Kenneth Cole • New York Women's EDP • Fragrances

rated 3.0(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/17/2013 8:04:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I received this in a swap, and I am so glad that I didn't go out and purchase this. This fragrance is immediately masculine to me, which as a girly girl really puts me off. I wasn't sure whether it is actually the men's version or if it really is the women's version but that it just smells strong. Reading the other reviews here makes me think that it really is the women's version that I have as I can recognize some of the notes mentioned by other reviewers. It is a woody, spicy oriental fragrance with a hint of leather that I can detect. It is very different from the more commercial floral fruity women's fragrances, but it is different in a way that I really do not like. The strength of it is overpowering, and even when worn with a light hand this is very strong.

After wearing this for a couple of hours, the fragrance does soften to something a little more feminine and sweet, but I find it particularly unbearable at first. I had the same trouble with Ghost's Deep Night. The brown bottle is also rather masculine looking, but I do like this! I will not purchase this fragrance, and will throw away the rest of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EBH613 on 2/21/2012 4:37:00 PM more reviews by EBH613

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this perfume, it is my number one favorite of all time. It is amazing! 'Exotic woods, spices and florals combine with citrus in this enticing fragrance.' as noted at Fragrance.Net.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CecileCecile on 2/20/2010 11:05:00 AM more reviews by CecileCecile

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I found a full but unboxed and unpriced bottle of Kenneth Cole New York on a last-chance clearance shelf at Winners today amongst all the other opened, damaged and misfit items. I gave my hand a hearty spritz, remembering it was an oriental that at least seemed to be worth trying. And it is - it is a sweet, spicy and mature fragrance that definitely does not smell cheap at all. Freshly applied it seemed quite promising, but as it continued to bloom it became less and less like a fragrance that I could carry off well - the spicy aspect, which I usually like in scents of this type, was actually what ruined it for me. I probably could have had the bottle for next-to-nothing, but when a scent is less than pleasing, it isn't even worth getting for free. No sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 9154mf on 1/10/2010 5:17:00 AM more reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I smell a sickening cinnamon-fruit mix that almost gives an off sensation. I dont know if ill even finish my sample. Its so strong and yuk. I have tried my sample several times, I dont know why but some days its the disgusting mix I describe above, and other days its not so bad, still not purchase-worthy, but a nice spiced fruit mix. What gives?? Maybe this is just not blended very well, so that must be why it keeps reacting differently each time I wear it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makeuploca on 5/1/2009 12:53:00 AM more reviews by makeuploca

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My mom brought me this perfume a few years back and I had nothing else to wear, so I figured "Let's give this a try".Bad Idea.Bad Idea.Did I say "BAD IDEA". This perfume gave me a bad headache and smelled very masculine(not nice masculine like some Burberry's and Armani colonges,but overbearing "I AM HERE" cologne). Seriously(not trying to exaggerate)this cologne gives me a headache just thinking about it. Maybe it meshed badly with my skin but I was completely ill wearing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 1/7/2009 10:58:00 AM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not sure why this scent gets so many negative reviews, as I quite enjoyed sampling it (in the form of shower gel and body lotion). OK, it's not a masterpiece, not at all complex. Perhaps some are turned off by the leather note (albeit very light), or perhaps this is out-done by many other spicy mandarin orange scents which are more popular (Coco Mlle, Prada, and Cacharel's new Liberte have orange with spicy patchouli, and Theorema is an orange spice scent that's much-loved on the Fragrance Board). But it's well-rounded, warm, neither too sweet nor too spicy, and very tasteful (a fine "office scent," as has been said, is that the "kiss of death" for some scents?). The fragrance lasts all day and then some, and smells expensive. The shower gel shows off the mandarin note most (sweetened and deepened by blackcurrant), and in the body lotion I could smell all the listed notes as the scent evolved over the course of the day. The jasmine did have just a hint of indoles (the barnyard smell), which I have learned to like, and while I don't know what mahogany smells like exactly, there's a nice, subtle wood note. I'd repurchase (at a discount). Worth trying if you want an easy-to-wear oriental scent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 robertryan on 4/30/2008 9:23:00 PM more reviews by robertryan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot believe I had never smelled this one until this past week!!

A female coworker breezed by me on Monday morning and all of a sudden, the most delicious scent came wafting towards me - spicy, woody with just a hint of floral and vanilla - I chased after her into the coffee room to find out the name of the scent, she told me & informed me she had picked it up over the weekend at Marshall's for $9.99 - I ran over there after work and picked one up for myself, and haven't stopped spritzing since!! I absolutely love it - I find it very sexy modern urban chic and I find the negative reviews here for it quite puzzling - oh well, to each his (or her!) own!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 4/24/2008 1:03:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Mandarin with spices. Reminds me a whole lot of Hanae Morai. Some citrus, gentle spices a faint clean musk and some white flower. It's actually quite feminine on me, but I've never been a huge fan of citrus and musk together. Just don't care for the combo. (The Men's version is muuuuccchhh better.) However, after scrubbing this off, it smells just gorgeous. Still, seems like a lot of effort. I'll pass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 suelll on 10/5/2007 10:05:00 AM more reviews by suelll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I received a generous sample of this in a swap recently and I wore it today to work. I usually don't mind the more generic/ synthetic departmental store 21st century type of perfumes because some are pretty good smelling but this one just gives me headaches and I am not fond of it. Before lunch time was even near I wanted very much to go home and wash it off my clothes which was where I applied it on. No idea what the bottle looks like and I don't care to know either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess_eab on 11/24/2006 2:24:00 AM more reviews by princess_eab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the fragrance that taught me that I'm not an oriental wearer. Chypre or oriental floral is best on me, but this literally made me smell like a man. It made me feel masculine as well. It stood out in its brown bottle among my collection of pink-bottled perfumes. I wore this in the colder months, and I can strongly recall a heavy, synthetic musky wood smell on all of my clothes. I finished the bottle, but between the plastic packaging and the feeling that I was just not myself, I hated every minute of it. Not sure why I bought this in the first place.... but this is not for girly girls or women who use perfume to enhance their femininity. To give you an idea of how off I was, my current signature scent is Givenchy Very Irresistible!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kenneth Cole products

More Fragrances products