Essie • Smokin' Hot - Winter 2010 • Polishes

rated 4.5(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Mcesaire on 5/15/2014 4:03:00 AM more reviews by Mcesaire

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium Brown   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I like dark colors now and then. And this one is absolutely beautiful! It looks almost dark purple on me. Not a favorite color of mine but it looks great. A must have fall/winter color for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/29/2014 5:31:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this color. I love all grays and smokey purples and MUST own them!!! LOL. Gorgeous dark dusty-gray that is cool-toned. Looks very flattering on my NW20 skin and perfect for winter.

The ONLY thing I dislike about Essie polish in general is the chipping. They tend to chip on me within 3 days. All of them do. This lasted 4 days. I love Essie but I wish they would change the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 1/12/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this color, but this nail polish did not last on me. Within 2 days a few of my nails had wear at the tips. By day 5 all my nails had chips in the tip. I like the colors from Essie, but not really liking the formula.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kimmiebat on 1/4/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by Kimmiebat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite color of all time. It's dark-yes, but it does come across as purple on me. I was really surprised by this color. I usually do an American manicure- very natural, but like I said, this is a new fave! I used it in conjunction with tops and tails by butter London and it lasts and lasts. Usually my nails smudge or chip fast. Can't say if it's the Essie polish or the butter London.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ArchersWife on 12/27/2013 10:53:00 PM more reviews by ArchersWife

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't love or hate this shade of nail polish-- I agree it suits winter months best & it is an easy way to wear darker colours on your nails if you typically don't. The problems I have with this polish are that the brush is unfortunately a little too small & therefore it streaks and seems uneven in 1 and sometimes 2 coats. Need a steady hand to get the desired look. Wouldn't repurchase this if I ran out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Liliaceae2 on 10/13/2013 8:11:00 PM more reviews by Liliaceae2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This polish has a very good quality. It was super easy to apply, opaque in 2 coats and easy to clean. I had it on for 5 days with only some very minimal tipwear, but it could have lasted way more.
The color isn't my favorite, though, but that's just my taste. On me it looked like a plain dark gray most of time, and then other times it was blue-ish and then rarely it had some hint of purple. Really very different from the color in the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SHEMP1 on 7/18/2013 9:25:00 AM more reviews by SHEMP1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my very favorites!!! I had never worn dark colors on my nails until I bought this polish. I absolutely love it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rainlullaby on 5/29/2013 10:25:00 AM more reviews by rainlullaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My all time favorite nail polish, especially during fall/winter. It really is Smoking' Hot :)

The color (which I'm not very good at describing...) is the perfect mix of purple, gray and taupe. It looks great on my fair skin. It's dark, but not too dark. Great for someone who doesn't wear darker colors often.

I can get away with one coat of Smoking' Hot but I usually always apply 2. Top it with SecheVite and I have the perfect mani.

I love Essie polishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Snaggletooth on 3/4/2013 6:55:00 PM more reviews by Snaggletooth

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my all-time favorite polishes. I don't paint my nails all the time, but when I do I tend to like things that aren't in the standard red/pink range, and I'm *usually* not a fan of shimmer/holo/frost/etc. This is a perfect smooth cream in a dark, muted, plummy-gray. On the nail, it's not nearly as purple as it is in the bottle. Fuss-free application, opaque in two coats. Got it for eight or nine bucks at CVS.

I do wish I could take of half a point for packaging and leave it a 4.5, because, while I really like the consistency of many Essie polishes, the brushes are indeed a bit too small.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susee on 12/5/2012 8:33:00 AM more reviews by Susee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first Essie polish I've tried, and I am impressed with the quality. It applied very smoothly and I had opaque coverage in two coats. The color is a creme, slightly purplish toned cool dark grey; for me it's unique. I've been using plums, purples, and burgandies for half my life and am now branching out to grey and blue. It is dark, but not anywhere near black. Smokin hot lasted without chipping for about 5 days; however, I use a really good basecoat that has prevented chips on all brands lately.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products