Suave Suave Naturals Juicy Green Apple Conditioner

3.6

9 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Centrimonium Chloride, Potassium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), Distearyldimonium Chloride, Disodium EDTA, 2 Bromo 2 Nitropropane 1, 3 Diol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Propylene Glycol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Apple (Pyrus Malus) Extract, Methylisothiazolinone, Glycerin, FD&C Yellow 5 Aluminum Lake, FD&C Blue 1


on 9/28/2014 8:15:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent conditioner for a light rinse out. I like the Apple and Ocean Breeze the best with regard to the natural's product line. They are both light and effective. I hate the Tropical Coconut as it does contain protein which my fine hair cannot tolerate. The consistency of the natural's line conditioners are all different. These two are not heavy and waxy.



on 3/15/2013 7:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Suave Green Apple Conditioner
I have healthy, shoulder length, color processed straight hair and an oily scalp. I�ve been using this for 2 years now. What I love most about this conditioner is that it is not heavy and doesn�t make my hair full of static. I hate static and flyaway hair.

This conditioner is for hair that needs just enough conditioning to get rid of tangles and make hair smooth. If you need more aggressive conditioning and moisture, give this a pass and use something else.

The scent is much better than the Coconut version. I was getting more and more nauseated by the sweet coconut smell, hence the switch to the Green Apple which has a much fresher pleasant scent.

Pros:
Light conditioning
Pleasant scent
Little to no buildup - no longer the case, see update
No heavy silicones
Rinses easily - no longer the case, see update
Complements any shampoo
Doesn�t leave hair static and flyaway
Good price
Availability at drugstores and supermarkets

Cons:
Not for those who need more aggressive conditioning and moisture
Thin consistency
Doesn�t add much body but it does not advertise itself as bodybuilding

Update:
I previously gave this 5 lippies but I'm taking off 2. Sometime last year in 2014, the formula was changed to 2x more conditioning. I have to add more cons:
Doesn't rinse out clean
Leaves a gummy film on my hair
Builds up over time
Makes my hair too soft and unmanageable. My straight hair starts to curl and form waves.

For these reasons, I'm taking off two lippies. I would prefer to give it one lippie since I can't use it anymore but that wouldn't be fair. The new formula might work for the people who say the previous version was too watery.

Great news. I found the perfect substitute. White Rain Moisturizing Conditioner in Apple Blossom with Active Botanicals!. It has all the positive attributes of the previous version of Suave Green Apple Conditioner. And it costs $1.09 for 15 oz at the supermarket! One caveat, it has a thin consistency. But It leaves my hair light and conditioned and manageable. I plan to write a separate review for this conditioner.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2013 9:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I like this conditioner! I love how Suave makes shampoos and conditioners in pretty much every scent imaginable. This one really does smell like a green apple. It's really crisp and refreshing. Plus the conditioner itself works really well. I put it on my clean, wet hair and comb it through before I rinse it. Without using too much product, it detangles my hair quite well. It also leaves my hair soft and manageable. I would repurchase and I do recommend.


on 12/30/2012 4:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

Although this product smelled good, it did nothing for moisturizing, & my hair was still pretty knotted after using this. Someone gave this to me, so I'm not actually out anything, but I would not repurchase.


on 11/22/2011 6:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This isn't good.Does smell nice & is cheap.But is too runny and thin detangle is average still had some knots though and flyaways/frizzy hair.not good what-so-ever.


on 3/29/2011 6:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Runny & thin but fresh & adequately moisturizing, this is a great conditioner for healthy hair. Doesn't coat or weigh hair down, doesn't make it greasy, rinses cleanly, & smells of fresh green apples.


It seems to be silicone-free (maybe?)...hope so. I don't see any familiar silicone words in the ingredients list. Large bottle, tiny price, great deal.


My only complaint is the apple scent isn't strong enough. Would buy again.





on 2/27/2011 11:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Nice smell and cheap price. I have fine, straight hair and I used this with the apple shampoo and my hair was soft and shiny but it was also frizzy and I had fly aways.


on 2/15/2011 10:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

love love love love! i mean it smells amazing, makes my hair look gorgeous and shiny and clean. It smells amaazing! it also brings out the brown in my hair and the natural hilights from the sun. It's amazingll i love everything about it


on 1/1/2011 3:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this conditioner as a shave cream so I can't comment on it's hair conditioning performance. As a shaving cream, I thought it smelled lovely, worked well & my only concern are the ingredients. I'm trying to switch over to safer products & avoid ingredients such as "fragrance" that can consist of up to 100+ unknown chemical substances.


Retail Price: $2.00 (approx)


Promise Statement: "Suave Naturals Conditioner Juicy Green Apple Conditioner combines the fragrance of orchard grown, juicy green apples in a formula with gentle conditioners to nourish and restore the natural beauty."


First 5 Key Ingredients:
Water (Aqua), Cetyl Alcohol, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Fragrance (Parfum), Lactic Acid.


Make no mistake. The lovely scent of this conditioner comes from anything BUT the natural smell of juicy green apples but more so from a cocktail of chemicals combined to create the illusion. Apple extract is #15 of 18 ingredients so 1) there's nothing "natural" about this conditioner & 2) it contains a very minute amount of apple anything. False advertising all the way but given the price & the brand, I'm not surprised. Personally though, I like to find the ingredients boasted in the advertising included in the first 5. Rarely the case with most commercial products.




Back to Top