Mally Beauty • Poreless Face Defender • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.8(43 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ARLOPEZ324 on 7/16/2014 10:04:00 PM more reviews by ARLOPEZ324

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I saw one of my favorite beauty vloggers use this product and I had to run to Ulta and buy it. It's pretty expensive, but being that I have EXTREMELY oily skin (not just t-zone oily, but all over oily) I had to give it a shot. I was expecting some type of miracle product that makes your pores disappear like the vlogger said it would, that unfortunately was not the case. There is an appearance of a decrease in pore size, but I don't know, I was expecting better. It does get rid of the oil, but only for an hour or so. Then afterwards, I feel as though my skin was even more oily than it was before. I was honestly a little disappointed with this product. I know there really is no miracle product out there to reduce the size of my gigantic pores, but I guess I just had my hopes up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bteaster5 on 7/1/2014 12:38:00 PM more reviews by bteaster5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

My "cannot live without" product. Bans shine all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 5/31/2014 3:53:00 AM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I usually use Wet N Wild Reserve Your Cabana powder to set my foundation. I have no complaints about it. It sets my makeup and gives me a nice glittery glow. I like it, but that doesn't stop me from wanting to try new things. And believe me I wanted to try Mally's Poreless Face Defender ever since I saw it years ago on QVC.


It just looks so different. I could have had a holy grail status powder and I would have said, "FU HG powder... for just a second.... because I'm trying this new stuff....I love you and I will be back to you" *kisses*.


So does heaven sing when I use this odd silicone suspended jelly-like powder? No, there is no heavenly choir. Does it set my foundation and make it last for a few hours? Yep, it sure does. Can it get cakey and make me look old if I get a lil to zealous or heavy handed? Yep indeed it can and does. Does it blow my Wet N Wild Cabana powder out of the water? Nope. I would say they are comparable. The finish is different. Mally's Face Defender is more natural looking, but it has about the same lasting power as a setting powder. It does look better than a traditional setting powder that isn't tinted or invigerated with some luminizing properties, but it isn't the "revolution" Mally claims it to be. It is just a different option. A unique looking option, but not the end-all-be all option.


That being said I like the compact the product comes in. The sponge is nice. I wish it wasn't so hard to get replacement sponges and I wish they weren't so expensive. I would buy more, but I am not forking out $25.00 for 3 sponges. Sorry chick. Not happening. I will just try to wash out my sponge I got with the foundation because I think it is probably the best applicator for this product. I don't think brushes would work well, but I haven't tried them to be honest. I don't think fingers are a good option either.


My one real complaint is that the product gets kind of gross looking after a few uses. It seems to pick up any old foundation on the sponge and makes the product look murky. I'm not a germ-a-phobe, but I imagine if you are the murky quality might give you the heeby-geebies. It isn't a deal breaker for me. I can easily clean it up with a cottonball, but it does remove some product. I think if I was more vigilant at keeping my applicators clean I wouldn't have the issue.


So overall I think this is a nice product. Not earth-shaking or anything, but still nice. This is again another product that you can live without, but I think is worth trying if you are a fellow makeup junky. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 3/25/2014 9:27:00 AM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am on the fence with this product. On one hand it trully is fantastic in the beginning when you first dab this stuff on your oily areas and poof! oils are gone and the face looks flawless. However what bothers me about this product is that after several hours of wearing it my face becomes even more oilier than it was. As I look in the mirror it seems fine and still no visible pores but if I touch my face i can feel a layer of sleek greasiness. What's up with that?! The only explanation I can think of is this silicon based product sits on top of the skin, minimizing the look of pores and makes the face appear shine-free but since it doesn't go anywhere I can FEEL the product on my face blended with the oils and perhaps that's what makes it feel so greasy. I'll continue to use this since there's nothing better on the market so far but I am keeping my eyes open for other things.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ltgee on 2/5/2014 5:38:00 PM more reviews by ltgee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i am always hesitant to purchase makeup with silicones in it but i had to try this based on such awesome reviews and mally's super cute youtube videos! and her comment about, "no more setting powder because it ages you", is SO true, now that i am 38 & have lost some oils on my cheeks and around my eyes, i cant wear setting powder anymore, it just looks too powdery.

sells for $40.00 i believe but i got this for $20.00 after it went on sale and i got an additional $10.00 off coupon AND free shipping. the compact is HUGE and there seems to be a lot of product. the sponge is big, yes, but its wonderfully soft and bouncy. i use this only on my super oily t-zone and i swear, this is the only product i have used thus far in my life that actually, truly WORKS! i stay matte! no more greasies by lunchtime, its 2:30 pm and i still look great!

i put the compact and the sponge in a ziplock to take back and forth with me to my bf's house. not a big deal. i think she just came out with a travel sized one? i will get my hands on that!

i am impressed and am now looking into her cream foundation :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 2/2/2014 2:58:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A great product for keeping the skin matte all day. I only use it on my eye area to keep my concealor from creasing and caking. The compact is a little difficult to open. If on sale I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MarissaLopez on 1/26/2014 3:05:00 PM more reviews by MarissaLopez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I keep on expecting to look in the mirror and see my oils back :) So far no oily T-zone!! The price is a little expensive HOWEVER I bought this on mally's website while it was $30 plus I used a coupon code for $10 off plus it was shipped free!! In that case I would purchase again and again :) I love the sponge that comes with. It's big and soft and just bounces off the skin. But it is annoying that it's not more travel friendly. But seriously that's the only con. Everything else is pretty amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 1/21/2014 1:08:00 PM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Would I re-purchase? Yes, I just have but because it's so expensive for what it is I only buy it as part of a QVC TSV/set. It's a quite impressive if somewhat ultra-mattifying primer - I've mostly been smoothing it all over my face as a primer (which I much prefer), which I find gives the best results. But I've also used it after my foundation and powder, however used this way I find it needs frequent touch-ups, at least for me. For those with oily skins it's a godsend. But you have to apply it carefully to avoid the dreaded powdery, enlarged-pore look. I get a reaction to most (silicone) primers which I don't get with this one, but I don't think it has an SPF. The compact is very easily broken so I won't be leaving it loose in my bag like I did my last one (oops!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WhitneyDawn82 on 10/13/2013 11:09:00 AM more reviews by WhitneyDawn82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a MUST HAVE for everyone, and it's AWESOME for people with oily skin (me). This works great and it's something I will not do without. Your pores disappear and it makes your skin silky smooth! I have had a few people ask me if I had a facial or ask me what I was using because my face looked so smooth. I keep one at home and carry another in my purse in case I need to touch up during the day. I did buy a smaller sponge to carry in my purse, because the sponge that comes with it is big. I could go on and on about the benefits of this product, but I suggest you try it for yourself.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Blondebeauty2 on 10/6/2013 4:29:00 AM more reviews by Blondebeauty2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If you have oily skin then this is a must have!!! Esp in the summer! I seriously think that the ppl who didn't like this product are using it wrong. You should not be able to see this product on the sponge, if so ur using to much! It shouldn't ball up on ur skin, if so ur using it wrong. U tap the sponge on the product, just pressing product onto the sponge lightly and then you tap/blot ur face lightly. Ppl who are using this for the first time, just do half of ur face at first and then compare lol! You will fall in love. This is an amazing product that replaces blotting in general and touching up w/powder. Way to go Mally!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mally Beauty products

More Primer/ Corrector products