Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics • Lip Tar - Memento • Lips

rated 3.1(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 uhlizubeth on 12/26/2013 5:47:00 AM more reviews by uhlizubeth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Memento is a pretty color, but it just doesn't last the way I hoped. After about 3 hours is feathered and wore off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lisa86 on 11/18/2013 8:11:00 PM more reviews by Lisa86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have such a love/hate relationship with OCC's Lip Tar. The colours are phenomenal, but the whole process of putting it on is a huge pain. The brush and the little zippy bag is comes with gets very messy, even if you use the plastic sleeve that covers the brush. I hate having to toss the little brush in my makeup bag, if I forget then I can't reapply.

This product needs a primer. I don't particularly like the primer they have and use Too Faced lip primer, but it defeats the purpose of buying a matte shade because it gives it sheen.

It's also incredibly drying. But the colour is fantastic. I have memento, new wave and harlot. I always get compliments on it when I wear it, but it's definitely not an "easy" product and I would not recommend it to someone who likes a quick makeup routine and loathes reapplication.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chloeclover on 10/24/2013 12:02:00 PM more reviews by Chloeclover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Kind of disappointed in this color. If using too much product, it can come off as a barbie peachy pink. In the tube it looks like a nice MLBB. I find that using a small dot and blending with a finger make the color more wearable.

I would only suggest this product if it comes in a value set (bought the OCC Lip Tar All-Star Minis four pack for $20)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jessicarabbit87 on 9/27/2013 2:22:00 AM more reviews by jessicarabbit87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Never again! I bought two colors, Grandma and Memento, and I was super excited to try this on. I expected a cross between lip stick (in terms of color) and lip stain (in terms of texture). I put this on after exfoliating my lips with a sugar scrub and moisturizing with lip balm. It went on OK, a little really goes a long long way, and the color payoff was lovely. Unfortunately, just 10 minutes in, my lips started mega FLAKING. I had dry areas in places I never knew were dry. My lips felt AWFUL. Worst still, when I tried using a bit of coconut oil to remove the lip tar (which is a great use for the oil), my lips started bleeding in three places. It was awful. I tried it again an hour ago and the same thing happened. Don't buy this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ellykat on 9/14/2013 6:48:00 PM more reviews by Ellykat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like this product, but it is hard to work with because it is so liquidy. You need to apply the perfect amount to get color without making your lips cakey! This started out as a my-lips-but-better shade, a dusty rose baisically, but in four months it turned into a coral shade. It doesn't stay as long as I expected.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanhal on 7/11/2013 2:52:00 AM more reviews by shanhal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was my first lip tar, so I went with the "safe" colour. It's a dusty rose on my lips. The peppermint oil in it is so refreshing! It doesn't tingle, but it makes my breath feel like I just brushed my teeth. It will separate so give it a good shake before you open it. And when you open it, don't squeeze it, it's very runny and you will get WAY too much out. Just a dab on your brush will work, the colour didn't fade unevenly, and because it is a "safe" colour, you don't need a lip liner. Overall I would recommend it to people getting used to colour!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 4/27/2013 7:54:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Memento is a nice soft pink with a twinge of brown and one of the tamer shades OCC has. Lip tars are definitely a love them or hate them product. I think the formula is phenomenal and like that a longwearing color can be so light to apply. The color payoff is completely opaque and this shade dries to a color that's a bit lighter than how it looks in the tube. I haven't had any issues with feathering, but I do apply the tiniest amount and build up from there. I do think OCC should come out with a lip liner though, as feathering seems to happen to a lot of people. I took off one lippie because I still don't think the packaging is all that great. A product this saturated and thin might benefit from being in packaging that had a pump mechanism or something similar to prevent leaks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 stream27 on 4/25/2013 3:52:00 PM more reviews by stream27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Definitely not what I was expecting. I thought it would be a thick lip colour. When I first opened it, it appeared to have separated a little. I had to squeeze out some clear, milky-ish liquid before the colour started coming out. So far, the colour itself is extremely runny. Not something you'd think something called a "tar" would be like.

The colour itself is nice, but I'm not a fan of the formula. Even applying the teeniest amount possible on exfoliated and moisturized lips, it managed to find "dry" patches I didn't even know existed. The only good thing about the application for me is I didn't experience feathering, but I don't have any fine lines around my mouth. I can see where this might be a problem for some people, as the formula is SO thin.

The colour lasted on my lips *maybe* 5 minutes. With no eating or drinking. All the while, my lips were beyond dry, something I don't normally have a problem with. When the colour wore off, there was no stain, and my lips were so, so, so dry. Apparently buying the clear lip tar and using that as a base helps this, but if you need to use two products together for it to work, they should be sold together as one item. I'm not spending another $25 to fix something that should work on its own.

The packaging, for a product this runny, is miserable. if you don't keep the tube exactly right side up, the product leaks out. It gets all over the inside of the cap. Another reason I thought the product would be much thicker. Why would you use a squeeze tube for a product this runny?

For application, you either need to use a brush, or get your finger covered in goop, meaning it's not great for applying on the go.

Other than the actual colour itself, I really can't find anything about this I like. Based on this one, I will definitely NOT be buying anymore of these, and I truly don't understand the hype. Unless I got a bad tube, this is definitely one of the worst lip products I have ever used, and that's including products from the dollar store.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CanopicDC on 1/15/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by CanopicDC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

very pigmented but you need some sorta base under it for the texture to look nice...primer or i use the revlon just bitten lipstain in romantic and they look awesome together...if you use it directly on your lips it looks baaad all cracked up and dry

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Juliasyji on 12/20/2012 4:06:00 PM more reviews by Juliasyji

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is a-ok. it's pretty true to colour. It's almost like a dusty pink rosey shade.
OCC lip tars are vibrant at first application but are pretty drying and don't last as long as some matte lipsticks I own.
I should have tried another shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics products

More Lips products