Laura Mercier • Foundation Primer-Mineral • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.5(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleRussianDoll on 12/6/2013 1:31:00 PM more reviews by LittleRussianDoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried a couple of primers in the past, but didn't really see any benefits from them. I love Laura Mercier mineral powders so I thought I'd give this a try. The tube itself is really messy so you have to store it with the nozzle pointing up othewise it goes everywhere! It helps the loose mineral powder last a bit longer (I don't think its needed with the pressed compact). It doesn't make a huge difference for me personally though. I have oily/sensitive skin and it hasn't made me break out because its oil free which is always good, but I'm still on the fence with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BriddaBella on 7/25/2013 2:59:00 PM more reviews by BriddaBella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a present and I am impressed with it. I can definitely notice that my makeup
last a lot longer than without this primer. It's a thin, quite runny primer but it goes on smoothly
and leaves your skin soft. Although if you have dry skin I would recommend that you use a moisturiser before applying this primer.

However the downside is that it doesn't have any UVA or UVB protection, which is something
I take very seriously and I prefer having a primer with an SPF/PA included rather than having
to use a sunscreen separately like the MAC Prep+Primer Face Protect SPF50

If you are looking for something to make your foundation last longer I would also recommend the Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kinacoco7 on 6/13/2013 12:02:00 AM more reviews by Kinacoco7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was a bit skeptical to buy this primer since it was a new product at the time I bought it..however let me say I've been using it for a year now and I absolutely LOVE it! I use Laura Mercier silk crime foundation and this primer makes my makeup last all day n night hardly have to retouch...also makes my skin smooth foundation goes on smoothly and looks Flawless!! I know they have different types of primers I'm def trying out the rest. Love all her products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kathyn on 12/3/2012 5:18:00 AM more reviews by kathyn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this primer, it is light but hydrating, and gives me a smooth base for liquid foundation when applied over moisturiser. It doesn't make my dry skin flake and my make up stays put for 10 hours +. The price is fine as I only need a pea size amount each time, so the 50mL has lasted me a little over a year. My only gripe is the packaging - the primer can leak into the lid sometimes (ie if you stand it upright with the lid down or if you take it travelling in your makeup bag). It doesn't actually leak out of the tube though and is fine if you store it horizontally on your dresser for every day use. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BoandChica2 on 8/1/2012 8:38:00 PM more reviews by BoandChica2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this a couple years ago and wasn't that thrilled. Bought it again about a month or so ago. Not that thrilled. While it makes my make up go on smoother and it does help somewhat with my oily skin, I don't think it makes THAT much of a difference....to buy it a 3rd time! LOL Going to try the new one by VS and see what happens :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ItsStillAWrap on 6/16/2012 6:54:00 PM more reviews by ItsStillAWrap

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff didn't do anything...it was kind of liquidy too. It didn't help my makeup look better or stay on better, nothing. I've used Too Faced and Smashbox and Hourglass, all of which do what they are supposed to do. This did absolutely nothing, complete waste.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Raya885 on 1/5/2012 11:15:00 AM more reviews by Raya885

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This primer is worth every penny. I have sensitive combination skin (oily t-zone, dry everywhere else) and this primer manages to even everything out. It makes my oily areas more matte and slightly moisturizes my dry areas. I normally apply it before LM's tinted moisturizer, but I've used it with a basic powder foundation and even on its own. It covers up pores and ensures that your makeup lasts all day.

I've tried lots of other primers and keep coming back to this one. Great for oily/combination skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cerulfox on 1/3/2012 9:18:00 AM more reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Worse primer I've used, actually made my foundation WORSE. Turned me into a greaseball in two hours, and started separating my Chanel foundation in splotches. My foundation NEVER did that, so I know it's the primer. Blegh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bernb on 11/2/2011 7:02:00 PM more reviews by bernb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love Laura Mercier face products, but I just couldn’t make this one work for me, and oh how I tried.
I had the Laura Mercier Mineral Primer in the liquid formula.
It feels lovely going on, and looks nice once it has set – it really seems to balance out the skin.
The problem I encountered with it however, is that it doesn’t seem to uniformly absorb into my skin, and as a result my makeup ‘gathers’ in some spots on my face (a problem I don’t usually have).
I tried everything to make it work:
- Applied to clean and slightly damp skin;
- Applied to clean and very dry skin;
- Applied over moisturiser;
- Applied over sunscreen;
- Applied over hydrating serum;
- Applied over aloe vera gel;
- Applied, allowed to absorb, then misted with Avene Thermal Water;
- Applied, allowed to set, then smoothed over with a sponge;
- Applied, allowed to set, then followed by primer powder.
I have also tried exfoliating in different ways, and still the same result.
No matter what I did, I always ended up with the same end result – makeup that gathered on random spots on my face.
I have since concluded that liquid mineral primer is just not suitable for my skin – I will stick to mineral primer powders, and I am looking at purchasing the Laura Mercier Mineral Primer Powder to give that a go.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LibertyRose on 10/10/2011 10:36:00 AM more reviews by LibertyRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

As an LM loyalist who uses the brand's makeup, skincare, and bath & body lines, I have resisted my SA's urging for this product for nearly ten years. It's just always looked like a gooey mess from the tester tube. Plus, the foundations already worked well without the primer, so why fix something that's not broken? Well, I finally got one in travel size as a GWP, and became an instant convert. Went back to the counter and compared the four offerings (regular, hydrating, oil free, mineral) fastidiously before settling on the mineral. I don't use mineral makeup, but I wanted something that is the least harsh on the skin after reading how the regular primer can cause irritation. I actually prefer the effect of the regular primer because it makes the foundation look dewy, but unfortunately it also has a weird smell. The hydrating one is supposedly a better fit as my skin is prone to dehydration, but it makes the foundation look slightly duller. The oil-free looks like a thick paste, so it was out of the running. The mineral is a happy medium in terms of dewiness and the scent is very light, so I went home with it. It's worked magically well, to be honest. I feel my makeup looks the same in the evening as it does in the morning, and I also get fewer breakouts/whiteheads. My foundation now not only lasts through the day (and workouts!), but also becomes easier to apply and adhere so I get better coverage with less product. Because of this, I have fallen in love all over again with LM, particularly the tinted moisturizer, since I have found a way to get more mileage out of it. However, you shouldn't skimp on the primer itself because it is quite watery. I use about twice as much primer as I do foundation. It does feel a tiny bit silicon-y, but like I said, just a tiny bit. The Armani face fabric foundation has more silicon than this primer. I've compared this to the Lunasol control makeup base in 03, which is a lot fancier because it has shimmer and a bit of corrective color to make your face look brighter, but when it comes down to what a primer really should do, which is to facilitate the application of foundation and prolong its wear, LM wins. I once thought of this product as superfluous, but now I wear it on even light makeup days. Thinking about getting the regular primer too so I can alternate. Putting the jumbo size at Sephora ($10 more for twice the product) on my wish list.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Primer/ Corrector products