Tom Ford • Pink Dusk • Lipstick

rated 4.2(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 5/15/2014 2:09:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Although I already owned a number of nice pinkey-brown-nude lipsticks at a much lower price point, I recently invested in Tom Ford's Pink Dusk. And yes, I do find $49 for a lipstick over the top expensive. The packaging is really gorgeous, heavy, high quality material, great design. I do agree that the shade can be duped for less money. The issue I often have with nude pinks is that either the coverage is good but then they are usually drying, or, when they feel creamy and comfortable, the coverage on my pigmented lips is subpar and they barely show up. What justifies Pink Dusk's crazy price tag is the fact that it covers my lips with one swipe and wears like a dream. It does not wash me out, and it has decent staying power. I also love the vanilla scent. So yes, definitely a splurge, but I do not regret the purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 citylady on 5/15/2014 12:29:00 PM more reviews by citylady

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So I succumbed to the blogs and other reviews. Paid a crazy amount of money for a nice lipstick. Yes, it's a nice lipstick. But it really is not worth $49. There are plenty of other high quality pretty lipsticks in pretty cases (Armani, Chanel) that are less than $49.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amygirl3540 on 5/13/2014 3:33:00 PM more reviews by amygirl3540

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, so I am going to have to partially agree with the last reviewer with the feeling of being "swindled." That being said, I think the packaging is luxurious. I think the color is really pretty. It's not a dry formula. I will say I have other lipsticks that perform much better and also worse than this. It does not last as long as I would like it. That's disappointing to me. It looks very pretty with the Tom Ford lip lacquer gloss on top and it seems to feel better, look better and last longer....that being said, you are making a huge investment for a decent lip look/feel if you need to layer those 2 products. These are NOT cheap. I picked this up at Selfridges in London and OUCH, what a splurge. So, I feel mixed and I probably would not repurchase, but it is a pretty color and a pretty package. I'll probably stick to Chanel Coco Rouge lippies, as they never disappoint me in wear, longevity, performance. *sigh*

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ifthe on 5/3/2014 6:58:00 PM more reviews by ifthe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I want to begin by saying that I really have nothing against Tom Ford. I would even say I'm a bit of a fan. After all, one of my all time favorite fragrances; Yves Saint Laurent's Nu was released during his time as Creative Director with the house. It will forever be a shock to me that Nu was such a commercial failure. It took guts to give the go ahead on that one. It also took guts to release a fragrance like Black Orchid during a time when fruity (and I do mean fruity!) florals were so obviously where the money was. And hey, I even liked A Single Man!
But this lipstick...no.
I don't own a single lipstick that doesn't out perform this in every level. That includes drugstore brands.
The color is nothing special at all. A peachy nude warm pink . I'm sure a dupe can be found in just about every cosmetics line out there.
The first thing I noticed was the lack of pigment. It takes a couple of swipes to get definite color on the lips and once you do it is patchy, uneven, and sinks right into the slightest, tiniest lines in the lips. Lasts a hot minute if you're lucky and not moisturizing in the least despite the fact that it feels like pork fat on the lips.
It crossed my mind that all the glowing reviews may have raised my expectations to an unattainable level, but honestly if given the choice between this or just about ANY drugstore lipstick, the only thing that would sway me is the packaging. And, frankly that's where I think the money was spent. It certainly wasn't spent on product formulation.
All the positive reviews are a puzzlement to me. Perhaps people don't like to admit when they've been swindled. I'm here to admit that I got swindled. Big time. I guess I should've known I'd be disappointed when most of the focus on the product was how the lid snapping shut sounds like "the door on a luxury car". Ridiculous.
Sometimes what's inside does count for something. At least with me.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 2/26/2014 3:33:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love that this shows up on my lips as it looks in the tube. My lips are fairly pigmented, which can effect how a lot of pale pinks or nudes appear on me. But this goes on fully opaque in one swipe without settling oddly or looking uneven. It feels so creamy and comfortable, no heavy or coated sensation. It lasts so long on me too, more so than the average lipstick. I don't know how it stays put so well without having a drier texture, but it just does.

I don't know what makes this color so fantastic but I love it. It just works with everything and manages to be that perfect, looked-for-it-forever type of pink. It's a beautiful light neutral pink, on the deeper end of the light range on my pale skin. It doesn't wash me out at all and the pink is so flattering and sophisticated. It has a fleshy, nude undertone rather than a white one so it doesn't look milky or bubblegum-ish. The finish has a subtle sheen that makes my lips look healthy and smooth. I like that it isn't an entirely matte finish, especially since paler colors tend not to work on me if they're matte.

I'm sure the color may not seem entirely unique to some, but given the quality and how well it wears I consider it well worth the splurge. I can throw this on anytime and know it looks just about perfect. I love the chic, heavy packaging too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Smintie on 7/12/2013 11:32:00 AM more reviews by Smintie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This lipstick is so lush. It is just a joy to apply. Goes on easily and feels like a treatment!! Looks good right out of the tube without any futzing. Pink Dusk is the absolute perfect nude for me. This is my go-to shade for every day. I am 43 years old and in all my life I have only EVER used up the entire tube of lipstick before tossing it out TWICE in my life. This is one. (The other was a discontinued Shu Uemura) I will be rebuying this as long as Tom Ford makes it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 baragon11 on 7/11/2013 1:08:00 PM more reviews by baragon11

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm so mad that I love this shade. It's my HG pink, perfect for work, and everyday wear. I used to go a lot darker, but as I've gotten older, I find a more subtle lip much more flattering. I hope this lasts for a long time, because it's ridiculously expensive, but worth the cost. Drat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathou on 6/10/2013 8:24:00 AM more reviews by Mathou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I´ve been looking for "The Perfect Nude" in many years now and I have to say this is it. Since I found her, Pink Dusk from Tom Ford, I stopped looking and I wear this almost on a daily basis. It is very "your lips but better" and the quality is just divine. So smooth, longlasting and the perfect amount of color.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hautemommy on 6/6/2013 9:51:00 AM more reviews by Hautemommy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I know so many people find products that are "similar" or create their own version of shades BUT there are some products that you just need to go ahead and pay for because you'll never recreate it. The is one of them. It is the perfect nude, long lasting, and the pigment does not wear off like with cheaper lipsticks. It is pricey but you definitely will get your money's worth.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 notevangelista on 4/16/2013 11:09:00 AM more reviews by notevangelista

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If there was one item I would buy and use for the rest of my life, it would be Tom Ford's Pink Dusk lipstick. This is a beautiful, natural nude that is an absolute classic, and is the perfect foil for any dramatic eye make-up look or even a simple, everyday 'no make-up make-up look'. It is moisturizing, hydrating and has a gorgeous colour pay-off. It isn't too matte, and it isn't too shiny, it falls perfectly in the middle. As a colour, it is a great neutral that doesn't show up too chalky or too dark on my lips.

For me, this is the perfect lipstick in the perfect colour, and I could just get by with this lipstick alone in my collection.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Lipstick products