Maybelline • One by One Volum' Express • Mascara

rated 3.7(740 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Synfonia04 on 4/15/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Synfonia04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this after asking my friend what mascara she uses and she said the One by One. I always admired how her lashes looked. So long and separated. Just the look I love.

So I bought this and for the first month or so it looked great on me, although it did flake sometimes but it didn't really bother me because it didn't flake a lot. It curled my lashes and made them long and pretty.

Something I noticed about the wand was that it was "flimsy", I didn't like that because I wasn't used to it. I like a brush that I can push my lashes against without feeling like the brush won't do anything. I guess the brush it just "lightweight". Another thing is that the brush is never ever fully covered with the mascara, you can see the pink bristles. Another thing, the mascara gives you a natural look.

After like 3 weeks the mascara felt drier and it started to flake a lot more. The length of my lashes also dropped throughout the day making them look much shorter (Not a pretty look at all).

This mascara doesn't last as long as I like it to. Most mascaras for me last for about 6 months and then I'd have to toss it out but this one I have to toss out right now but I've had it for 3 months which isn't much.

I really hoped for this to give me beautiful lashes like it gave my friend. But I guess that's fine because I found better mascaras that I really love

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 36CHAMBERSAGAIN on 4/5/2014 6:26:00 PM more reviews by 36CHAMBERSAGAIN

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This mascara is just average to me, it works fine but isn't anything special. Beware if you have sensitive eyes though because this has a really strong floral scent and it irritated my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JustKara on 3/24/2014 6:55:00 PM more reviews by JustKara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I tried really hard to make this mascara work for me, but it was just a no go. I loved the maybelline falsies mascara, and I thought this would be similar... I was wrong. I have medium length lashes and they were not volumized or lengthened with this, but clumped together like crazy. Even after trying to apply it in different ways over a few weeks it did not work for me. I liked the idea of a mascara that defined every lash, but this does the opposite and clumps them all together. I will not be repurchasing this mascara and I am disappointed that I can't return it to my local Shoppers where I paid 12 dollars for it....not worth it at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BlueSuede on 3/13/2014 11:06:00 AM more reviews by BlueSuede

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara's terrible, terrible, TERRIBLE! Very wet and takes forever to wash off. I've thrown away the package with the ingredient list (and I'm about to toss the stupid mascara) so I don't know the exact ingredients on it and at this point I'm not even interested in looking them up online. BUT whatever they put in it reminds me of falsies adhesive glue ...just because the mascara refuses to wash off. Woudn't come off last night. I woke up this morning and still had a hard time washing them off. Tried using makeup remover and lost a few lashes in turn. I had a terrible experience with falsies late last year when I got them for the first time. They were painful and l lost all my lashes while trying to take them off. Couldn't go back to the salon where I got them, as it was far. To my surprisem my lashes grew back tremendously and even longer than before, so I'm pissed that I'm having a similiar experience because of one stupid mascara. If you're out there reading this, do not buy this piece of shit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PatentlyPink on 3/4/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by PatentlyPink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Took a bit of getting used to, but a great find. I have to wipe the wand down once with a tissue, but great for a natural look. Separated, nice volume without too much drama or clumps. A daily mascara that is easy to use and cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 t604c on 3/4/2014 12:55:00 AM more reviews by t604c

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This stuff SUCKS.

It was $5, so I thought I'd give it a try, but I could not find a single thing I liked about it. It flakes, it clumps like CRAZY (it's like super creamy wet formula, and the product is not even on the wand evenly, not to mention the huge glob of it on the tip of the wand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trillium13 on 2/27/2014 9:57:00 PM more reviews by trillium13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love trying out new mascaras but this is a favorite, and one that I always like to keep on hand. I prefer longer, more separated lashes to thicker ones, and this works great for me. I love the wand. The curve of it seems to fit my lashes nicely, and the shape makes it easy to get lower lashes too. I'm a big fan of this type of rubber bristled wand, as opposed to the more traditional bushy ones. This doesn't give a ton of volume, but it gives my lashes some length and separates them out nicely. It never flakes, clumps, or smudges. It seems to hold a curl decently for a non-waterproof formula. I don't notice any scent to it at all. If you're looking for a ton of volume and big huge lashes, you won't like this. If you want some length and a bit more of a natural look, I highly recommend. I've repurchased this several times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SanFranGirl on 2/24/2014 6:18:00 AM more reviews by SanFranGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of my random buys, because I liked the Falsies one - I thought of giving this one a go too.

You can disregard whatever it claims on the packaging, because it doesn't even live up to half of it!

The one I had had a very intense black color - which I enjoyed - but the brush was a mess. I managed to always hit myself with it in the eye and the mascara itself was flaking all over the face leaving nasty dark spots.

Plus this mascara was always smudging underneath my eyes which I found irritating!

Never ever will I come back to this one

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gato420 on 2/23/2014 2:34:00 PM more reviews by gato420

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i like this mascara a lot it separates my eyelashes and gives good volume but the scent of it is really powerful and overwhelming so i wont be repurchasing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BP8099 on 2/23/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by BP8099

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The formula was too wet and it didn't do much for my eyelashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products