Alterna • Caviar Anti-Aging Moisture Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.9(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 12/7/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent moisturizing conditioner, but very pricey. $32 for a 8.5oz bottle, which is a smidge cheaper than Philip Kingsley's Moisture Extreme and way more expensive than Joico's Moisture Recovery. I wish this didn't cost so much because I love the results. This conditioner leaves my hair super-smooth, silky, manageable, everything that I want. This is a top-notch conditioner and my dry, thirsty hair just drinks it up. My only complaint is that it doesn't provide quite as much slip as I would like. This and the pricetag are what make this conditioner fall short of HG status.
I'd buy this again but only with some type of discount. This is sold at both Sephora and Ulta, and it's something I would pick up during a sale or if I had a coupon. In the meantime I'm going to stick with Joico MR, not only is it my HG but it's also much more affordable.
But if you don't mind spending the money, I recommend this product very highly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theresececilia on 11/11/2014 3:23:00 PM more reviews by theresececilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My Favorite conditioner! The perfect shampoo!
For my nordic, highlighted, long fine, blonde hair this conditioner (and the shampoo) is perfection. I really like how my hair gets soft and touchable, but not heavy - like many moisturing conditioners can make it feel. It also keeps soft for some days. The price is high, but a bottle lasts very long because you only need a very small quantity every time. I like the packaging. It stands upsidedown so you donīt have to shake the fluid out. I some times take a small amount after rinsing and leave in on the ends. Higly recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emem054 on 8/30/2014 10:16:00 PM more reviews by emem054

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Shampoo and Conditioner. Just for a quick background, I have dry, damaged hair that's going through texture change due to pregnancy (yay!). I got a deluxe sample of this set at Sephora and I loved using it! Every time I used it, my hair was faster drying, softer, and shinier. It also had a bit more body without drying my scalp too much. I felt the scent was not overpowering, but pleasant. I think the only downside to this set is the price. I am going to purchase the set the next time I run out of shampoo and conditioner, and I think the real test is if I am willing to buy it again after that! But, for now, this makes my damaged, unruly pregnancy hair tame and soft!

Pros:
+ Paraben, Pthalate, and Sulfate free (plus some others I cannot remember)
+ Makes my hair soft and manageable
+ Smells nice

Cons:
- High price

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilShowas123 on 6/14/2014 9:28:00 PM more reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Have loved this for years. I alternate between this and a diff volumizing conditioner because it can be heavy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mrright1 on 5/10/2014 1:06:00 AM more reviews by Mrright1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

No nice way to say it ladies.......garbage. Very glad Sephora had a $8.00 sample size. Did not detangle, soften, or improve my hair in anyway. Left it dry and lifeless. Just my experience.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suggrr on 4/2/2014 12:07:00 AM more reviews by suggrr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The full title on my small 1.35 fl oz/40 ml bottle says "Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Conditioner." This conditioner claims to nourish and restore dry hair. Now maybe I'm a slack-jawed yokel, but I don't think it does anything to improve the condition of my hair. What does it do? It gives you the most amazing, soft hair. You will want to touch it all day and swish your hair around, imagining everyone staring at you with intense hair envy. You'll daydream about yourself stepping out of a taxi in New York City, purposefully swinging your hair over one shoulder, striding forward with purpose, getting things done while having great hair. Unfortunately I think this conditioner achieves it's greatness at least in part from four- and possibly more- silicones. That includes my dreaded arch nemesis cyclopentasiloxane, which gives me body acne when found in conditioner. I'll regretfully have to settle for a dry, tangled rat's nest of hair, blearily tumbling out of my car towards Target in search of milk and infant gas drops.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 3/25/2014 2:19:00 AM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the travel size since it came highly recommended on the hair board. You seriously only need to use a little bit as this stuff is creamy and emollient. It has the same lemony generic scent as the shampoo. I found it very moisturizing but if you use too much your hair may become greasy feeling and weighed down. It is also protein based (rice protein in particular) so if you are sensitive, beware. My hair has been loving it but I can't use it daily since I like to rotate between moisturizing products and protein treatments. It costs about 11 dolars for the travel size at Ulta which is pretty good considering this conditioner is very pricey and I wanted to make sure that I liked it before committing to a bigger bottle. It leaves my hair glossy with less frizz after it air-dries and makes detangling very easy. My comb glided right though without running into any knots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ekym on 3/16/2014 3:13:00 PM more reviews by ekym

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was very interested to try this conditioner and thankfully was able to get the travel-size bottle. My hair is naturally curly, dense, thick, coarse and very long (mid-back), my ends are dry but my scalp is oily. This conditioner is surprisingly light, not thick and heavy like most moisturizing conditioners. It spread easily through my hair so I only needed a blob about the size of a silver dollar. So even though itís expensive, a little goes a long way. The best part is that it makes my hair incredibly soft but does not weight down my curls. Although not specifically designed for curly hair (though I never seem to like conditioners made for curly hair), this calms frizz and defines my curls. The fragrance is a clean, light citrus scent that dissipates quickly. The cap of the full-size bottle is odd, you twist, upend, and then squeeze. Thankfully, itís a spill-proof cap, but it does require two hands; and the bottle itself is very skinny and so I can squeeze it one-handed. Still, I love this conditioner and will continue to buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 terev on 11/17/2013 2:00:00 AM more reviews by terev

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have A LOT of thick, lush, waist length, healthy, naturally curly hair, which I blow dry straight. This shampoo (and conditioner) left my hair feeling like rope! When I was washing it off I could feel my roots and every other part (as the lather was being rinsed away) turn harder and more rough! I had to use all of the 1.35oz trial sized conditioner just to be able to comb it (with a wide toothed comb, in the shower, with conditioner on) as I usually do. I hated it!! Terrible!! The conditioner isn't strong enough to combat the effects of the terrible shampoo (of the same line). If I was to use this it would ruin my hair. I'm posting a pic of what my hair usually looks like, not how it came out the day I used this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andio on 10/31/2013 7:19:00 PM more reviews by Andio

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product is simply the best. I have tried almost every organic, drugstore, department store and salon product out there. This paired with the shampoo is just awesome. It actually transformed my hair. My hair was so dry. I abuse it. Highlight, lowlight, hair dryer, straightening iron....curling iron ect. I have naturally curly hair that is thick but fine. I tried this on advice from a Sephora rep and did not think it would deliver results. I have tried all of their other shampoos and conditioner and did not think that they lived up to the price or the hype. This however was FABULOUS. I highly recommend you give this a try if you have dry hair. It is just that good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alterna products

More Conditioner products