MAC • The Family Crest • Eye Shadow

rated 2.8(10 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 12/19/2012 8:02:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Gorgeous color but wears poorly. I may try this again sometime because my eye primer has changed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shklnyk on 12/30/2011 3:04:00 PM more reviews by shklnyk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This pigment is really really gorgeous. I think it is really underrated. Beautiful dark chocolate with lots of gold sparkles. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nicolejohnson on 11/20/2010 5:07:00 PM more reviews by nicolejohnson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought all three piggies from TT collection ... they are beautiful colors no doubt... I don't know if anyone has had the issue with them or not but they crease SOOO bad on me! I have tried everything ... and i mean everything... No primer,no base = crease... Primer, no base = crease....Primer and base = crease ... just primer = crease .... just base = crease... I have tried NARS no smudge primer .... UDPP ... Too faced shadow ins... mac paint pot in blackround .... mac base in black ... NYX black bean jumbo pencil ... nothing helps it ... before i can even finish my left eye the right one is creasing !! I would never buy these again if i had the chance. No other pigment i have creases like these

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lalu on 11/12/2010 3:26:00 AM more reviews by lalu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried to like this one really hard after looking at several swatch pictures but when I tried in store, its nothing nice about it. It has a plain purple black base like bloodline pigment and some brown shimmers on it but it looks more like a mess and dirt. I didnt purchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BCbabe on 11/4/2010 3:28:00 PM more reviews by BCbabe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Family Crest to me has a smokey deep base with tiny gold microglitters. Very pigmented but easy to work with. I'm finding with these Tartan pigments that you don't need much at all for impact and they blend and layer so easily (unlike some pigments that seem to 'catch' and deepen in random places making you like a toddler who got into mommy's makeup). Anywho, this is a gorgeous shade though more 'neutral' in that the shimmers are gold, not pink or purple or green... Compared to Guilt By Association mineralized e/s, it's got a deeper blackened base. Try as I might though, I'm not picking up any pink or purple/plum shades in this at all, and I'd actually welcome it because it would add another dimension besides the black. I'm still loving it though...

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AQuestionofLust on 10/31/2010 9:01:00 PM more reviews by AQuestionofLust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The Family Crest is nothing particularly unique or special, but it is rather nice.

I'm pretty sure no one looks at anyone else on a regular basis enough to notice, say, fine gold shimmer vs. fine bronze shimmer in a black shadow on someone's eyes, so I enjoy this mostly for my own delight. As is predictable for MAC pigments, this is highly... erm, pigmented, and quite velvety and easy to blend, as well. To my eye I see an almost black cinder base with fine gold shimmer and even finer pink shimmer, which can make it look purplish in some light.

It's a more subtle version of MAC's Beauty Marked mixed with perhaps a smidge of Old Gold, but the depth and texture are what make it stand out and worth having to me. It makes my dark brown eyes actually look dark brown, which is quite a feat. I wear it over my favorite eyeshadow base(Too Faced's Eye Shadow Insurance) for all-day wear.

I certainly don't need a full jar, but if I ever lost or spilled my Family Crest, I'd definitely replace it if possible. I wouldn't be horribly put out if I couldn't find it again, but I enjoy it while I have it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Teacakeanyone on 10/29/2010 6:33:00 PM more reviews by Teacakeanyone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Sorry, I have to agree with others. First, I didn't plan on getting this. Then I saw recent swatches making it out to actually be a dark brown-plum. So I bought it; pressure of it being one of the last few. And it looks...black in natural light. Just black. With gold/copper glitter. That's it. In the store, I asked if the MA could swatch it wet on my hand. She did and that's what convinced me to try it. But when I tried the same thing at home, I quickly realized that as the pigment dried, if I blew on it (I thought to dry it overall), the glitter flew off. Total dud in my book. Just buy black/dark brown eyeshadow and put your own much cheaper glitter on top. Sorry, MAC. Big loser this time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 10/29/2010 3:23:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The Family Crest is a beautiful smokey bronze shade that reminds me of guilt by association except for the family crest is slightly darker and the black overshadows the bronze. Still beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kavitacaviezel on 10/29/2010 12:12:00 PM more reviews by Kavitacaviezel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I TOO was hoping for another Gilt by Association or maybe even a darker Mauvement color but it is definitely more purple (blackened plum) with some bronze and purple sparkles. I passed on purchasing this. I found this color reminded me of NARS Mekong. I actually prefer Mekong. IMO The Family Crest is like Beauty Marked mixed with Young Punk and a little Gilt by Association.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetmalinche on 10/29/2010 3:04:00 AM more reviews by sweetmalinche

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAC describes this as "blackened bronze with bronze pearl." This is not, I repeat, NOT blackened bronze with bronze pearl. It is blackened purple with bronze pearl. Pretty, but not what I expected. This eyeshadow is a must for purple lovers (it really is beautiful if you are into purples), but it will be a let down for those expecting a Gilt By Association-esque pigment. I don't wear purples and I was soooo looking forward to a blackened bronze pigment. In the store's softer lighting I didn't pick up any of the purple. Then I went out outside and I saw all blackened plum. I never would have purchased this if I knew it was purple. I don't know who the hell came up with the product description, but it is very misleading. Not happy. Really want a blackened bronze pigment. *off to pout*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products