Bourjois Volumizer Mascara

3.7

53 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/23/2015 3:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bourjois tell you to buy this mascara as no clumps guaranteed...I don't think so. The second wand is so thick and clumpy and you can see how gloopy the mascara is on the wand before even applying. At 10.99 this mascara is not cheap. Really disappointed with this. Don't understand what the first wand is meant to do.



on 2/21/2015 2:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I agree with most reviewers on here about the mascara clumping but what I now do is do step 1 with fine brush then do step 2 with thick brush ... Then go back with fine brush and which removes all the clumps. Works for me and my lashes look great.


on 12/17/2014 12:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

An office-mate of mine told me this product only because I asked her if she has heard or tried out any Bourjois products, but not like cause she was super overly fond of it that she got so excited and introduced me to it. So anyway, I decided to try it out and see if her review of the product was accurate as she stated.

So apparently this mascara is a two step sort of thing. The first step is to apply it with a thinner brush followed by a thicker brush and 'apparently' is supposedly CLUMP-FREE. HA. HA. HA. I honestly can't tell what they meant by 'clump-free' cause just by looking at the second step brush (the thicker step) the brush itself looked clumped and clustered all over. And just after putting them on my short eye lashes, IT CLUMPED!! Woohoo *rolls eyes*. In fact, I had to use my eyebrow brush to like scrape off the clumps from my eyelids.

It is not the sort of product I would buy again. And I can't really say if it is worth the price cause I didn't check to see how much I spent on it.

The only thing I benefited out of this product was the annoying haggling Bourjois lady who recommended me to also buy the Mega Liner eye liner as well which I bought just to shut her up and man, now THAT was worth buying.


on 6/20/2014 7:42:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The concept of having '2 in 1' was good, but did not live up to its claims of being a "volumizer". The first step was not too bad, did a bit of lengthening and didn't clump, but didn't provide much volume. Then the second step gave it a little bit of volume but not much.
Overall, an okay mascara, but not something I would repurchase. Compared to my Maybelline The Colossal mascara, this does not live up to my holy grail.


on 2/18/2014 3:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a strange two-stage, two-wand mascara which involves first preparing and building the lashes with the first wand and then applying a coat of mascara over the top with the second wand.

It sounds like a nice idea but the two stages do not work well together due to the fact that the first wand does not really build the lashes and the second wand is so thick and clumpy that it wipes out any subtlety the first stage may have offered.

I have been using this product for about a month now. I have stopped using the first wand because it is meaningless but I have been using the second wand because I don't like to waste makeup.

This is the clumpiest mascara I have ever used. I need to run my fingers over my lashes once I have finished applying this to remove excess product.

I will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2014 7:55:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Green

I dislike this mascara a lot. It's very clumpy no matter how I apply it and the brush is not well designed. It dried out fast and I chucked after a few weeks when I finally realised it was never going to improve.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2013 5:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This mascara is seriously one of the best i have tried! It gives great volume and also lengthens my lashes as well, which i rarely find in a mascara! Although i have tried many other types of mascara i always find myself coming back to this one after i have used a different one up! The colour is a very dark bold black on the lashes which i love. I apply it in the morning at about 7.45 and at 5pm when i'm home from work my lashes still look great with absolutely no touch ups, even when i return home from the gym later in the evening my lashes still have a some volume left in them! The only downside with it is that it dries out very very quickly, but i would still repurchase this again and again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2013 4:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I personally liked the mascara for the first 3 weeks and once it started to dry out, I found myself choosing another mascara over it. It is ok but it is not great, it gets too clumpy and it smells like plastic. Overall, I gave the product 4 out 5 stars because it does give you the choice of two different sized wands along with great colour range of mascara... They have it in brown, black and blue. The only mascara I have tried is the black one but I am sure the brown and blue ones are just as good! Although I don't like the mascara on my eyelashes, it does look beautiful on other people, hence the 4 star review! Buy it guys... It is worth trying out because of you end up liking it, you will really love it!


on 9/4/2013 5:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Now it's very rare I come across a mascara I like, I have tried so many over the years and always end up going back to my HG mascara Max Factor - 2000 Calorie but I think I may start to love this one. First off you start with a reasonable slim brush which allows you to build up clump free lashes and extend them and the second brush them bumps up the volume. I do find the second brush can cause a few clumps here and there but once I've built up the volume I'd like them it's back to brush #1 to de-clump. Yes some people may see this as a time consuming product but I like the final effect. It seems to wear for a good few hours, I haven't had panda eyes with it yet (other than being naughty and not taking it off at bedtime) and it dries relatively fast and isn't really 'wet' which I hate in alot of mascaras. All in all Bourjois you have done well


on 8/18/2013 3:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this mascara. It comes with a 2 step application. the first step is to enhance the lashes the second to add volume. Having naturally long eyelashes I tend to look for volume mascaras and this does the trick. Although i skip step one and go for the second step. I apply 3 coats for extra volume and it doesn't make my lashes clumpy. I have rated this a 4 as i struggle to take it off and have to use twice as much eye makeup remover.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
424 Reviews
Roller Lash
105 Reviews
They're Real
2006 Reviews


Top Rated Bourjois Products

image

Ambre D'Or

28 reviews
Back to Top