Barry M • Dusky Mauve • Polishes

rated 4.8(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nosage on 5/15/2013 5:21:00 PM more reviews by Nosage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Classy polish. Great quality. Sophisticated shade. Why bother with Chanel shade when this ticks all the boxes? I love a bargain that looks high end, and this is definitely one of them. I think this grey/purple hybrid shade would suit most skin tones. I used two coats and even without a top coat it was extremely glossy. I did use Seche Vite and it lasted a good three days which included lots of typing and cleaning. I will always have this in my collection if it remains available. I want to buy more Barry M polishes now but the other colours in the range look a bit too teenager targeted. I wish they would bring out some more sophisticated shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daniellealexandra on 11/30/2011 8:35:00 AM more reviews by daniellealexandra

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

One out of three of my all time favourite nail polishes colours (along with black and purple).

It's a dupe of Paradoxal by Chanel and for 2.99 it's a definite favourite.

I often wear it on it's own, with a glitter top coat or with black Barry M crackle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 8/27/2011 1:42:00 AM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favourite purple shades. It's a gorgeous deep violet with shimmer and is considered a dupe for Chanel's Paradoxal. It has a pretty easy formula - streak free and requires two coats for opacity. A fabulous colour for Autumn.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miahesterly on 6/5/2011 12:18:00 PM more reviews by miahesterly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I have Paradoxal by Chanel, and let me tell you that Dusky Mauve is an almost-perfect dupe. The only difference is that the shimmer in Dusky Mauve is just slightly more evident, which some people might actually prefer, as it makes the colour less flat. Also, you do need to use three coats to get full opaqueness, while you can get away with only using two coats of Paradoxal. However, Dusky Mauve wears much, much better than Paradoxal, and in fact better than any polish I've used before - I got an unbelievable four days of wear with NO chips or tip wear at all (with a top coat - Albert Bridge by Nails Inc, which I use over all my polishes). Honestly, my nails looked as good on day 4 as they did on day 1. Most polishes, cheap ones and expensive ones alike, only last two days on me before some wear is evident. Plus, as the price is so ridiculously low, I don't feel guilty when I take it off my fingertips, like I do when I remove the Chanel one ('Holy crap, I used up 1.50's worth of polish just to have my nails painted for two days!')... I can't recommend this varnish enough, and it's the best 2.99 I've ever spent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlywurly100 on 5/31/2011 7:38:00 PM more reviews by curlywurly100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

what a high quality colour from Barry M!
this is a chocolate brown with a grey undertone and lilac iridescent. a really layered colour! not barry m's usual style.
from afar this looks like a bit of an optical illusion, as the blend of dark brown, grey and lilac really works to trick the eye.
i own nothing like this colour in my collection!
would 100% recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meggylou on 3/28/2011 11:47:00 PM more reviews by meggylou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The only reason I bought this shade was because everyone seemed to be raving about it. For the meagre price of 2.50, I thought what the hell. It's now one of my new favourite shades! When I applied it, I just couldn't stop admiring my nails all day. It's a beautiful grey with a wonderful shimmer of purple glitter when caught in the light, and, as I'm sure you know, a damn near perfect Chanel dupe. Sophisticated, elegant and dirt cheap, this should have a place in every girl's varnish collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FauxChic on 3/13/2011 10:07:00 AM more reviews by FauxChic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this to the various comparisons to CHANEL Paradoxal, which is a bonus because it's a fantastic dupe, it has the slight purple shimmer which is obvious in sunlight.However, I'm disappointed on how it looked like a flat murky purple grey colour on most occasions, I still like it though just wished it was little more shimmery than flat like Model's Own Purple Grey.The price you pay for these polishes are also phenomenal, I highly recommend this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimbuyah on 3/8/2011 5:55:00 AM more reviews by kimbuyah

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

Lovely! Even when you aren't in bright enough light to see the dazzling shimmer, you get this extraordinary color, like none I've ever seen before. It's purple, brown and gray but to look at it , is none of those, specifically. It's not an obvious any color, meaning, you wouldn't say, "Oh look, she's got purple nails," more like, "Oh wow, what is that color? I've never seen anything like it." Aside from all the funky duochromes and holos I love, this has to be one of the most interesting and fabulous polishes. I just erased Lincoln Park to put this on, so I'm used to dark nails and LOVE gray(except Zoya's Kelly, which was so gross and swampy dirty looking, it made me want to hurl). But this is just a classy dark and ultra flattering shade that says, don't analyze or label me, I just am. 2 coats made for an exceptional and opaque application and I am wearing it over CND Stickey and followed with Seche Top Coat. It's very smooth and looks amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* triotrio on 2/26/2011 1:26:00 PM more reviews by triotrio

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is, as has been said, a dupe of the popular and expensive Chanel Paradoxal. So whilst the shade - a sludgy bruised plum - may not be to everyone's taste, I don't blame Barry M for it.

It's a suprisingly flattering shade, nevertheless. It looks sleek, polished and expensive. The formulation is excellent - it's lovely and creamy and is perfect after two coats. Long lasting too. For a cheap polish it's pretty grown up.

But the only thing against it is the purple shimmer that's supposed to emerge. It doesn't, much. You have to be in strong bright direct sunlight to see it, and in the gray cold light of Northern Europe you're just not going to see it much. If at all! So only buy if you like the bruised sludge colour. Don't buy it for the supposed shimmer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nylrem on 2/22/2011 2:59:00 PM more reviews by nylrem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Loved this colour, and how it shimmered under different lights.
It required 2 coats to give solid colour to my nails and lasted well on my nails.
I found that it was a nice subtle, yet interesting colour to wear on days where you want something understated but still nice.
I would recommend this colour to others

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Barry M products

More Polishes products