a higher chance of transferring the lipstick and feathering. If I layer a lip pencil under, it doesn't stay on as long as it would without the lip pencil. Blotting it causes the color to transfer onto the tissue, which pulls off color as well, making me have to layer the lipstick again. I feel like many of my NYX lipsticks are more pigmented and half the price or even less.

The staying power of the actual lipstick isn't so great as well. Because the actual "feathering" isn't noticeable due to lack of pigmentation, it seems that it is staying on for longer when it isn't.

Overall, I would not repurchase this product in other colors. I can't tell if I just got a bad tube because all the other reviews claim such great things about the lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iLoveYoutwo on 6/26/2013 1:04:00 AM more reviews by iLoveYoutwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As a model I always have to look good and long wearing lipsticks are a must for me. I pretty much gave up on ALL lipsticks because they only last 30 minutes on me and the color is gone. I then looked in to 12 hour infallible lipstick and I could say these are my HG lipsticks now.

I purchased "Refined Ruby" which is a STUNNING blue toned red, it reminds me of the classy memoirs of a geisha red lip which suits my asian NC20 skin. I LOVE wearing this shade when I am going for a lighter eye look (like MAC naked lunch and copperplate in the crease), it makes the look amazing. It lasts 10 hours on me. and this is VERY impressive considering I eat 6-7 times a day. The color DOES NOT come off unless you use a makeup remover. It doesn't look garish because it does have enough blue so it doesnt look like flat red. It makes the teeth whiter too. It's also a very nice red carpet look.

I love refined ruby. I will repurchase forever as long as they keep making it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Lipstick products