Sally Hansen • salon effects • Polishes

rated 3.5(250 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 slavetoshopping on 10/3/2014 11:10:00 PM more reviews by slavetoshopping

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love these, super easy to apply, long lasting. I have one complaint: once the pack is opened, the strips dry out and can't be used later on. I like using the patterns on only a few nails and doing a solid coordinating colour on the other nails. I'm bummed out that the leftover strips can't be saved.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lilmissmay on 9/17/2014 4:21:00 PM more reviews by lilmissmay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I got these Sally Hansen nail strips on sale for $2.50. They're usually in the $10 range so i've never used them before because I'm addicted to painting my nails. So being so cheap, i thought "why not"
I'm not sure what they were called but they were a shiny black with a few sparkles. I love black nail polish so I was really excited to use them.
I took off my polish, filed my nails, and then buffed them out a bit. I followed the instructions %100, and ended up only being able to use 5 of the strips. The rest of them were all stuck to the plastic piece that you're supposed to peel off, and it was impossible to peel it off of the plastic. I don't know if maybe my hands were too warm or what, but I only managed to do one hand and then I ran out of usable strips. I went back to the drugstore to get another box and they had none left of the kind I used. I am very disappointed. I also found it very hard to properly place them on my nails, I have very long nails so getting the strips to be even on both sides of my nails was extremely difficult. I can't see myself buying these again, even on sale. I'll stick to painting my nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OvaryUp on 9/10/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by OvaryUp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Here's how I use these awesome polish strips: I put down a coat of Orly Bonder before applying and a top coat after. I love to use these as accent nails or tip with polish (try Kitty Kitty with a vampy red, or I Love Lacey with a black tip!). Also, I can use one set for a manicure and pedicure because I have small nails and cut them in half (or thirds for toes).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 debdebarge on 8/27/2014 12:42:00 AM more reviews by debdebarge

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have been using the French Mani w/ light pink tint. They last 2 wks on me. They are shiny, easy to apply, & I've had compliments. I keep nails pretty sporty/short. And I apply a Shiny Top coat. Love

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DinaD5 on 7/9/2014 1:06:00 AM more reviews by DinaD5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought a few packs of these for friends & my sister as gift fillers this year because they looked so cute. On my way back from a road trip, I decided to treat myself to some for a change and bought the It Girl pink. FYI, I have good nails & followed all instructions to a T. They barely held on (the stick ons) & were very awkward to shape. The ones I managed to get on looked crinkled and like stickers. I'll try a patterned one in the future but defo not the matte colours! I ruined my manicure for nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 astrick on 6/16/2014 8:08:00 PM more reviews by astrick

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: So I've tried several of these and sadly, have had mixed results. I've had excellent results with the Coral Group and Orange You Glad patterns. The Kitty Kitty was easy to put on and the prettiest at first, but didn't last well at all. It had cracks in the polish and chipped after 3-4 days of not particularly hard use. The Merry Go Round didn't go on well at all - it tore easily and had printer lines through it.

So it's a mixed bag. The ones that have worked well work VERY well and I would give 5 lippies. The other ones… only 3.

*********************************

I have been dubious about this product since it came out. I recently saw some limited edition sets for a little over $5 and decided to give them a try. Now I'm kicking myself for not trying these sooner. I first tried the Coral Group pattern. They were very easy to apply - about 30 minutes and no dry time. Given that I have short nails, I think I can get 2 manicures out of a pack.

I will say that you have to properly prep your nail by making sure all of the oil is removed from the nail. Whatever method you use (rubbing alcohol, dawn dish soap, OPI Chip Skip…) I also buffed my nails to get rid of any ridges.

I am very hard on my nails. When I take my time and do a proper manicure, they last 2 days, at best. I have now had these on for six days with no chipping, lifting or peeling. I have little kids and am constantly washing my hands. In the past six days, I have been camping, horseback riding and opening things with my nails.

I used to have acrylic nails and shellac done, but didn't like the damage or expense with those options. Not sure how to rate the price… it's more expensive than an application of nail polish, but much cheaper than a manicure, and lasts longer. Given the length of time they last, I think the price is quite reasonable.

I do wish they had some solid options… a red, navy, purple, grey, gold.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smcgraw on 5/11/2014 2:58:00 AM more reviews by smcgraw

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love these for when I am pressed for time - I always keep a box around. It comes with everything you need to apply, and I can do it in about 10 minutes. I've even done it immediately before taking a shower. My favorite are the variety of french manicures. I would like to see more subdued colors and patterns. They go on flawless for me and last at least a week - the trick is to get the perfect size for each nail (and slightly thinner than your nail bed is much better than slightly wider), hold them in the middle and smooth them on quickly, using the orange stick to smooth any bubbles, and to press them down hard over your nail tip and then file only in a downward motion to remove the excess. Brilliant invention.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 4/17/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

These are absolute crap! I tried these in Glitz Blitz and was so excited to have gold glitter nails. These strips smell like nail polish but wouldn't stay on my nail once I started filing. They're just too thick and the strip wouldn't stay on the corners of my nails. I tried again using base coat underneath because I read that this helped the strip stay on, but still, the corners would pop up and I knew they wouldn't stay on. What a waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 essence38 on 1/5/2014 7:04:00 PM more reviews by essence38

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I nearly just had a fit trying to apply the "French Mani" version of these. I have tried a few other patterns which actually did last about a week each and looked great. The French ones however, did not live up to my expectations. I just spent about an hour trying to apply these and they are uneven and fit my nails awkwardly. I feel like for 10.99 CAD I could have spent the same and gotten numerous applications of white and nude colour polishes and done a better job myself. Also, I ended up with an obsene amount of garbage at the end- definitely do not recommend if you have small children or pets around because the pieces of garbage are small and easy to miss while cleaning up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MiddleCyclone on 10/30/2013 10:37:00 AM more reviews by MiddleCyclone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I do like these a lot as a cheaper alternative to a salon gel manicure. I also love a lot of the nail art patterns these come in. The first time I tried applying them I got about 8 out of 10 nails looking perfect but with practice these became far easier to apply. The only disappointment I've had with these is with the design Tattoo Much, the application went on fine but the pattern looked far different on my nails then it did in the advertisement. Overall Id say these are a good choice for a fun and funky nail look. My best tip for application would be to really clean your nails thoroughly with a strong nail polish remover first to remove any dirt or moisture. The drier you nails are the better adhesion you will get. I've done this every time I've used these strips and have not had any problems with peeling, chipping or bubbling. My nails have looked perfect for a least a week to 10 days!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products