E.L.F. • Studio Makeup Mist & Set Spray • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 3.7(332 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 princessmeowmeow on 12/20/2014 4:53:00 AM more reviews by princessmeowmeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Works well over a LIGHT amount of makeup - such as just foundation and a little dusting of setting powder. It starts slicking and distorting stronger pigmentation from blushes/bronzers/eyeshadows etc. Doesn't last for very long either, but while it does, it gives a nice clean glow to your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 preney on 12/12/2014 1:07:00 AM more reviews by preney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I can't stand the strong smell from this. $3 for a really tiny small bottle (60ml), I should say this is not a good deal at all. I would rather spend $15 to get a MAC which really does the job. I won't buy this again, but it does its cleaning job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 billie999 on 12/3/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by billie999

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Does not do anything. It smells kind of gross too. Honestly to me it seems like it's nothing but plain water in a bottle...there is nothing that it does to my skin that plain water being sprayed on me wouldn't do.

I usually love ELF products but not this. It was only 3 bucks so I'm not complaining. I bought this because it was supposedly a "dupe" to MAC fix plus...it is NOT. Of course, MAC'S fix spray is over 30 dollars and WAY too expensive for my liking...but it worked extremely well. It gave my skin a dewey texture that this stuff just does not. I can't even tell a difference when I put it on.

Will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 redaqua on 12/2/2014 10:35:00 PM more reviews by redaqua

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I use this daily to keep my powder make up from looking cakey. It's a great price and comparable to Mac setting spray.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 esotericsquirrel on 11/22/2014 9:22:00 PM more reviews by esotericsquirrel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It keeps things in place which is important. This is the first time I tried a setting spray. It's better than the powders. I could even reapply moisturizer or sunscreen without disturbing the underlying makeup - including rouge, concealer, foundation and eyeshadow. A lot of times, using a silicone primer causes these items to slide off more quickly but this is not the case with the spray.

Moreover, it transforms non-waterproof mascara (specifically, Nicka K Extreme Volume) into waterproofoid and prevents panda eyes. It has no smell, and doesn't feel sticky, but I'd be surprised if it didn't contain a hairspray-like polymer.

The first time I tried it, I used a heavy hand. But after a few days of using it, I found that even a spritz or two - so long as the entire face is within the spray area - works. I wouldn't trust this to keep my makeup on while swimming but under normal conditions it's a good idea to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 letsburnbridges on 11/14/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by letsburnbridges

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: Each pump of spray releases a decent amount of spray - not too much or too little. The scent is very fresh, which is always pleasant. The spray is not sticky at all, and doesn't make me oily or break out. This spray retails for $6 at my local Target, which is super affordable, especially compared to other setting sprays on the market. Even though the bottle appears on the smaller side, it definitely lasts you a while. Lastly, I do find that it holds my makeup better than when I haven't set my makeup with the spray.

CONS: If my mascara isn't completely dried by the time I spray my face, my mascara transfers under my eyes.

FINAL THOUGHTS: The product is very user-friendly both in functionality and accessibility. Just a small disclaimer: My makeup typically doesn't move around a lot to begin with, but I can still see the difference when I use the spray and when I don't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 10/28/2014 9:03:00 AM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Firstly, I feel that half the battle with setting sprays is the packaging/bottle/spray pump. You can have liquid gold in the bottle and if the pump isn't good, the product is basically useless. E.L.F. has their spray on point; the distribution of product is a perfect, fine mist. In fact, I have saved the empty bottle in case I purchase a spray that has a crappy bottle.
Secondly, I have only been using a setting spray on and off for about a year. I find the multiple uses confusing and feel like I'm not using them properly. Generally, I use them to set my face makeup or when I am completely done and want to get rid of whatever excess powder is on my face. I know many people use them as toners, prep, etc. Because I have oily skin to begin with, I am often afraid I'll end up with a dewy look only to find it looking like a greasy mess less than an hour later. But that's my battle and not the product's fault, obviously.
I did feel this helped evening out/setting my makeup and refreshing later on. It didn't irritate my skin and the scent is a barely noticeable fresh scent. Definitely a repurchase for me!
Considering this bottle is only $3, there's no way you could go wrong. If you hate it that much, you could always just use it as a makeshift Fix+!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ashleyjune10 on 10/19/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by Ashleyjune10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This will have a permanent spot in my makeup bag! First off I have night mareish oily skin. I watch a makeup tutorial where the girl sprayed this on before she used her primer. It very much helped with the absorption of oil. You let it dry completely and then proceed with your normal face routine. afterwards, spray it and set your makeup. love this. thanks ELF

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elitegymnasticsxo on 10/12/2014 8:44:00 PM more reviews by elitegymnasticsxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this spray! I used the UD spray before I switched to this. Honestly, this is the same. It keeps my makeup in place. The reason I bought this is because, I don't like using powder. It gives my face makeup the powdery look and this gets rid of it. That is all for this review basically. It keeps my makeup in place, and it takes away the powdery look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mkeddie on 10/4/2014 10:35:00 AM more reviews by mkeddie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a fairly oily tzone and this didn't do much for me. Still had to blot my face a couple of hours later. Also after using this for a couple of days I got zits where I never get them, top of my cheeks and under my eye. Stopped using this and no more zits!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Misc Beauty Tools products