Shu Uemura • Stage Performer Instant Glow • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.8(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Mooo00 on 6/2/2014 4:14:00 PM more reviews by Mooo00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have dry skin and get oily during the day but this product is extremely shiny for me. It melts and wears away over the day and the worst is it brings my brow pen and eye make away with it leaving me looking slightly washed quite quickly. maybe good if you ha every dry skin and use an extremely strong primer. Good squeeze tube packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 1/17/2014 12:32:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Huge, HUGE disappointment. I've had Stage Performer for a while but held off on reviewing it, hoping that I'd find some use, ANY use for it that justifies keeping it. Unfortunately, Shu is no longer sold in the US, and Shu Uemura's online customer service/return policy is dismal so I'm stuck with this $50 tube of white shimmery cream that does nothing for my skin.

It smells nice and absorbs quickly, but I might as well just put on plain moisturizer. I used this as a primer under foundation as well as applied over foundation but it does nothing for my skin (ok, maybe it made me break out a bit...) Used alone it offers no coverage, so you'll still need concealer or a TM to cover blemishes. If you truly want glowy skin, I've gotten better results by watching my diet (limit carbs/sugar, drink water, eliminate dairy), get plenty of sleep, and invest in good skincare rather than gimmicky illuminating products. I wouldn't recommend this and regret purchasing this in the first place! Stage Performer may be my WORST purchase of 2013.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joy2uandme on 3/5/2013 1:13:00 PM more reviews by joy2uandme

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wish there was a Hell no for would you buy this product again!


This is snake oil in a tube! I put this on and saw no difference. So I walked around, did some chores, came back. Still no difference. Gave it some more time. Nada. (I saw no color difference on my skin like other reviewers-am I blind?) Came out of tube white, did not change color on my skin to beige or yellow or gray or any damn color. No shimmer.


I have dry skin, sensitive with rosacea. I'm old, have fine lines and some liver spots and freckles to even out. Also always have some old rosacea spots that have healed on my face. In short I need a good primer's effect. This did nothing. No illuminating, no even-ing. Not even any hydrating to speak of. My plain old moisturizer does a way better job.


At least this didn't really irritate my skin.


Lancome's Eclat Miracle is way better and makes my skin look freshly washed and hydrated. If you're my era try that one. At least that one you don't have to order and you will get immediate results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 deblovesmakeup on 3/4/2013 8:58:00 PM more reviews by deblovesmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I rarely write reviews- but after 3 days of wearing this product I am in love! My skin is both dry and oily, so foundations look terrible on me- moisturizing ones get greasy looking, matte ones cake and make dry flakes apparent. My under eye area has little lines which always look so much worse with foundation. I would have never thought to buy this product, but it came as a free sample with my shu uemura order. I looked up the reviews to try to figure out how to use it, and decided to try it on its own (over SPF of course). Wow, it looks like I'm not wearing makeup and I just have nice, normal, glowy (not shiney, shimmery, oily or dewy, just glowy) skin!! This has a sheer tint to it which also helps to warm up my face so it matches my neck better (my face is cooler and lighter than my neck). It glides over dryness and makes it look better, it makes fine lines look less apparent rather than more (unlike all foundations on me), and it does slightly minimize my pores. I definately need more coverage than this offers for my light acne, nose redness, and dark circles, so i just pair this with a concealer. Oh yeah, and it is long lasting :). I will definitely buy the full size when this sample runs out! The obvious bummer is the price- however, before this I was using primer, foundation, concealer, and powder, and now I am happy with this and concealer (maybe I will use powder in the summer if I need it- we'll see!), so I'm pretty sure the cost evens out. I would not use this as a primer though- too expensive and I wouldn't dream of covering up the lovely finish with foundation! The other bummer is the fragrance, it smells great, but fragrance is not skincare and can be irritating. This stuff looks so good that I don't care.

Update: Still loving this product, but wanted to add a tip I've discovered! I've had some breakouts since life has been stressful lately, so I regretfully had to return to wearing foundation- but I discovered that I could put this on top of my foundation and still have the lovely glow with a little more coverage!!! Try it out. I cannot fathom bad reviews on this.. unless they were expecting coverage or something. HG HG HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 11/13/2012 7:15:00 PM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Stage Performer is a bit of an unusual product, which tends to cause some confusion as a result. It is not a moisturizer (though some find that it has a moisturizing effect), and I am reluctant to say whether I think it has any actual skincare benefits. (In fact, I've got the sinking suspicion that when I wear this too often, I get more break-outs; but that's just my very sensitive/reactive skin. Based on the ingredients list, Stage Performer shouldn't cause problems for most, but obviously YMMV.)



Stage Performer isn't really a primer, either ... though it is similar, I suppose, to a primer which is a bit illuminating, with a bit of a tint for lightly evening out skin-tone. Many people enjoy using it as a primer and I think it does a fine job in that role, but again, that's not quite what the product is. It's also absolutely not a highlighting liquid, though it does give a bit of a glowing/light reflective finish to the skin. Furthermore, I wouldn't call it a foundation, a tinted moisturizer, a BB cream, or a color-corrector: all of those products tend to have, IMO, more coverage than Stage Performer.



So then, what is this magical unicorn? I guess I'd say that it's some kind of skin-appearance-enhancer, providing 1.) a really nice finish, 2.) a bit of a glow, 3.) a gentle warm tint of color, subtle enough to flatter a pretty wide range of skin-tones.


So in a way, I think wearing it as a primer is kinda a waste - if you apply foundation over Stage Performer, you'll cover most of its nice effect. Then again, this isn't a product that you would want to use *over* foundation. (It is a decent mixer with some foundations, so that's worth experimenting with if you enjoy that sort of thing.) I think Stage Performer is a hero product for people with excellent skin looking to just make what already looks great look even better. It's also excellent for no-makeup-makeup. (Unless this product seriously doesn't suit you, or you use way too much, it should not be detectable on your skin, even at close examination.) Another great way to use Stage Performer (this is the most common way for me to use it) is as your all-over base, and then add a bit of concealer or a sheer foundation only as needed to areas you want to touch-up.
This is the kind of product I want to pass back in time to my teen-aged/college-aged self - it's just the right sort of thing to bring along if you're going to crash at a party and use as a no-makeup skin pick-me-up the morning after, when you don't want to face your crush *totally* bare-faced.

To be more specific about what Stage Performer *is*:

In terms of COLOR it's ... well, yellow-ish? Beige-yellow, I suppose. I am quite fair (a bit lighter than the NC/W15 family in MAC's line) with fairly neutral skin, *but* I have a lot of redness in my cheeks, and irritation/pigmentation redness/blotchiness I like to tone down. (I don't see redness from pigmentation/irritation as actually being my skin-tone, if that makes sense.) If I put Stage Performer on one side of my face, I can tell that it looks warmer/more even, but even people who know me well don't notice that I'm wearing any base with this product. The yellow-ish color tones down redness a bit, and warms the skin slightly. It's not so yellow that I'd recommend against it for cool-toned skin, unless you're on that extreme end of the scale where even a hint of warmth looks all wrong on you. Similarly, if you are warmer-toned this shouldn't make you look all yellow/sallow unless your skin is having that issue already. In general, I tend not to believe in products which are "universal" ... and this one isn't. But it is so sheer that it really will suit a whole host of differently colored faces. Just to be totally clear - this is *not* a product that has "coverage" ... I wouldn't even call it "light coverage", it's more like "no coverage" it's a bit of a tint, but it's not going to hide anything.

In terms of FINISH, Stage Performer doesn't have shimmer, nor is it particularly 'dewy' (in the sense of looking like a more moist skin), but it does have a 'glow'. Which makes it hard to pin down where that 'glow' comes from ... my personal opinion? I think it does some pore-minimizing (a subtle effect, don't get *too* excited) which works to smooth the skin surface a bit (again, a subtle effect) so that it reflects more light/reflects light more evenly. Maybe it's got some of that fancy light-reflecting technology like we see in those under-eye click-up concealer pens too, what do I know? End result - your face has a 'glow' without being at all shimmery or oily-looking. It feels like it sort of 'sets' on the skin, in a dry-but-not-drying sort of way. I definitely feel no need to powder. Another bonus is that it genuinely does not make dry-patches jump out at you; if you ever get flakey skin you'll know how awesome it is to find a product that doesn't make it look awful.The lasting power is excellent (on me at least), which was a surprise, as I tend not to think of such a sheer product as something which will endure a long day.

Just to wrap-up by mentioning APPLICATION: I think it would be easy to use too much. You don't need much! Think a reasonably plump pea for your whole face; a broad-bean would be a bit too much. I just use fingers, dotting the Stage Performer around and then smoothing it in, but I'm sure it would be fine with a brush, too. I focus a little more on my red-ish areas, but pretty much blend it all over (haven't had any sensitivity using it near the eye area). I give it a minute or two before I continue with any additional base makeup, and like I said before ... it really doesn't need to be powdered, though you might want to if you have oily skin.

Overall, this is the sort of product that makeup perfectionists and geeks may love (hi!), and which the general population is unlikely to see much point in.

(UPDATE - I've removed one star from my rating due to breakouts.)

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thecharm on 10/29/2012 3:13:00 AM more reviews by thecharm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

A thick, silicone-y feeling creme, Shu Uemura Stage Performer Instant Glow does what it claims: adds brightness and moisture. Though it delivers, I find it a bit heavy for everyday wear (particularly in my very warm, humid climate) and I much prefer Shu's UV Underbase Mousses as a primer (the mousses include SPF, are lighter in texture, cover pores better, and are less expensive.) Stage Performer looks untinted initially but has small balls of pigment which turn yellow when blended; probably at about an NC10 or 12 level, in MAC terms. It's a bit too dark to look entirely natural on me as an NW5, so that also contributes to my decision not to repurchase.

TL; DR: Good but not the best.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jb13ruiz on 7/18/2012 2:01:00 AM more reviews by jb13ruiz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually don't know what type of product this is, but I use it as my make up primer. I have a dull, dry skin but this one really makes my face glow and healthy. It also helps my foundation (Shu Face architect mousse) to glide smoothly and I feel my foundation does not get inside my pores because of this product. I tried using it on half of my face first to see the difference with the other half, and surely there's a lot of difference. It also does not feel sticky or oily like any other primers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melkwek on 5/27/2012 11:25:00 AM more reviews by melkwek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i really like the texture of this product and it really does even out my skin tone and makes me face look smoother. but it gave me these huge cystic pimples so i can't use this anymore which is really sad because it was so pricey and i do like how my face feels when i apply it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alexdry on 2/20/2012 5:38:00 AM more reviews by alexdry

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Hmm, yes it makes a difference but its not a big one. I tend to use Natio Wellness Body Gloss as a face primer, which also adds a glow to the skin and is lighter. This primer is heavier and glowier. But because it's so heavy and I don't want to smother my skin, I don't use it every day. I keep it for two coffee-mornings.

It is very expensive. The Natio one is $14 and bigger and this is 5-ish times more expensive. It's not 5 times better - its only very slightly better.

Will I repurchase? Not sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* purrsian on 12/15/2011 1:25:00 AM more reviews by purrsian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Instant Glow for a week now and use it daily. All you need is a pearl size and spread it evenly on your face after washed clean face, without toner and other procedure prior to it, and can apply Shu Uemura foam primer sunscreen or foundation to it straight away.

This is an interesting product, quite similar to BB cream (blemish balm cream) which has been very popular in Asia since 3 years ago, similar but way better. BB cream always gives a pale ghostly greyish cast and this does not. I'm always allergic to any "glow" product and worried that there would contain some dramatic glitters or sparkles. This one just gives a soft pearly luminmous glow to the skin, it is not tinted, does not alter the skin shade but does smooth and brighten, slightly even out the skin tone. It moisturizes but isn't greasy, does not oil up (mine is normal skin and can oil up on T-zone more than a couple of hours if the products aren't right). It does help the foundation to stay on longer. The lovely pearly glow subtly shows through foundation and loose powder, somewhat light-deflective, so this helps to hide some flakyness, fine lines and other skin imperfections.

It doesn't look tinted when its squeezed out from the tube, it's light pearly grey in color, but after you spread it on your skin, and wipe it off with a tissue paper, you can wipe off some ivory beige color. It's how it can instantly "revive" and "even out" your skin, it's by the mineral sustances it contains, not by some powerful skincare ingredients.

It's a very good product so far, I won't call this a must-have product if you already have perfectly smooth skin to start with and have no problem on the texture of your skin to apply foundation on, but if you have extra bucks to spend, and you are curious, you can grab a tube of this and play around with. Or nicely ask a SA to give you a sample to try out if possible.

I think this 30ml can last a long time, because all you need is just very little, a small dot.

It contains some UVA and UVB sunscreen, silicone-like substance, minerals, seawater and herbal extracts. I haven't used it long enough to claim it helps to improve my skin, but definitely it's a very nice primer, could be worn alone on a no-makeup day or some sort of subtle liquid highlighter in my opinion. The ingredients are overall pretty safe, except Dimethicone (similar to silicone) which has the possibility to cause acne to some people.

Ingredients:
Seawater
Dimethicone
Aqua
Glycerin
Hydrogenated polyisobutene
Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer
PEG-10/15
Dipropylene glycol
Synthetic wax
Polybutene
CI 77891
Methylsilanol/Silicate Crosspolymer
Magnesium sulfate
pheoxyethanol
Mica
Ethylhexylglycerin
CI 77491
CI 77492
CI 77499
Boron nitride
Acrylates/ammonium methacrylate copolymer P-anisic acid p-Limnanthes Alba Seed Oil
Hydroxyethylpiperazine Ethane Sulfonic Acid
PEG-6 isostearate PEG-6
Triethyl citrate
Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate
Limonene
Ginkgo Biloba
Linalool
Aluminum hydroxide
hesperetin laurate
Rosa gallica
Citrus aurantium amara
Thermus Thermophillus Ferment
Parfum

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Primer/ Corrector products