MAC • Paint Pot in Let Me Pop • Eye Shadow

rated 3.1(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 hii on 3/22/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by hii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this brand new on eBay for about $11. I really wanted to try the pro longwear paint pots but really I think they have the same lasting power as the old ones. But anyway, this seemed like a really pretty coppery coral color. I tried it on at a Mac store and loved it. But for some reason it didnt seem as glittery then as mine does. This really has too much glitter, and that's saying something bc I like glitter and can tolerate a good bit of it. It also shows up on my skin a little too sheer. This would be perfect if it had a nice shimmer like bare study instead of actual glitter. The lasting power is good, about 5 or 6 hours before creasing by itself like the other paint pots and about 12 - 14 hours with a good primer. Overral, it's a very pretty color but not so great finish and texture. I put that I would repurchase but I'm not sure that I would.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jewelmeow on 7/21/2013 10:39:00 AM more reviews by jewelmeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i wanted to create a nice coral/ orange eye shadow look for summer and i went to the mac counter originally planning to get rubenesque - but my eye was caught by Let Me Pop. the SA told me LMP would allow more of that orange color to come through compared to rubenesque, and that LMP has more glitter. i swatched it on my hand and really fell in love.

the color went on my eye lids more sheer than i expected which i realized is a good thing, since it is really loaded with glitter. this gives my eyes a nice layer of sheer orange which is the perfect base for eye shadow. i layer on top all that glitters in the inner half of the lid, and paradisco in the outer half, blending satin taupe into the crease and finishing off with a black liner - and i am soooo impressed with the results! i have found my perfect summer orange eye look and the orange lasted all day on my lids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Imimpressions on 7/17/2013 11:25:00 PM more reviews by Imimpressions

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Update- i have changed to a five because i am wearing this everyday, to work, to pool, to everywhere
This is a paint pot with pop. The only downfall is feathering off as mentioned already but don't let that distract you from trying. I have received so many compliments on this shadow. On the lid this summer it's gorgeous. If I want something more i either put woodwinked or bronze in my crease not on top of it directly.
I have worn it everyday on vacation and feel dressed up without a lot of work.
Try it at the Mac counter

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CountessOfPerth on 5/14/2013 2:54:00 PM more reviews by CountessOfPerth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I went to the MAC counter & was swatching all the new paint pots; first I considered getting Dangerous Curvee, but I know I don't wear dark eye makeup enough to spend 20 bucks on it. I swatched Let Me Pop and fell in love, but I do sort of regret the purchase. I should have bought Rubenesque, as that has been on my hit-list for a long time and it is basically Let Me Pop minus all the glitter. I do like this product; it is a pretty color and I can deal with the glitter. The big downfalls are how sheer it is, though I find that if you let it dry a bit, you can build up layers. The glitter is another downfall, I can take it or leave it. I'd say, if you're considering getting this, unless you want glitterbomb eyes, just go with Rubenesque.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dianeluis on 1/3/2012 1:03:00 AM more reviews by dianeluis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only paint pot from the Cham-pale collection that disappointed me. I like it's finish, but I'm just not a fan of copper shades on my skin. It looks great on my pale, light eyed friends when I do their makeup, I just can't get it to look good on me. NW25-30 for reference

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 meowrena on 8/23/2011 1:12:00 PM more reviews by meowrena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Too glittery. I went to the MAC store in hopes of purchasing Rubenesque paint pot, but the girl said they were sold out and Let Me Pop was similar to it. They are similar in colour, but in finish, they are really different. Let Me Pop has way too much glitter in it, which is fine if you wear it alone, but I always put shadow on top of cream products. Putting an eyeshadow over Let Me Pop makes it look flakey. I think this paint pot would be good to use as a liner, but not as an eyeshadow base (which is the reason I purchased it).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 knganderson on 3/1/2011 5:02:00 PM more reviews by knganderson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This paint pot is definitely more glittery than shimmery, but that's my only disappointment with it. Otherwise, I like the color (helps blue eyes stand out) and the lasting power is good. I think it's better used on its own than as a base for shadow; it can makes the shadows look a little odd over it. Also, application is a little tricky: it can clump in spots when applied if not careful. I put yes for buying again, but mostly because I do like this product, not necessarily because I would buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 indiangirl1220 on 2/16/2011 9:44:00 PM more reviews by indiangirl1220

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So I know I'm in the minority here, but I actually really love this paint pot. I've never really used a paint pot before, but I knew these ones were pretty sheer, so I didn't have the expectations that others may have had. If I use a thin layer of UDPP underneath, there is no creasing whatsoever and it lasts the whole day.
The color is absolutely beautiful. It looks great on my skin tone (NC25-30ish) as a lid color. I usually throw sable in the crease with this- maybe not a pairing one would expect, but it looks good!
As far as the glitter is concerned, I don't think it's as terrible as some have made it out to be. Usually I despise glittery products but if I use this only on my eyelids the effect is pretty rather than over the top. I don't get any fallout with this so long as I use the UDPP underneath. I tried Chilled On Ice (also from champale) and found that it was much more glittery with much more fallout.
If I ever ran out and it happened to be repromoted, I'd buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Imworthit on 1/31/2011 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Imworthit

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually like this product! Although the other reviewers are correct - this is a VERY glittery product, and if you don't like too much glitter it won't be for you.
Having said that I have found that it works best for me just as an eyelid colour. It's a pale salmon colour and seems to work well with my skin tone which is cool olive.
I have tried to layer shadow on top and it really doesn't look good, but just on it's own I think it looks stunning.
The only major issue I have with this product is the amount of fallout. There is a ton of it unfortunately, and you will see most of it later in the day, not immediately and so I dropped the 5 lippies to 4.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* em1282 on 1/9/2011 7:09:00 PM more reviews by em1282

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I agree with the very first review...this is just a glitterbomb in a jar. I like glitter, but I like the fact that paint pots are usually, y'know, colored bases. This just shows up as a thin layer of glitter when you put it on your eyelid, and does nothing. Someone else compared this to Rubenesque but this one does NOT show up as any color on me...so I can't say it's similar to Rubenesque, which I love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products