Hard Candy • Matte Topcoat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.2(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 KeepFlyyingGirlie on 4/21/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by KeepFlyyingGirlie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Of the matte topcoats I've used, this is the only one where I've faced the following conundrum. My initial use of this topcoat left me with gorgeous matte nails, just as I had wanted, but as I've used up more and more of the bottle, I've begun to find these little white specks appearing on my nails, and they're rather noticeable. I'm not sure if it's due to the mattifying agent in the topcoat clumping together after sitting for a while or due to formula issues, but it unfortunately means that I can't use it without messing up a potentially good manicure. Maybe thinning will help?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lipstickjunkie87 on 2/25/2013 4:39:00 PM more reviews by lipstickjunkie87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect matte top coat!!! Really nice, when you feel your nails its soooo smooth!! Gets the job done and very cheap compared to some other matte polishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amsiemonster on 9/10/2012 10:20:00 PM more reviews by amsiemonster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

It does precisely as advertised -- creates a wonderful matte finish to otherwise glossy polishes! I placed it over Wet n' Wild black + Essie Shine of the Times and it looks incredible.

However, it does have a tendency to strip off the color if you apply even the slightest amount of pressure to the brush. Was unaware and used it over a red the very first time...my entire bottle has a very faint pink hue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Star__Jones on 1/17/2012 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Star__Jones

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE! I was getting bored with my mani and picked this up at Walmart. Decided to put it on yesterday over Zoya Marley and it looks awesome! The finish is great and it dried super fast. I loved watching it change right before my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nicolerh on 12/16/2011 2:58:00 PM more reviews by nicolerh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this matte top coat after reading the reviews on this board, and I have to say... I am super impressed with this topcoat! I'm currently wearing a foil polish, black crackle, AND this matte top coat. I wasn't expecting anything great with all of this goop piled on my nails, but it actually looks amazing! The crackle is matte and so is the foil that you can see through the crackle!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gothkenny on 11/28/2011 10:08:00 PM more reviews by Gothkenny

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff works perfectly for me. I love being able to change up the finish on my nail polishes without having to buy a ton more bottles. I would never buy another matte topcoat, because I have no complaints about this one. It's pretty amazing for only five dollars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jlabaw on 11/15/2011 8:29:00 PM more reviews by jlabaw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I thought hard candy's matte top coat is decent.. but, I CAN'T FIND IT ANYWHERE ONLINE! I tried butter LONDON'S matte finish and I like it. does the job. anyhow that's my 2 cents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emsbignailobsession on 7/23/2011 11:54:00 AM more reviews by emsbignailobsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I had been looking through my nail polish collection and was pretty sad when I realized that I had almost no mattes! So when I was looking for one I saw the Essie matte top coat and I was just about to get that when I turned around and saw the Hard Candy one. For half the price of the Essie one. It mattifies everything (including neons!). Also, it makes glitter much less shiny after one coat. It works with only one coat and for $4 it is great for the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupdiva23 on 6/26/2011 5:19:00 PM more reviews by makeupdiva23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I just started getting into nailpolish and didn't even know such a thing existed! It is very cool. Really does give a matte finish to the nails. *Update* I have noticied that when I use this my polish does not last as long. It peels off. I am deducting some lippies for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ediva on 6/16/2011 10:36:00 PM more reviews by ediva

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product! I found out this even existed thru the guidance of our awesome product gurus here on MUA.


Here was what I needed it for--I've been trying to figure out a way to have my nails look "healthy & bare-naked" but with the protection of nailpolish because I have weak and ridged nails. Didn't want the shiny wet polish look at all.


Here's what I did--on bare nails, I put two coats of American Classics Gelous Nail Gel. Then I coat of Orly Bare Rose from the french manicure collection. Then one coat of the Gelous Nail Gel again. Then one coat on top of that of Poshe Top Coat. Finally, one coat of Hard Candy Matte Top Coat.


Voila! It looks like bare nails but uber-protected nails. I play guitar and also love to wash dishes a lot (LOL, it's true, I do!) and I need my nails to be protected from these two activities. Sometimes, I don't like the look of colored polish so this works amazingly well. Like my own nails, but better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Top/Base Coats products