Shiseido • Nourishing Mascara Base • Mascara

rated 4.3(102 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 gloomyle on 3/22/2014 5:26:00 PM more reviews by gloomyle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for over 9 years, yes really! Iíve tried them all, and would always run back to this Shiseido one. It goes to show if itís not broke then donít try and fix it.

This mascara helps make crap mascara look a million times better; it holds curls all day and night until youíre ready to remove your make up. It adds some fibres to thicken lashes; itís just too wonderful.

I found over the years the formula seems to have change ever so slightly, the packaging has improved.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gwiyomi on 2/26/2014 11:35:00 PM more reviews by Gwiyomi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been through two tubes of this, finishing up my third now. I have no issues with my lashes holding a curl, or smudgy mascaras. But I love the length this product gives my lashes! I would use 3 coats of my regular mascara to achieve the length I desire, but one coat of this, and one coat of mascara and I am good to go. Totally worth the extra step, imo!

The only con of this product... It tends to make my mascaras flakey after awhile. Through out the day, I notice a few specks of mascara below my eyes. But they are very easy to swipe away with my finger, and do not disturb the rest of my makeup or smear.

I think I only have this issue when the product is at the end of it's lifespan, about 3 or so months, and is in need of replacing. I will keep repurchasing though, the length it gives is totally amazing and worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PatentlyPink on 2/22/2014 1:16:00 PM more reviews by PatentlyPink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have stick straight Asian lashes, not short oddly enough, that almost hang down. This product is amazing. One coat under any mascara and my lashes hold a nice curl all day long with the use of a lash curler. Minus a lippie because you need to cover it all(or it looks grayish and odd) and with my last 2 tubes, the formula looks a bit watery and performs ever so slightly not as well as in the past. Still very good and recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ocelot1 on 2/17/2014 12:40:00 AM more reviews by ocelot1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this since I don't use waterproof mascaras anymore but still needed something to hold the curl I made with my shi eyelash curler. Even though it held a curl, it leaves these weird fiber bead things on my lashes that clump up my mascara and i don't know what's in it but it makes my eyes itch like crazy. So sadly I could not use this for my eyelashes anymore. I use it to set my eyebrows and have to wipe the wand so it doesn't leave those weird flaky bead fibers

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HottSauce on 1/27/2014 4:39:00 AM more reviews by HottSauce

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I can finally give my over worked eyelash curler a break!!! I carry an eyelash curler always with me. I curl my lashes 2-3 times a day, after I already curled and put mascara on from the beginning. My Asian straight, pointed down lashes cannot hold a curl what so ever even with waterproof mascara and I tried everything. My lashes would droop back down. Until THIS. It gives length, volume, and curl holding abilities that last the whole day. I cannot imagine my lashes without it now. HG status. Will definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GacktCamui on 12/24/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by GacktCamui

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this on my Sephora shopping list for years and I finally decided to get it...and it's turning every mascara into the mascara of my dreams. My eyelashes don't hold a curl unless I'm using a waterproof mascara. All non-waterproof mascaras that claim to hold a curl fall flat on me. Why don't I just use waterproof mascaras? Because 1) they are so tough to remove, and 2) I don't need them for the waterproofing qualities. As much as I want and love curled lashes all the time, they are just not worth the effort and lash loss I will ultimately suffer.

But this...! This base holds a curl like a waterproof mascara but doesn't require intense or rough cleansing. I can take it off with any make up remover wipe and it doesn't make my lashes fall out.

I was using Maybelline Full n Soft waterproof as a curling base for other mascaras and even that, despite it's claim to be easy to remove, was still difficult for me. I would find at least 1 - 2 lashes on my make up wipes.

I did not know that they reformulated so I can't speak to that. But I can I am very impressed with the current formula.

It retails for $24 and I plan to repurchase for many years to come. My only regret is not purchasing sooner; I could've spent many more years in lash curl bliss!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 roor84 on 12/10/2013 3:52:00 PM more reviews by roor84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hate to bring ratings down but i have tried this for 2 weeks with different Mascara's and it just didnt do anything to my lashes! Compring it to the Dior Lash Maximizer, Dior wins biiiiiiig time. I exchanged mine for Dior.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sherry628 on 12/3/2013 10:46:00 AM more reviews by sherry628

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am totally into mascara primers because I will try anything to keep my dang curl! But from all the ones that I've tried, I always end up coming back to this one. Perhaps it's the lighweight gel consistency? It doesn't weigh my lashes down. It also dries rather quickly so depending on your mascara (wet or dry formula) you might have to change how quickly you apply your next coat. Shiseido did have a previous version, which worked just perfect for me, but I have no idea what else they've changed besides the packaging. I notice a difference, but nothing too drastic. I still love this to help my lashes get a little more volume and keep my curl.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 poohlisey on 11/20/2013 7:46:00 AM more reviews by poohlisey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the old formula and it was my HG. This new one is nothing like the old one. With the old one my mascara is smudge proof and lashes are curled all day. This one makes my mascara smudge like crazy so I would not repurchase. I'm going to try Anna Sui's next as I heard it's as good as the old one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lynne3 on 10/4/2013 11:49:00 AM more reviews by Lynne3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Wanted to try this because of the great reviews, even though PC doesn't agree. I absolutely love this product! Makes your mascara look thicker and your lashes look longer. Staying power is terrific. My eyes look as good by the evening as in the morning. Will not be without!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shiseido products

More Mascara products