Shea Moisture • Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque • Hair Treatments

rated 3.9(75 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 7/23/2014 10:51:00 AM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I loved the ingredients of this, but this ended up being a big HECK NO for my hair. Instead of adding moisture, it stripped my hair of what moisture it had left remaining and left me with dry, brittle, unmanageable hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 adavi0140 on 7/23/2014 10:42:00 AM more reviews by adavi0140

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A big "meh" from me. Got it for about 10 USD at Sally's. It has no slip, even on wet hair, and as such left my hair a tangly mess. One thing I will say is that I love the scent of it and other Shea Moisture products. Very soft and herbal. It left my hair soft and shiny, even after clarifying, but it was very tangled and my curls were just, again "meh". It felt no more hydrating or amazing than a regular conditioner. I wouldn't recommend except *maybe* to someone with oilier hair who doesn't need as much hydration, even from a masque

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rebecca753 on 5/24/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by Rebecca753

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this for afterwards when I needed to strip color out of my hair, and it worked wonders. You would never have known that my hair had just been so damaged. I put this on and cover it with a shower cap and leave it on for 30-60 minutes and it makes my hair feel so strong and resilient. It seems greasy in the jar, but vanishes into the hair, and smells so nice! I use this once a week and after I color my hair and it is in great condition even though I've been putting in blonde highlights for summer. I will definitely repurchase, and I've been gushing about this brand to anyone who will listen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 perfumefiend on 5/20/2014 1:53:00 AM more reviews by perfumefiend

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this with the matching shampoo for about a month now. It is very moisturizing and leaves my ends feeling nice. I actually use this before I shampoo my hair while my hair is still dry. I then wash it out. Do not expect this product to feel super smooth or soft on your hair when you apply it either wet or dry. It has natural ingredients for the most part and does not give an artificial softness when applied. It feels soft when rinsed and does not weigh down at all.
I would purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkmouse09 on 4/21/2014 3:57:00 PM more reviews by pinkmouse09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My favorite DC. I'm biracial with 3b curls and this masque really helps me to regain moisture and strength. I sometimes highlight and flat iron and this product has continued to improve the health of my hair. I love the 100% natural and fair trade ingredients. At first I did not like this product, but when I comb with through and put it in 4 twists, it works a lot better. I also use this product for twist outs because it's so thick and helps the twist to hold in place during the drying process. Shea Moisture is my favorite company. Everyone needs to try at least once

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CG1981 on 4/21/2014 12:03:00 AM more reviews by CG1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This really didn't work for me at all. I have thick, long Middle Eastern hair, i blow dry and flat iron it regularly and always look for a good deep treatment. This makes my hair feel dry after i use it.
Maybe because it doesnt have the cones to get that immediate feels-better feeling, but regardless even when im styling it after using this my hair doesn't feel good. My go too which i buy over and over is L'oreal Nature's Therapy line (yellow and green tub) Mega Moisture (available at sallys)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alisonst on 4/14/2014 3:36:00 PM more reviews by alisonst

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like this brand a lot and my hair usually loves shea butter so I was really hoping I would be crazy about this product but I'm not.
The good is that is smells good and the packaging is logical and pretty. It's also made with really great ingredients, like the rest of this line.

The bad is that it is pretty expensive and hard to get in Canada, and that I find it really weighs down my hair and leaves heavy residue even after a thourough rinse. I like to do a treatment and then just rinse it out but with this I have to shampoo afterwards which I always feels like takes a bit out of the benefits of the masque. I also don't usually see any really awesome benefits, it just doens't stand out in any (good) way from any other masque I've tried. It's not so bad that I'm not going to finish the tub but after this I'll stick to my current favourite masque, the l'oreal eversleek masque, and I won't be repurchasing this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 3/31/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a fine, bleached blonde pixie that is always in need of moisture & TLC. I washed w a SLS shampoo to clarify and slathered this on towel dryed hair mixed w EVOO as suggested. I slept in it w a shower cap. Wow! My hair was like butta in the am. I didn't shampoo I just rinsed. I can't talk for the 'no-slip' properties as I have no hair to comb out, but for now I love it. Compared to my 'it's a 10' it's so much cheaper and has no cones. I love the all natural ingredients. Wil def repurchase! Try it overnight mixed w the olive oil, your strands will thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TayGraham on 2/24/2014 12:26:00 AM more reviews by TayGraham

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product moisturized my hair so well. It made it look healthier after one use. The only thing I dislike is the tub. I hate having to dip my fingers in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautynewbielbc on 2/20/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by beautynewbielbc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really am on the fence about this product. The Pros are it really does moisturize my hair and once my hair dries, it is so soft! The ingredients are so natural and earthy which is awesome! The major con would be it really didn't have any slip. I try not to comb my hair untill after I have had it wrapped up in a turbie towel for awhile anyway, but I still had a much more challenging time detangling my hair. I am contemplating using my regular conditioner after this just for the detangling. The other con for me was the smell, it's a little musky IMO. Overall, I do really get good moisture from this product and will continue to use this, especially after clarifying my hair. I think I will look at some of the other products from this brand as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shea Moisture products

More Hair Treatments products