Pureology Hydrate Light

4.1

13 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS



on 3/25/2015 10:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am in love! I've tried MANY conditioners, from super high-end salon brands to drug-store lines. I was sick of my hair being frizzy and dry looking. I find it's difficult to find the right conditioner for those of us with fine hair that also highlight (oily scalp with dry ends that can look flat with flyaways). Most are too heavy and weight down our delicate fine hair or too light and leave it a frizzy, dry mess. I highlight with medium/light blonde every 3 months, but my hair is not damaged, just dry.


I went to Ulta and asked one of the salon stylist what they would recommend for my hair type (shoulder length, fine, scalp can be oily, slightly wavy and dry ends from regular blonde highlights). She immediately recommended this line and said the "light" would be better than the regular Hydrate formula for my hair type.


I don't mind the smell, it's minty but refreshing and I didn't notice the smell after I rinsed it out and towel dried. I DID notice a difference in my hair as soon as I got out of the shower and started to brush my hair out after washing/conditioning. (note, I did not buy the shampoo). My hair was not a frizzy mess, instead it brushed out with ease and felt better already! I recently had my hair cut and went about styling my normal way (round brush & blow dryer), it fell into place and looked amazing! I had been using Biolage conditioning balm and my hair still wasn't looking good after styling and I was having to use more styling products to get rid of the frizz. I promptly threw away my old half-used conditioners, including the Biolage, which was almost empty anyway.


Yes, the price is expensive for 8oz, but I only needed a large pea-size for my shoulder length hair. Next time, I'll wait for Ulta to have a sale and then stock up on this baby! I did not buy the shampoo since I read it can be too moisturizing for fine hair. I can see this not working as well for someone with thick hair, but they make a Hydrate regular formula that might be better suited for that hair type.


Overall, if you have fine hair and suffer from dry ends, give this a try, you won't be disappointed! I am in love and think I've finally found my HG conditioner :)



on 2/20/2015 4:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I hesitate to give this a poor review, but it was not what I was expecting of a "light" conditioner. Do not get me wrong, this is a great conditioner, but I was expecting, well, a lighter version of the original hydrating conditioner, it isn't.
Basically Pureology took the original and put less minty goodness in it. So, if the original is too minty for you, get this one. (And if you want even more minty goodness, get the new ColorProof hydrating conditioner).
If you have fine curly hair like myself, a pea size is more than enough and do not use it with the matching hydrating shampoo as your hair will be way too soft.
On the plus side, this really is super concentrated, the 8oz bottle will last me about 6 months at least as part of my conditioner rotation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2014 11:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Not quite sure how I feel about this conditioner, I definitely don't like it with the hydrate shampoo, however I used it with another shampoo and it was much better. This conditioner actually makes my hair TOO soft, especially when used with the very gentle (too gentle) shampoo. Too soft and gentle, sounds good right? But no, it makes your hair really fly-away and very breakable. At least my hair, which is fine but abundant. Also, when used with the shampoo it left my hair flat, dull, and greasy. But the other day I used a different shampoo, Joico K-pak reconstructor, and then this, and my hair came out great! The Joico stuff needs to be followed with a very hydrating conditioner and this is just the thing. I also love the minty smell and feel. But I don't think I'd repurchase.


on 1/26/2013 2:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this conditioner in conjunction with the volume shampoo. It moisturizes my fine hair without weighing it down. It has a very refreshing peppermint scent and it gives your scalp a cooling sensation. What I like about all Pureology products is that they come in travel size so you can try their products without much commitment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is an AMAZING conditioner!!! I have super fine, shoulder length, chemically treated, layered blond hair. I've been using this conditioner daily for about a year now (the same bottle) and it leaves my hair silky smooth and soft and doesn't weigh it down!!!!! I use a super small amount...the size of a pea. I leave it in for about a minute then rinse. My super fine hair stays tangle free all day! When used with the shampoo it makes my hair a little heavy though.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2011 1:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i love this conditioner soooo much!!!!the only thing that bothers me though is the way my hair feels when i use it...kinda like if someone had dipped my head in toothpaste and the feeling wouldn't go away after i wash the conditioner off.Weird.But it doesn't outweigh the miracles that this product does to dry and fine hair.I love it!


on 8/6/2011 12:39:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

LOVE the potency of this conditioner! Apparently it has 7 intense moisturizers (count that, SEVEN!)
I have naturally wavy, fine, corse hair that's very stubborn when it comes to coming out silky smooth & soft when I step out the shower & this stuff does just that! It does a great job at adding volume & shine as well.
I don't care for the "chemical" smell it has to it, but it does its job. Highly recommend buying the 33oz bottles from a salon since its the best value for the high price. I spent about $50 on it & its lasted me past 6 months already.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love the original, which I tried a few years back- however, sometimes that cooling, minty sensation is just too much. I purchased the small trial size bottle of this at the JC Penney salon, and I like this one much better, plus it seemed to soften my hair much better than the original. I will stick to this one. I hated the pink one for body- just didn't do anything- waste of money.


on 4/20/2011 12:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this conditioner! I have 2c/3a fine/medium hair and I use this almost daily along with the shampoo and haven't had a bad hair day yet!


on 4/9/2011 8:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The scent is kind of rosey almost. As for the conditioner, I am still in the middle of trying this conditioner with every combo I can think of to make it work, but thus far it is not wowing me. I have fine/wavy hair-a difficult combo to work with. Even though a small dollop of the regular Hydrating conditioner seems to be fine, I thought this new Light version would be perfection! I have fine hair AND it's wavy/curly-I always go a bit flat on top! Stuff for fine hair is usually not strong enough for me and results in frizz or undefined curly poof. Stuff for curly hair is too strong for me and pulls out all my fine waves. Much to my dismay, this lighter version of the original, is a touch better than your average conditioner for fine hair, but falls just a bit short of that little TINY EXTRA (not a ton more) more conditioning I need to manage my curls. If the conditioner is too heavy, my curls/hair go flat. If the conditioner is too light, my hair is a poofy cotton candy (it needs a little weight, but not a ton). And the Light is not delivering enough weight.

If you have fine STRAIGHT hair...this could be amazing for you. But it is not the HG I was hoping for my fine wavy hair (that I wear curly).




Back to Top