Paula's Choice • RESIST Daily Smoothing Treatment with 5% AHA • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.2(54 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 wjp on 3/3/2014 4:12:00 PM more reviews by wjp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is another of my must have products that I've been using for many years. Makes my skin soft, smooth and I no longer need to wear foundation. Love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MarJH on 2/24/2014 1:03:00 PM more reviews by MarJH

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I tried this 2 different times. I got terrible cystic acne from this. The first time I used it for several weeks with no improvement. The second time I used it for a week and had to stop. I was getting cystic acne and whiteheads all over my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 veronicacolombia on 2/6/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by veronicacolombia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to like this product, but the smell put me off. Get a sample before you buy the whole product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ccj36 on 12/7/2013 5:32:00 PM more reviews by ccj36

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this AHA treatment for a few months, and I have seen a noticeable difference in the clarity and texture of my skin. I use it at night, and it makes my over-40 skin very smooth. I normally use mineral makeup, and I have noticed that I apply a much lighter layer of my foundation now so that my skin shows through it. The price is very reasonable for the quality of the product. I am a fan.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Itsheatherlol on 11/26/2013 5:34:00 AM more reviews by Itsheatherlol

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Leave my skin incredibly soft and spot free. My skin has never looked or felt better. Cannot fault this product. I wear it undermakeup, every morning on Tues, Thurs, Sat.

Only downside is it smells a LITTLE bit, but once it has been absorbed into the skin, the smell is no longer noticeable.

Would highly reccommend. Fantastic exfoliator, great for anti-aging.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slimmbaby on 10/10/2013 9:42:00 PM more reviews by slimmbaby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome product! I have pretty good skin already, but this makes is look flawless. Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 10/10/2013 4:57:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Update: Oh sadness. This is decent, and for the average bear I bet it's great but I seriously clog to EVERYTHING. I put this on only one quarter of my face (to get a large enough sample size) and I do have to say that it reclogs any open pores particularly steadily. :( They dry out a lot faster when I don't use this which is sad because I almost always have issues. Also, it may be a contributor to more clogs, which I then mess with, and then they get infected too. It is moisturizing and fairly gentle (as far as other exfoliants are concerned) and would keep ashyness from over drying at bay, but I just can't do chemicals. My skin is so freaking sensitive. I'll hang onto it, there's a chance I can use it occasionally? But it may be wishful thinking. :( Overall I think natural may be the way to go for me, but as you can see I did like this a lot.

Update 2: I kept trying this again in one section of my face (so I could compare to the other sections) and I honestly saw NO difference. All it did was make open spots fill up again, and it didn't make any less bumps or shrink them down. I didn't really notice a difference in plumpness or wrinkle reduction or even moisture too much. I do want to like AHA/BHA but I just didn't feel this did anything. Though it possibly wasn't the *cause* of my breakouts, it didn't help. Which is a shame because I have a PC credit and nothing I want. Original review below.

Oh holy G. This is my EIGHTH Paula's Choice exfoliant and it's by far my favorite. I notice an instant difference and a decrease in redness plus any extracted areas don't seem to fill up as much with pus and become cysts. I was hesitant because of the color and texture (I'm afraid of lotions and clogging issues). I was more interested in BHA, and used the gel for a while, but still had some issues. I tried other formulas and AHA and it was mostly too strong. This is the perfect amount, it has BHA in it as well, doesn't dry me out, and my skin actually shows signs of improvement. I'm still not out of the water but I am getting there. I also wish I could give an extra lippie for the staff at Paula's Choice. I was about to give up and just assume my skin doesn't like their products, but they talked to me endlessly and sent me free samples. Sure, I know they want me to keep purchasing from them, but they sent A LOT and always took my returns without issue. But this product alone gets 5, I really think it's that good. This is also moisturizing. If I use Retin A, even a LITTLE one time, I will flake for days, but with this I get better results and I don't even use a moisturizer (maybe I should but I worry about clogs) and it still makes my skin feel soft. Super plus.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 doubleglowwseven on 9/21/2013 7:35:00 PM more reviews by doubleglowwseven

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm onto my 2nd bottle now and I don't want to be without this gem! I love how smooth it makes my skin feel!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jwoudzia on 6/13/2013 11:20:00 PM more reviews by jwoudzia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product is absolutely amazing! I had a pretty severe series of breakouts last year which left my face scarred and the skin tone uneven. I used a high potency retinol serum to help clear up the acne but now that my face is clear this product is too strong. I recently started using Paula's Choice 5% AHA Daily Smoothing Treatment and the results are unbelievable. After one use my face was noticeably smoother and a week later my skin is glowing! This is the best my skin has looked and felt in as long as I can remember. I am recommending is product to all of my friends and family because I am so happy with the results.

I rated the pricing as relatively cheap because this type of treatment in another brand (Lancôme or Estée Lauder) would cost close to $100. The packaging is convenient, with two pumps being a good amount to cover my entire face. The only complaint I have is that the container is opaque and I cannot tell how much product is left.

Bottom line: everyone should give this a try. I have already ordered a backup because I don't want to be without it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HWL on 4/18/2013 4:46:00 PM more reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Have tried many AHAs and BHAs and this works the best for me, because it is so gentle. I thought I might tolerate it better, but didn't expect it to do much, but it is quite powerful. I have a lot of dead skin in my pores and I flake out and break out. I have dry red patches on the nose and near it. Exfoliating is the only thing that helps, but overdoing it can send me into a tailspin and make it worse. This has reduced the redness and fast, with no tailspin. The weekly is needed deal with buildup and breakout attacks that I still get. It's a drag it takes 2 products and expensive, but you can fine tune how much you use of each. If you tolerate AHAs well, you might prefer the stronger one and not bother with this. If you have very gentle skin, this is will be your go to. I use this with the Barrier Repair Moisturizer for the retinol, as that is gentle too. Overall PC products are hit or miss for me and some too drying and some break me out, but this is great. CS is helpful about refunds and store credit and sending samples. Glad I finally tried this.

Update: Still think it's a great gentle product, but find I tolerate the 1% BHA gel better. I might go back to this in the winter. It is not as good at clearing out the pores and can make me red. So use the BHA and the weekly.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products