Revlon • Top Speed Nail Enamel - Royal • Polishes

rated 3.3(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 12/17/2013 7:59:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh, such mixed feelings. I love, love, love the colour of this polish, which is a deep but vibrant cobolt blue. On the other hand, the formula is a right royal pain to work with, thin, streaky on the first coat, and with the typically scrawny Revlon brush. Two coats is pretty much opaque, although I found that in bright sunlight, the colour was notably uneven on several fingers, and the edges of the polish were considerably lighter than the rest (this, however, is almost certainly due to the jelly formula). Lovely colour in most situations and light, so long as you don't look too closely.

Removal was fine, not too messy, didn't stain my cuticles or my nails, but given how saturated this polish is, I took the precaution of using two layers of base coat just to be on the safe side.

I have trouble with blues sometimes, due to having quite pale, cool-toned skin with visible blue veins in my hands, but this was perfectly fine, and looked quite nice with my complexion. Very flattering, in fact.

At this time, I'm giving this polish three lippies for the gorgeous colour but the brush and the formula really kind of annoy me. I will undoubtedly wear this again, and when I do, I might revise this review (or I might not, depending on if my opinion changes). I can recommend this colour if you want a vibrant, royal blue jelly and you're prepared to work with the Revlon brush and runny formula, but I really advise only wearing this with a good basecoat, due to the very real possibility that it's going to stain (as so many deep blues do).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mochaholic on 3/19/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by mochaholic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love the color and love the brush. I was looking for a navy np, but saw this on clearance at CVS for 75%, so what the heck...close enough. This is a gorgeous pigmented royal blue and I needed 2 coats for even coverage. In my limited np experience, this is one of the best brushes I've used and I can get a pretty clean line along my cuticles which makes clean-up a lot easier. I was not bothered by the smell; just smells like nail polish to me. Formula itself is just okay. It's supposed to be a fast dry formula, but I find that just gets goopy if I work too slowly and it doesn't really completely dry any faster than other nail polishes. Since it's a deep blue, I would not wear this w/o a basecoat and risk stains. A topcoat is also a must b/c the finish is not very shiny and it seems to wear off much faster w/o a topcoat. With bc and tc, I almost have no chipping after 5 days and just tip-wear.
BC=Poshe, TC= Sally Hansen Insta-Dri

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JaneChemi on 1/25/2013 1:49:00 AM more reviews by JaneChemi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i haven't seen such a cool drugstore color in a very long time. got this for around 5 bucks at rite aid and i love it. it a very pigmented jelly. its VERY similar to rescue beauty lounge's ikb:2012 which has an 18 dollar price tag. i love this color for the price and will need a back up. no odd smell in my bottle or any staining. comes off nice and easy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lisune on 4/7/2012 9:57:00 AM more reviews by lisune

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:

This is the most gorgeous true royal blue jelly nail polish I have ever seen or found. I've searched high and low from china glaze to essie to OPI and haven't found anything close to the colour and finish of this polish.

I find that applying one medium to thick coat of this polish works best, applying two coats makes the colour come off a bit darker for my liking. One coat is a beautiful semi translucent electric blue.

Cons:
I'll be adding my complaint about the smell of this polish to the chorus of others already on here. Generally, I'm not one to care for the smell of products I use, but this one does have a more foul scent than other nail polishes in general - almost like a stinky manufacturing/factory smell. However, once it dries it's a non-issue. Although, I've found that it stinks up my bin when I've removed it with nail polish remover and a cotton pad more than other polishes. Again, I can look past that.

Also, like most of the other revlon top speed polishes, this one dries to a dull finish so you do have to use a top coat with it if you want the glossy effect. Again, not really an issue for me because I always use Poshe fast dry top coat on top of every manicure anyway.

Overall, gave it 4 lippies because despite the smell it's still a gorgeous polish and good value too.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lechickpea on 4/1/2012 10:14:00 PM more reviews by lechickpea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Boooo. I'm so sad I have to give this beautiful colour such a bad review. It really is gorgeous- a glowing, almost neon sapphire blue- incredibly unique. But it chips within the first day of wear, more than any polish I've ever tried. Worse than that- this STAINS YOUR NAILS LIKE CRAAAAAAZY. And the skin around it too! I have never seen anything like it, honestly. Thumbs down :(

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AllKillNoDrill on 3/11/2012 11:46:00 AM more reviews by AllKillNoDrill

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Beautiful juicy cobalt jelly. This is very unique for a drugstore color. Unlike others, my bottle had no noticeable smell, aside from the typical polish smell.

I wish the handle of the bottle (and all Revlons) was a little heavier. This would give me a little more control when working with a thinner formula like this one.

You will have VNL with 3 or less coats, but the effect is nice. This polish really glows from within. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissNoirNoir on 8/10/2011 2:09:00 AM more reviews by MissNoirNoir

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

The good: I don't have another colour similar in my collection. It is what the name says : a deep royal blue. On my nails, the colour matches what is in the bottle which is always a good sign in my books ^_^ It is also fast drying which is a good characteristic to have with any nail polish if you need to paint your nails in a hurry. Colour pay-off is great if applied correctly and with a good extending wear top coat, the colour will last.

The bad: Like black, this is one colour that shows if you've made mistakes in relation to how well you've applied it. Because the polish has a very wet consistency, it is also important to make sure you don't have too much product on the brush otherwise you'll make a mess. Agreeing with other posters, the smell is rather.. potent in comparison to my other polishes.

Picture: Above is my nails after a week of wearing Royal. The tips have started to wear (I am a uni student so that means heaps of typing haha) but I'm rather content with how the colour has stayed. Under Royal, I have my favourite nail hardener Herôme nail hardener extra strong and on top of Royal I have Sally Hansen Mega Shine extend wear top coat.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 8/7/2011 4:32:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

5 lippies for the color, and 3 for the formula. This is my first Revlon Top Speed nail polish. I, like most of the other reviewers, was drawn in by the stunning cobalt blue color, and it looks the same on the nail as it does in the bottle. However, as many have said the formula leaves something to be desired. Although I did not have any initial application problems (the color went on smoothly, dried quickly, was shiny and opaque in 2 coats) I started to get some minor tip wear after the first 24 hours. And that's with a base coat, a glitter top coat and a regular top coat. I have been wearing it for about 3 days now and have a feeling it would have chipped more noticibly without the other layers to protect it. But the color is absolutely stunning, and I like the brush and bottle as well. I might try another Top Speed nail polish in the future, but will keep in mind that it is not a long wearing nail polish by any means. A base and top coat are a must with this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 777designz on 7/18/2011 5:34:00 PM more reviews by 777designz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

I love the color and the formula, but oh my goodness, that smell! It's like skunks and old cigarettes had a baby! It's really hard to get past the smell. As far as the formula it goes on thick and smooth, like a thicker version of the OPI Sorbets. At one coat it still looks somewhat jelly-like on the nail and like the bottle color but I couldn't get it to go on even enough in a single coat. At 2 coats it looks much darker than the bottle and is completely opaque, losing that lovely jelly quality I wanted. If you're looking for a deep navy polish you will love it. However if you're expecting a jelly you probably will be disappointed unless you add some clear to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gracie114 on 6/19/2011 6:10:00 PM more reviews by gracie114

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this jelly polish, but it was kind of a pain to work with. It was thick and stinky. A top coat is definitely needed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Polishes products