Shea Moisture • Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque • Hair Treatments

rated 3.8(83 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 montinez on 12/17/2014 9:17:00 PM more reviews by montinez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I cut my hair to my chin June 2014 to start fresh and grow healthy hair. It's now December 2014 and my hair has grown a little past my collar bones. I've had 1 trim within these 6 months, all I had to cut was a quarter inch (that's all I needed trimmed in 6 months!) I give this hair masque 90% of the credit for the growth and current health of my hair. The other 10% of the credit goes to eliminating heat and finger combining my hair or using a wide tooth comb instead of a brush. Mexican American with dark, straight/wavy hair (just to let you know my hair type) I use it once a week on days where I'm not going out because it is very heavy and makes my hair oily a day after washing. The only con I can think of is the smell, to me it smells like those little white powdered donuts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liviiflutelouu on 11/12/2014 8:05:00 PM more reviews by liviiflutelouu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have many Shea Moisture products that I absolutely love, but this is not one of them. I used up the whole tub, but did not notice anything particularly special about it. I really love the matching shampoo to this product, and think it actually makes my hair softer than this masque.

The mask is thick in texture, yellow, and smelled just o.k. I noticed when I applied it to my hair in the shower, it felt like it disappeared almost. Although the texture looks thick, it didn't feel that way once applied. Also, I could not brush through my hair after applying this. I usually apply a deep conditioner, and then comb through it in the shower and let it sit - then wash it out. This masque just would NOT detangle my hair, and I could not comb through it. I had the same issue once I got out of the shower. Because of that, I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 idmanm on 10/18/2014 2:16:00 PM more reviews by idmanm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This was just an ok hair mask. It left my hair some what moisturized but it wasn't anything a regular conditioner couldn't do. I've tried using this in combination with other oils and using it overnight to see if I would get better results. For the price I would definitely not repurchase again. And so the search for a HG deep conditioner continues...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michellerodgerscts on 10/7/2014 12:18:00 PM more reviews by michellerodgerscts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I give this product a B. I find that when I use it as a moisturizer for protective styles (namely buns) in conjunction with oils it conditions my hair, and mixed in with creamier conditioners as a deep conditioner it works really well...but alone...I agree with the masses, it is pretty blah. I like to mix this conditioner with Aussie Moist or Pantene's new deep conditioner (I cannot remember the name)...I mix the two and apply all over my head, add some coconut oil, and sit under the drier for 20 to 30 minutes. I think because this product has a large amount of natural shea butter it can weigh down the hair and make it dull...but with a more slippery conditioner I feel like it breaks up that "build up factor" and penetrates the hair and still rinses clean. I hope this helps someone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ColdFire on 10/7/2014 11:26:00 AM more reviews by ColdFire

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'll admit I only tried this once, but it was so horrible that I didn't want to even bother with it again.
I've started embracing my natural curls rather than fighting with a straightener every morning, which means I use more conditioner than I'm used to and was in search of a hair mask as a weekly treatment. I love the ingredients in this mask and the smell, but it coated my hair and made it weirdly stringy and weighed down. My hair felt horrible and barely curled at all, though I made sure to rinse out all of the product.
The only reason this is getting a 2 instead of a 1 is that I suspect my hair is too fine for this to be an effective treatment. The ingredients are great and it smells wonderful, is a good price, but just not for me at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashpash44 on 9/17/2014 11:13:00 AM more reviews by ashpash44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Won't buy again I finally finished. I have 4a curls/ringlets and it kind of just felt like it sat on my hair but I mixed some extra virgin Olive oil it made it work a little better but sadly I'm still on the hunt for a good deep conditioner :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ASH1337 on 8/8/2014 2:49:00 PM more reviews by ASH1337

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This masque is just okay. I didn't find it to be particularly moisturizing, and what moisture it does provide, doesn't last very long. I shampoo and leave this product in for 30-60 minutes under a shower cap. I almost can't tell that I used a mask, as opposed to regular conditioning in the shower, except for the strong shea butter smell. I will continue to use this mask, but will probably not repurchase. I find the coconut hibiscus conditioner much more effective and moisturizing than this mask!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashlyndmarie on 7/26/2014 8:47:00 AM more reviews by ashlyndmarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

No matter how many different ways I used this product (with heat, without heat, as a leave in, as a deep conditioner), my hair remained blah. As a leave in it left my hair weighed down and lifeless. As a deep conditioner it just left my curls "ok". Actually, less than ok. It was hard to get a comb through my curls after rinsing out. I haven't tried adding olive oil to it. If I ever give this product another change, I will see how it works with olive oil or coconut oil. I don't have high hopes though. The other shea moisture masques work excellent for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 7/23/2014 10:51:00 AM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I loved the ingredients of this, but this ended up being a big HECK NO for my hair. Instead of adding moisture, it stripped my hair of what moisture it had left remaining and left me with dry, brittle, unmanageable hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 adavi0140 on 7/23/2014 10:42:00 AM more reviews by adavi0140

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A big "meh" from me. Got it for about 10 USD at Sally's. It has no slip, even on wet hair, and as such left my hair a tangly mess. One thing I will say is that I love the scent of it and other Shea Moisture products. Very soft and herbal. It left my hair soft and shiny, even after clarifying, but it was very tangled and my curls were just, again "meh". It felt no more hydrating or amazing than a regular conditioner. I wouldn't recommend except *maybe* to someone with oilier hair who doesn't need as much hydration, even from a masque

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shea Moisture products

More Hair Treatments products