Aveda • Damage Remedy Daily Hair Repair • Hair

rated 3.8(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 adiewp on 11/19/2014 11:22:00 PM more reviews by adiewp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for almost a year and it detangles my colour-treated Asian hair very easily. After about a year after I first started coloring my hair, my long hair knotted up every second, which was a new phenomenon for me. My natural state is fine, with a slight natural wave, and so fine that I could rarely put it in an up-do because it would fall out of its twist in 5 minutes. Colouring my hair made it more versatile for a year, but then it became too porous. I use it about halfway down to the ends on my long hair after shampooing and conditioning, comb through to detangle and leave it in, either to dry naturally or blow-dry. Because I only treat the ends I haven't had any problems with it affecting my oily roots.
On the odd day I don't wash my hair, I put it on the ends to help brush it in to a ponytail.
I'm a little worried about the reported build-up of silicone but haven't experienced that. My hair looks really shiny, healthy and falls nicely like a curtain(!) with this product. See my review of the shampoo - different story. I've also used jojoba oil (didn't work), Bumble and Bumble (sticky), also am trying a more natural product for comparison (John Masters Detangler) so will post a review of that in a week.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrMontyBurns on 9/27/2014 9:39:00 AM more reviews by MrMontyBurns

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'll admit, often when I use Aveda products it's not that they perform exceptionally for me; they just smell so good. This, however, is wonderful.

My previously very healthy hair had been feeling like straw for several months, despite no big change in products and not using any heat styling. After trying a dozen different things and ruling out health issues the best I could, I concluded that it was probably due to stress. At any rate, my stylist told me that of the line, this product was really the only one that made a difference. So I brought some home, thinking there was a good chance it'd end up with my stash of "just ok" treatments.

The first couple of times I used it, I didn't see any difference at all. However, after about the third try, something happened. Something wonderful. My hair began slowly but surely going back to its old self. By a couple of weeks, it feels great. Not greasy or coated, just much, much softer.

I'd really suggest being patient with this one and giving it a handful of tries, as it doesn't seem to be one that gives instant gratification. The results, though, are well worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arpita1 on 1/3/2014 7:46:00 PM more reviews by Arpita1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good little conditioner for my fine hair. It does not weigh it down, but gives it some moisture. It is quite soft after using.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 7/20/2013 8:31:00 AM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

My hairstylist usually gives me great advice, but her recommendation for this product leaves me puzzled. I have semi-dry, shoulder-length hair that is very thick, wavy, and prone to tangles since I am not cutting it that often as it grows out. Moisturizing shampoo/conditioners and rich hair masks have helped, but I wanted an additional leave-in product to help reduce the tangles and strengthen my hair (which I do not heat style in any way). Unfortunately, this product does not appear to make any difference whatsoever, and I am nearing the end of the small but expensive tube. My search for an effective leave-in conditioning treatment continues, as I will definitely not be repurchasing this item.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katielotus on 6/14/2013 10:37:00 PM more reviews by katielotus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a hairdresser and I used to work in an aveda salon. This is the superstar of the product line. I used it on every single client! It works great in fine straight hair (it is very light) or in thick curly hair as a curl balm. It also has heat protection for thermal styling. Most aveda products are not worth the $$$, but this one is.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RaspberryRipple on 2/12/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by RaspberryRipple

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

I bought this along with the intensive masque...I'd gotten the samples and found them great initially.

But after awhile i just found it wasn't helping my hair AT ALL. It's full of silicones and did nothing for my hair in the long term. It's expensive for what you get, and I found myself using loads of it, but it never really felt like it was sinking in (that would be because my hair was still coated in all the silicones from the previous times i'd used it)
It's just not worth the money. I've since switched to the lush products and I'm finding them alot better. My hair is in way better condition and feels and looks so much healthier (again, i think this is down to the lush products being silicone free)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angiedairou on 12/3/2012 8:32:00 PM more reviews by angiedairou

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well, here's a tip. I didn't realize that this is a leave in product. I used it as a wash out conditioner and it worked GREAT. I have been looking for something since Aveda discontinued Curresence. If you have fine hair, it might work for you too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poetique on 10/7/2012 9:07:00 AM more reviews by poetique

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product works amazingly well at detangling my extremely knotty hair after shower, when it's still wet and I keep buying it for that purpose. It makes hair more manageable and unlike other products that I had tried, it doesn't seem to create any buildup. It also adds a bit of shine and moisture to the hair and like many Aveda products, has that pleasant, non synthetic smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hippiejessie on 8/15/2012 8:46:00 PM more reviews by Hippiejessie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Detangles, strengthens, + heat protects! I'm in love!! My hair is slow growing and by using this my hair has grown so much cause it stops the breakage. I'll use this stuff forever!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vanessa15 on 3/28/2012 7:23:00 PM more reviews by vanessa15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm using this as a sample right now, but it's won me over. I love how soft it leaves my hair (and hands!). I have wavy hair and i usually put a tiny amount in all my hair, then a curling creme or mousse. My hair looks amazing and healthy. When I run out of this, and if i have enough money lol, I'll definitely try and buy the full-sized product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Hair products