China Glaze Pool Party

4.0

29 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/27/2015 1:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

On me, Pool Party is a bright fluorescent orange. My first thought when applying it was of a safety vest. It's a fun color, but I was hoping for a bright red as some bloggers have reported. I used 2 coats, but 3 would be better, as it's a bit sheer. Next time, I might try it with a pink or red base coat to avoid VNL and to see if I can make it look more coral.



on 7/12/2014 2:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Pool Party is a neon pink/coral. It is very bright and very summery. I think this one will show up more red on some skin tones, I am not sure but this one seems to depend on the person. On myself, I am a NW20 and it shows very coral/pink. More coral than pink.

It needs 3 coats to be opaque and its a typical neon formula that dries matte. Only neons I like are China Glaze, they are always super bright and in your face. This one literally glows at sunset. Such a gorgeous polish.


on 6/20/2014 3:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When you look up pictures of Pool Party, you'll probably find photos of really bright pink (maybe coral-pink) nails. I found that it was, in fact, really bright, but on my nails it's more of a reddish orange. I still like it, but it was a little disappointing. This is a great color for summer, and it's brightness is no joke. I have gotten asked several times what color I have on my nails. The formula applies alright and seems to be on par with other China Glaze cremes, which isn't necessarily my favorite formula. It's opaque in 2-3 coats, and it dries to a satin or matte finish. You will need a top coat to make it glossy. It does chip quickly, but I was able to get about 4 days of wear without major chipping using base and top coat.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2014 10:49:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I purchased this polish and two others even after a failed attempt with another color. My mind is now completely made up that this polish is overrated and sucks. My Wet and Wild polish is more valuable than this overpriced crap. Each coat of polish came out streaky and dried looking cheap, even after 3 coats I was not impressed. At this price point, I will stick to my Essie and OPI polish that only requires 2 coats and looks fabulous!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2014 6:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I recently purchased this polish and brought it with me for a pedicure. Yes I like to take my own polish in case a chip occurs. This color looks neon pink in the bottle but dries to a pinky-orange color. Bright and fun color for a summer pedicure. I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/8/2014 2:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

On me (fair, warm skin), this came out to be a neon red with a pink tint. Not at all a "bubblegum" pink. I asked my friends if it was a red or pink and they straight up said red. Out of all the swatches on google images, I would say this was pretty color accurate to what I experienced (NOT affiliated)
http://www.swatchandlearn.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/China-Glaze-Pool-Party-Swatch.jpg

That being said, I still like it even though I was expecting more of a pink toned color. It went on wonderfully, opaque at 2 coats although 3 would have made it more even. It looks extremely childlike with the matte finish, but the magic happens after you topcoat it :) P.S. I don't understand why people complain about the matte finish on neon nail polishes. The ingredient that makes the polish neon also makes it matte. Just shut up and topcoat LOL!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/20/2013 12:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been wanting to try a matte or cream finish polish sooo bad & now that I have one.....I DON'T LIKE IT!!!!!! Pool Party is a cool color but I just don't like the finish, nothing a coat of top coat can't fix.


on 5/28/2013 9:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just purchased this because i saw it on another girl and i LOVE it.
I think when you put it on yourself you kind of think "this is obnoxiously bright", but when other people see it they give you compliments and ask what color it is..
I feel so sassy and summery with this on, and it makes my hands look really tan which is a bonus!
I put on 3 coats just to even it out, and it dries to a mat, so you do need a top coat. I used the Seche Vite top coat and it made my nails look fabulous!
definitely worth buying!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2013 11:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I saw my friend wearing this nail polish and I had to ask her what it was.

When she told me it was China Glaze's - Pool Party, I immediately went out and bought it.

I LOVE this nail polish a lot

Normally, neon colours are a bit tricky to put on, you often need to put a white coat underneath to make it visible (such as China Glaze's Celtic Sun)

Pool Party does not need any white polish underneath.

I did need to use 3 coats, which is one more than I usually do. A top coat is necessary or else it will have a matte finish (but it's so pretty you want a top coat so it lasts long)

I probably will be wearing this one a lot this summer!
10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2013 11:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of the few polishes I've had to repurchase. (Does anyone else have the hardest time actually finishing a bottle of nail polish?!?) There are countless swatches of "Pool Party" on google image. Simply put, this is a radioactive-neon hot pink. Perfect for a festive summer pedicure. Opaque in 2 coats; dries to a matte finish. I use Orly Bonder base coat, then 2 coats of this, wait 2 min, then finish w/a coat of Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Top Coat (in the red bottle). Follow my method and your toes will stay chip-free and glossy for 2 wks plus. I promise. (I do my polish every time this way and it lasts so long in fact that I have to remove it solely due to regrowth -- absolutely iron-clad.)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
136 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews


Top Rated China Glaze Products

image

Dorothy Who?

33 reviews
image

Ruby Pumps

386 reviews
image

Frostbite

70 reviews
image

Fairy Dust

95 reviews
Back to Top