NARS • Pure Matte Lipstick in Vesuvio • Lipstick

rated 4.7(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 mamma30 on 2/9/2014 5:20:00 AM more reviews by mamma30

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Um'd and ah'd over this for a while , I always find reds disappointing on me either too bright or orange or brown or dark or just not quite right . I had more or less decided i wasnt a red lipstick person . I have to say that as soon as I put vesuvio on I instantly thought I need to buy a back up of this ! It's a great i would say true red , very flattering and it makes me feel very womanly and glamorous ! I have had many compliments when I wear it too . I don't mind the matt formula it is a bit drying on the lips but I have hardly ever worn matt lipsticks before so its a different feeling on the lips to get used to . I'm in love with this and don't ever want to be without vesuvio in my bag , thank you nars

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elizan on 1/15/2014 8:39:00 AM more reviews by elizan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Nice clear red with a pinky hint. the matte level is good- not too chalky. l really like this one for winter. the packaging is really nice- the slim size allows precise from the tube application

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RedLipsBlackHair on 1/12/2014 10:39:00 PM more reviews by RedLipsBlackHair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Vesuvio is a gorgeous red that reminds me so much of Viva Glam I. I had been wearing Viva Glam I for a week straight when I switched to this one and it was as if I hadn't switched.
Great formula, matte but non-drying, smooth and glides on without tugging. Wears great, a long time without fading. Packaging is simple but elegant.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rena10 on 11/14/2013 3:59:00 AM more reviews by rena10

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I Love this shade, very fall and great for the sexy holiday look....im nc42-43...so its perfect..on my skin tone....really pretty ...and it makes the teeth white! love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bellski on 11/2/2013 12:53:00 PM more reviews by bellski

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

This is a beautiful, bold, bright red lipstick, a good shade for my skin (which is cool). More orange-reds make me look weird, this does not. It is matte and has VERY good staying power, when I wear it and I eat or drink, all I have to do is small touch ups afterwards. Since is very matte it is also quite dry, so make sure you have moisturized/exfoliated your lips, otherwise dryness on your lips will show. This is in itself not mouisturizing. This is really good quality lipstick. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmnixa on 10/22/2013 12:04:00 PM more reviews by pmnixa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am always on the pursuit of the perfect lipsticks to add to my collection, and I was really blown away by Vesuvio. My husband complemented me on my "bold lip" and said it looked good. Has that ever happened before? No. The color of Vesuvio is great - it's a flattering red that doesn't have brown tones to it, and it doesn't have too much pink. It also is just bright enough to flatter but you can still wear it to work and look professional. The matte formula is the best I have tried. It doesn't dry my lips (ie MAC), crease (like the NARS matte pencils do on me), or do anything weird like peel off (Guerlain Rouge G Extrait did this on me). It stayed all day with only one minor touch up and didn't taste or smell like anything. Really great product. I also have Montego in this formula - I wish they made more shades!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahalthea on 1/21/2012 6:05:00 PM more reviews by sarahalthea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The best true red. It is an awesome matte, that is long lasting and not too drying. This has become my staple red.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bogo_pogo on 7/31/2011 6:58:00 PM more reviews by bogo_pogo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have based my review mostly on formula but will comment on all aspects:
Formula - superb. It is matte but moisturising. I did not have the dry lip problem that I get even with non-matte lippies.Really please with that and it gives a soft plump finish.
Packaging - very pleasing, matte finish to the plastic and nice action.
Colour - I prefer pillar and orange reds. This looks absolutely fine, but not the best shade of red on me (NC44) - didnt get any compliments, as it doesnt pop. I do think that Vesuvio & Carthage do not apply as bright as they seem in the tube.
Price - well it is NARS. It will suck however when I have to start using brush to get out of tube. But I really do recommend the formula, so if you find a shade that really suits you, its worth it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondebohemian on 5/28/2011 8:00:00 PM more reviews by blondebohemian

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only red that I've found after many searches that works for me. I have lightly tanned skin (NARS Sheer Glow Barcelona for reference), and platinum blonde hair, so red lipstick is tricky for me. NARS describes this as a 'full bodied red', and it is a classic cool toned red.

I'm a fan of NARS matte lipsticks - I already have Madere and Tashkent. They aren't drying, they are super opaque, and the red does last a long time. Problem is that it does stain your lips a bit, but that's the problem with reds.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princessali7 on 4/18/2011 8:31:00 PM more reviews by princessali7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm a sucker for matte reds. I tend to stay more towards blue-based red b/c orange reds clash too much with my yellow tones. I originally pre-ordered volga at my local Nars counter, but when I went to pick it up I fell in love with vesuvio, and left with that instead! This is just another great true red to add to the bunch, I feel as if it would wear nice on any skin tone & I'll definitely be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products