Maybelline • Instant Age Rewind Radiant Firming Makeup • Foundations

rated 3.9(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Steelermummeh on 9/6/2014 12:58:00 PM more reviews by Steelermummeh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

(I got a "buy one get one free" deal online - 1 oz per bottle)

Behold, the "other half" of my foundation HG!

I stayed with Creamy Natural which in this variety is #200. As an example Fit Me in the same shade is #135. I have no idea why they'd do that, but they did it and I can only assume they are intentionally trying to confuse me as part of some diabolical plot.

Alas, I have a laundry list of skin problems (rosacea, oily T-zone, dry and flaky, red and inflamed and just plain old discoloration...evidently I was born to be a make-up guinea pig, probably another part of that diabolical plan). I had high hopes before I tried it, so here's what I found after applying with my fingertips and blending it out with one of Sephora's concealer brushes. (primer and moisturizer were already on)

Consistency: Indistinguishable from a million other liquid foundations

Smell: Hardly any

Coverage: medium-full

Longevity: A good 7 hours, and longer with primer.

If I had just one teensy little complaint it would be the need (on hot days) to "set" it with powder or spray if I wanted to completely avoid the much-dreaded "oil slick" . Ladies and gents who run oily to start with might end up really frustrated with Age Rewind.

So, Age Rewind promises you not just great coverage, but also a noticeable improvement of your skin with regular use. I'll update if something miraculous or disastrous happens!



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Suzaroos on 8/3/2014 1:20:00 AM more reviews by Suzaroos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Let me start off by saying I've tried dozens of foundations. From high end, to drugstore and the Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse has been my favorite for years. But I've been hearing rumors that it's being discontinued [not happy about this]. Anywaysss so I figured I'd try something new. I picked this one up on a whim and let me tell you...I LOVE this foundation! I have very dry, sensitive and fair skin. I typically use a primer, but find that with this foundation, as long as my skin is clean, exfoliated and moisturized, a primer is not needed! It seriously makes my skin look flawless and lasts all day. Now...crossing my fingers that Maybelline doesn't decide to discontinue this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 6/29/2014 1:04:00 PM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I should start by saying Instant Age Rewind Radiant Firming Makeup is discontinued & the new replacement is Instant Age Rewind The Lifter Makeup. The very first time I wore this, I thought it was disgusting & I almost pitched it in the trash. It was way too thick & heavy on; I could just tell I had something on my face & no one wants to wear his or her foundation like a mask. It's a medium to full coverage foundation that, unfortunately, got to looking caked on me. After a few wears, I finally got to liking it a little better. I think I subconsciously felt like I needed more than I do because I have acne scars to cover. Less is definitely more with this foundation because it's thick. In spite of finally getting it to work for me, this isn't one of my HG or favourite foundations because of the satin finish. This foundation almost glows on my skin. I have oily skin & if you do too, you know a matte or natural finish is what's best for our skin type. My skin does not need help radiating! Well, Caramel Dark 2 is the perfect colour for my skin. During the summertime, this shade works for me so I don't have to worry about anything darker.

The formula is so thick that it does cover my dark spots & acne scars pretty well; I don't necessarily have to wear a concealer if I decide to wear this foundation. However, because it's so thick it's also really slow & kind of annoying to apply because I have to pour it. I think this is a good enough foundation. The only cons are the shimmer/sheen finish (if you have oily skin) & the no-pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shereenmohsen on 5/22/2014 9:52:00 AM more reviews by shereenmohsen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this one on classic ivory which a bit darker than my skin tone nw 15-20. but I am not
really worried since the quality of this foundation is really good. it gives a dewy finish &
has light reflecting formula that make my face radient & healthy.
the only thing I did not like is the packing it is a glass bottle with no dispenser

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gracyyylala on 5/21/2014 9:26:00 PM more reviews by gracyyylala

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm 16 and have acne prone, combination to oily skin naturally but due to the fact that I use acne treatments containing salicylic acid my skin can become dry and I find that this foundation works wonderfully with my skin. I use a primer first and then apply the product evenly all over my face using a damp beauty blender for best results.

Pros:
Good color selection
Blendable
Medium to buildable coverage
Evens out skin tone flawlessly
Doesn't feel heavy
Isn't cakey
Has a nice dewy finish
Doesn't need to be touched up much

Cons:
Packaging

Overall I really love this product. It's my favorite drugstore foundation mainly because it does NOT break me out at all!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pray on 4/25/2014 4:00:00 PM more reviews by Pray

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I Love this foundation, I always go back to this I always get
complements And I do not have to spend $50.oo bucks
on makeup, I like this better than Estee Lauder, the same
company's make this foundation, your just paying for the name.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BelieverInAL on 10/10/2013 5:01:00 PM more reviews by BelieverInAL

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I just purchased this yesterday (10/9/13) and used it for the first time today. So far I love it, along with the 2 other Maybelline foundations I own (Matte Mousse & Dream Liquid Mousse). I like them all as well as higher end foundations. This one goes on really smooth and dries to a nice, soft finish. I am 49 now, so have "aging" skin, so a nice foundation for me, but this might not work as well on younger, oilier skins. We all know products work differently on everyone, so it's just a "try it and see" kind of thing, but for me I really like this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 schulerlab on 5/26/2013 1:23:00 AM more reviews by schulerlab

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

When I first tried this, I thought ugh.. too heavy. shows up on my skin. Plus, I got buff biege, which has a bit of yellow undertone, so I thought it might look good on my skin. But, when I put it on, it felt too light. I was going to chuck it.

Then, I saw a video on youtube about by the makeup artist Wayne Goss about using a wet sponge (where you've squeezed out the extra water) to apply makeup - especially heavier, drier or creme makeup. So, I thought.. why not give that a try before chucking it. And so I tried it. Oh my god.. it looked so nice. What a difference. By wetting the sponge, then squeezing it out, it keeps the sponge from absorbing all the makeup, but the sponge gives you a smoother look, and you can build in the areas you need more coverage.

So, I like this very much when I use a wet sponge to apply it. It gave me good coverage without looking like too much. I am fair, reddish hair, over 50, with a bit of rosacea. Because I have some rosacea, I do use 2 shades. I dab the sandy beige on my cheeks and use the buff beige elsewhere - around eyes and elsewhere, and the sponge to blend. That way, my rosacea is blended to my real skin tone which ends up matching my neck. Looks good.

A pump would be more hygenic, and easier to apply.. but hey, I can make do with the bottle.
I would buy again. And I will use the wet sponge again for any makeup I find a bit heavy to apply by hand. Good way to get coverage, without a too heavy madeup look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Smallonion on 11/23/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by Smallonion

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried a million foundations - high end and drugstore- and returned a lot of them, too. I really like this - and I'm super surprised that I do. Makes my skin look fantastic! Really healthy looking. I use setting sprays because I have a hard job, so I can't speak to the staying power, but it looks wonderful, and makes me look healthier and more well-rested.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CyborgAnnie on 9/21/2012 6:04:00 PM more reviews by CyborgAnnie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This was my go to foundation until I noticed it turns orange. My skin is norm - dry. This gives my skin just the right amount of moisture and is not matte which dries my skin out and makes fine lines more obvious. Wish they had better non oxidizing shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products