Olay • Professional Pro-X Advanced Cleansing System • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(488 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 celloyess on 1/28/2015 10:41:00 AM more reviews by celloyess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For over 10 years, my skin had been difficult to manage, sensitive, irritable, full of acne and acne scarring, and just dirty looking no matter how I cleaned it and no matter what products I used with it.

When sonic brushes boomed in popularity, I was attracted by the promises and the good reviews by almost everyone who has used them. I first considered getting the Clarisonic system, but I found them very pricey for my student budget. The Olay Pro-X system was next on my list. And I am so glad that the drugstore had that sale the day I decided to get it, because it was the push that made me start using this product.

Now my skin is much healthier and actually looks clean, smooth, and radiant! If I can attribute this positive change to only 5 "products", Olay Pro-x would be one of the two major ones- the other major one would be clean diet+exercise+staying hydrated aka. general lifestyle change.

I haven't used a system like this one so I have nothing to compare with. But as of now, just by itself, it is doing a great job in cleaning my face. I don't use makeup or foundation so I'm not sure how well it cleans that. But I do have oily and sensitive face, and this gives the perfect balance of deep cleaning, some slight exfoliation, without irritation!

Compared with just cleaning using my hands+cleanser or towel+cleanser, Pro-x+cleanser gives me the best cleanse. If I'm using an exfoliator or a clay mask, I would use the Pro-x for initial cleaning first. I think the best part is when I can see and feel all products (toner, oil, serum, moisturizer) that I use after absorbing better and faster when I use Pro-x.

As for the value of the product, I think that it is affordable since the system itself is cheaper compared to a lot of brush systems out in the market at the moment. The brushes are also inexpensive, especially when you buy it on sale! It is operated using two AA batteries, so I decided to just buy rechargeable batteries to be more economical. I find that the highest speed lasted me about a 20-30 days when used twice a day. But the medium and the low speed last sooo much longer, that sometimes I forget that I'm using a battery ran product. I rarely use the high speed and often just use the medium speed so it works out for me.

5/5 stars!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SophiaSopapilla on 1/7/2015 11:23:00 AM more reviews by SophiaSopapilla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have manually exfoliated for years but this system takes it to a new level. My skin is soft, feels clean, and looks great. Clogged pores dont happen nearly as often as they used to, even those nasty blackheads on my nose have gotten noticeably smaller. Makeup goes on smoother.
I have used the provided cleanser/exfoliant and other types like st Ives apricot and the effect is the same so if you don't want to buy their cleanser you can use an alternative. I do like their cleanser over other brands though, but given the cost I will probably only buy it if it's on sale.
I use this everyday, longer than the recommended 60 seconds.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zoz5 on 12/24/2014 1:14:00 AM more reviews by zoz5

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I asked for this for Christmas and was so happy to recieve this today when my family gave me this present, I went down stairs and washed my face right after I opened it, my face feels so goo. Clean and not deprived of anything perfect, I will do more updates later.
the packaging is a little big for the size of this product.
you should wait till this is on sale becuase there are a ton of sales and bonus thigs at target and other drug stores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SuzisZoo on 12/15/2014 5:01:00 AM more reviews by SuzisZoo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I'm 46 and have combination skin. This has worked wonders on my face! I've been using this cleansing brush for two weeks and my skin has never looked better. Like another reviewer mentioned, I was using apricot scrub to exfoliate for years and thought it was doing a really good job. Well, I was wrong, because my skin is smoother than it has ever been now! My tone is more even, my makeup goes on smoothly, and even my husband noticed a difference in how I look.
I use this as the directions state - I wet my face and apply and apply my cleanser as normal, then use the brush. Then I rinse with a wet washcloth. It feels really good on your skin and I have not had any issues at all with sensitivity. I'm currently still using the sample of Pro-X cleanser that came with the kit, but I doubt it will repurchase that since it is $18 and I"m pretty sure it's the same thing as the Olay Regenerist cleanser that is like $6.
I've never tried a more expensive cleansing brush system so I can't compare to those, but at least in my experience this one is certainly good enough to get the job done well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cmadiegirl on 12/10/2014 12:02:00 AM more reviews by cmadiegirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After just a week I've noticed a significantly huge difference in my skin. My acne scars are actually fading. I've been using this along with my BHA/AHA routine. Be very careful not to over exfoliate!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sweeneyd on 11/18/2014 9:19:00 AM more reviews by Sweeneyd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ok- long story. All my life I had great skin. But as soon as I hit 22, my skin slowly went downhill. I had severe acne and blemishes and blackheads, and of course I would stress and this would just make it worse! My sister and mom use the Clarasonic and rave about how fantastic it is, so I was determined to get one. After doing some research, though, I found this brush. After reading all the reviews, it seemed to be a great catch! So I spent $x at Walgreens and hoped for the best. The first few days, I didn't notice a difference and began to have my usual pitty party. So I googled facial cleansing brushes in general and read an article on how it can take up to two weeks for your skin to start "changing". Well- it has been two weeks and HOLY COW, you would never know that I had 3 years of bad skin! My scars are fading, my acne is completely gone (except the usual monthly breakout..) and my face is starting to shine! I read another review on here and I agree that even my makeup is going on/staying better! I have seen a lot of people say they only use a gentle cleanser. I tried that and unfortunately it did not help. I'm still using the Neutrogena Grapefruit Cleanser (always have, only thing that used to remotely help) and it doesn't seem to be too strong or irritating. I also only use it once a day- at night to remove makeup. Overall, I am beyond satisfied, and I guess if you take one thing out of my extremely long review it's give it not only a chance, but time. You will not see a 100% improvement overnight.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenhaas504 on 11/7/2014 11:27:00 AM more reviews by Jenhaas504

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I had been looking at the Clarisonics for quite some time but just couldn't see forking out $100 for a face scrubber, and then I saw the Olay Pro X Cleansing System, it was on sale at Ulta for $24, so I decided to give it a try. All I can say is it will change your life! I cannot wash my face without this thing, if I do, my face does not feel clean at all. Esp right now with the winter months starting I have fry skin so I usually get the dry patches all over my face and with foundation and powder you can see them, well I use my Pro X and an exfoliator, and I have not seen 1 dry patch, my skin looks healthier and honestly younger! I really would recommend this, don't go spend the $100, try the Pro X first!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kileylovescake on 10/29/2014 5:41:00 PM more reviews by kileylovescake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After reading about the Clarisonic all over the internet, I knew it was my job to find the perfect dupe! Although I haven't had the chance to try a Clarisonic, I can't imagine it is that much better (except- it does have different settings and brush heads and such, and it is chargeable instead of battery-powered).

Honestly, this makes my skin feel great! I was using harsh cleansers before on my oily skin because I felt that it was necessary to remove my makeup. However, now I can use a gentle cleanser and the Pro X will still give me a very clean feeling!

I have heard that this can cause over-exfoliation, but I'm not sure I've noticed because I use it once a day and haven't had any horrible break-outs. Probably because this new regimen is more gentle on my skin than what I was using before (harsh Clean & Clear scrubs and the like).

It's a great product for the price - 30$! Target has special colors (light pink & blue). It comes with batteries!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Suify on 10/24/2014 4:29:00 AM more reviews by Suify

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I bought this more than a year ago, used for a while an decided to return to St Ives facial scrub to do the job. Somehow just like how we always are, I left it somewhere and forgot about it altogether.

Then just few days back I read about how cleansing mittens/washcloths for face and I thought I should use my Olay Pro-X instead of spending money to get a facial cloth! And boy, just within 3 days of using the brush (after removing my makeup with makeup remover), together with my Shiseido facial foam (it produces a lot of foam, I love it!) my face has never been so clean for such a long time! I wonder why did I even make the decision to going back to old school apricot scrub! My husband also commented that my make up looked different when we met for lunch (so that's like, 6 hours later) - nothing was different except the fact that my makeup stayed on much better and longer prolly due to the fact that my skincare is better absorbed by my skin!

I give this 4 lippies because I remembered why I stopped using this and switched back to good old scrub, if you are not careful, you may end up over-cleansing your face, and may have red painful pimples forming as a result!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lowelissa on 10/17/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by lowelissa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Just bought this the other day, I've been using it every day in the shower, love the feeling and how clean it really makes my skin. I definitely recommend this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Misc Beauty Tools products