Aveda • Damage Remedy Daily Hair Repair • Hair

rated 3.8(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arpita1 on 1/3/2014 7:46:00 PM more reviews by Arpita1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good little conditioner for my fine hair. It does not weigh it down, but gives it some moisture. It is quite soft after using.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 7/20/2013 8:31:00 AM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

My hairstylist usually gives me great advice, but her recommendation for this product leaves me puzzled. I have semi-dry, shoulder-length hair that is very thick, wavy, and prone to tangles since I am not cutting it that often as it grows out. Moisturizing shampoo/conditioners and rich hair masks have helped, but I wanted an additional leave-in product to help reduce the tangles and strengthen my hair (which I do not heat style in any way). Unfortunately, this product does not appear to make any difference whatsoever, and I am nearing the end of the small but expensive tube. My search for an effective leave-in conditioning treatment continues, as I will definitely not be repurchasing this item.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katielotus on 6/14/2013 10:37:00 PM more reviews by katielotus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a hairdresser and I used to work in an aveda salon. This is the superstar of the product line. I used it on every single client! It works great in fine straight hair (it is very light) or in thick curly hair as a curl balm. It also has heat protection for thermal styling. Most aveda products are not worth the $$$, but this one is.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RaspberryRipple on 2/12/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by RaspberryRipple

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

I bought this along with the intensive masque...I'd gotten the samples and found them great initially.

But after awhile i just found it wasn't helping my hair AT ALL. It's full of silicones and did nothing for my hair in the long term. It's expensive for what you get, and I found myself using loads of it, but it never really felt like it was sinking in (that would be because my hair was still coated in all the silicones from the previous times i'd used it)
It's just not worth the money. I've since switched to the lush products and I'm finding them alot better. My hair is in way better condition and feels and looks so much healthier (again, i think this is down to the lush products being silicone free)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angiedairou on 12/3/2012 8:32:00 PM more reviews by angiedairou

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well, here's a tip. I didn't realize that this is a leave in product. I used it as a wash out conditioner and it worked GREAT. I have been looking for something since Aveda discontinued Curresence. If you have fine hair, it might work for you too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poetique on 10/7/2012 9:07:00 AM more reviews by poetique

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product works amazingly well at detangling my extremely knotty hair after shower, when it's still wet and I keep buying it for that purpose. It makes hair more manageable and unlike other products that I had tried, it doesn't seem to create any buildup. It also adds a bit of shine and moisture to the hair and like many Aveda products, has that pleasant, non synthetic smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hippiejessie on 8/15/2012 8:46:00 PM more reviews by Hippiejessie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Detangles, strengthens, + heat protects! I'm in love!! My hair is slow growing and by using this my hair has grown so much cause it stops the breakage. I'll use this stuff forever!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vanessa15 on 3/28/2012 7:23:00 PM more reviews by vanessa15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm using this as a sample right now, but it's won me over. I love how soft it leaves my hair (and hands!). I have wavy hair and i usually put a tiny amount in all my hair, then a curling creme or mousse. My hair looks amazing and healthy. When I run out of this, and if i have enough money lol, I'll definitely try and buy the full-sized product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 3/9/2012 12:16:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this line, but don't like it enough to spend money on it. I'm currently using samples of the shampoo, conditioner, and treatment from the Damage Remedy line after seeing an ad for it in Vogue. I like that it's barely scented (probably from the ingredients) and it has a thick gel-like texture. However, I don't believe that it can truly "repair" split ends - at most it probably strengthens your hair shaft to prevent future damage, and if that's what you're looking for, you'll probably get better results from eating better and taking vitamins or biotin. That said, there are other hair care items from other natural plant-derived lines that are more affordable and get the job done just as well as this Aveda line (EO, Avalon Organics to name a few - I also like Phyto, which is at about the same pricepoint as Aveda). Not to say that the Damage Remedy line isn't good, it's just that there are cheaper alternatives out there and I didn't find this to be particularly strengthening or repairing for my hair. For reference I have fine, slightly wavy, non-color treated hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crees on 1/29/2012 5:12:00 PM more reviews by crees

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I beat the crap out of my hair last summer with multiple bleachings. It was a ratty mess. My stylist suggested this, and man, it works! I would wash my hair at night, then put this in after towel drying, and then leave it on overnight. It restored it to something convincingly healthy, shiney, strong, and especially SOFT. What a surprise.

After it started looking so much better and I cut off a lot of the damage, I use this sparingly now, maybe once I week. I have curly hair, so to use this too often on healthy hair, as with any keratin/protein treatment, it will start to straighten you hair out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Hair products