NARS • Pure Matte Lipstick - Volga • Lipstick

rated 4.1(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sheresists99 on 1/31/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by sheresists99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is the most expensive lipstick that I've bought and it wasn't really worth it to be honest. The colour is very beautiful: a dark plum/wine colour. However, it did not cover all of my lips. I found that it wouldn't cover the middle of my lips and feathered quite a bit. It was also really drying. I am actually planning on returning it because I was not satisfied

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sara44 on 12/21/2013 5:07:00 PM more reviews by Sara44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR THE PERFECT DARK LIPSTICK THIS IS FOR YOU

Generally dark lips are tricky to apply, and I'm a huge nars lover so I tried this out.
It's perfect. So easy to apply, great colour, long lasting.

I'll say this again SO EASY TO APPLY.

If I ran out of this lipstick I wouldn't even look at another line for a dark lip, would definitely be purchasing this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PORTIAINDIRA on 11/3/2013 12:20:00 PM more reviews by PORTIAINDIRA

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this yesterday at Nordstorms. I wanted a lipstick similar to MAC Lip Attitude, C11 made in France, that I wear everyday. The first thing that i noticed about this lipstick was the small size and pencil width of the stick. The MAC lipstick that I'm using has a wide traditional stick. I don't have a lot of depth perception, so it is more of a challenge to put the lid on this NARS lipstick. I was afraid of breaking the NARS stick, but it rolls out with a protected slant, so my being heavy handed has not been a problem. I apply my lipstick my minivan and I don't usually use a mirror. My application of my NARS stick in this instance will be interesting because it covers 1/2 the size of my lip. I nave full natural lips. I'm a black woman. I like that the NARS matte color is dense and no joke. I don't get skip marks with this lipstick, nor do I get skips with my MAC. It is easier to feel for my fat, normal sized, MAC lipstick than my pencil sized NARS. I've already pulled out my black Sharpie marking pen thinking that it was my new NARS lipstick. No worries, I didn't apply it, Lol. With tax this NARS lipstick cost $28.15 at Nordstrom's. Part of the appeal of NARS is that it is not sold at Macy's. It's special! I have to go to Sephora, Nordstrom's, or Amazon to buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 minatigerlily on 6/22/2013 11:48:00 AM more reviews by minatigerlily

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I would recommend this lipstick to any avid purple lipstick fiend. I am on my first tube, and unfortunately lost the cap a month ago. Lipstick is still fine and I wear it regularly. 25 dollars seems a little steep, but still cheaper than some of the most expensive on the market and a good deal considering that it WORKS.

It is almost impossible to find amazing matte lipsticks and this particular one is a lovely deep plum shade that goes on smoothly. Before applying I must exfoliate my lips and if the weather is dry I put on chapstick and let it dry for about 5 minutes. Then I line and color in my entire lips with either the matching NARS fatty lip pencil, or whatever similar color on hand. Than I apply one coat of Pure Matte, blot and then use a setting powder before applying a second coat(I do this with almost everylipstick). This may seem like a lot of work, but in the end I get like 6 hours of wear with no cracking or feathering. This lipstick dries almost immediately but my lips will stay moist throughout the day.

My only complaints are that it is dryer that most formulas, but following the steps above I have found that can easily be avoided. I also enjoy the packaging, NARS always does it right keeping things sleek and sexy with all matte black casing. Only other this is that I feel they could put a little more product in for the price. It doesnt take my too long to go through one of these small tubes, especially if I am wearing everyday like in the winter. Hope this helps all round great product if your looking for a dark matte lip!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aykhan on 10/26/2012 2:40:00 AM more reviews by aykhan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a big fan of the Pure Matte line, and this colour is one of my favourites (I love dark lipstick). It applies very smoothly, with excellent colour payoff and doesn't budge. I do have to make sure that my lips are exfoliated and moisturized before applying, but I have to do that with pretty much every lipstick since my lips are super-dry.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GucciDiva on 8/19/2012 7:12:00 PM more reviews by GucciDiva

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is STUNNING.
I am very pale but I have always wanted to find a dark lip that doesn't make me look goth. This is just right. It is a purplish wine color. Like a darker version of the Never Say Never lip pencil. This pops against my blue eyes and brown hair. It is rich & deep, but not garish. It is dramatic & fabulous.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 5/21/2012 6:39:00 PM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For my 200th review I figured I would splurge and get myself something really nice. I've been on the search for a nice dark lipstick. I've been wearing mostly pinks and nudes for so long now I almost forgot about bold vampy lips. I really love this shade, its a deep dark red, almost purple but still very wearable. It looks a bit intimidating in the tube, but even on my pale skin it looks really nice. The color is buildable, just a bit for a nice plum tint, or a bit more for a dramatic aubergine. Personally I did not find this too drying, but the last time I experimented with deep matte lips was the early days of longwear lippie, and that stuff was awful. I didn't have any problems with it kissing off, but it did end up on my straws and napkins. Definitely apply this with a lip brush, that is something I didnt know in my younger years when wearing deep shades. Precision is necessary, otherwise, well its just a mess. The price is a bit steep, with tax it was right around $30, but hey we all deserve a treat sometimes.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lorrlabi on 1/24/2011 3:37:00 AM more reviews by lorrlabi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love how the color on the stick is the color you'll get on your lips. This one def. looks like it shows on the stick- colorwise. It's a very deep wine color that dramatizes any look.. and is a night time lipstick. It is very matte.. to the point you may need a lip balm before or during. It does last a long time, which is great esp. when you're eating/drinking during dinner. Stay power is awesome. It is expensive, but it is one of the best matte lipsticks out there. I found that I had to be very neat with application otherwise it can look like you didn't know how to put lipstick on. Another thing to keep in mind is make sure your teeth are white/ivory/clean or else is it may not be so flattering on you. Lovez it.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 janehathaway on 10/27/2010 9:06:00 PM more reviews by janehathaway

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this lipstick. The color is gorgeous (classic vampy) and it lasts FOREVER. It is a bit drying though so I deducted one star. Not the fault of the product, but the aging process - it feathers a bit on my 44 year old lips after a few hours. Love it though.

Edited: I removed one lippie as I just never wear this lipstick. It's TOO matte for my 45 year old skin. The color is nice, but it feathers horribly no matter what I do. Probably not the fault of the product, but of my aging skin though!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aeternitas on 10/26/2010 1:24:00 AM more reviews by Aeternitas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Lately I have been experimenting with bright, unusual colors like fuchsia and bright purple, but I've never been brave enough to try a bold, dark color such as this (at least not in public), until this morning at the mall when I wandered into Sephora. Needless to say, I'm very new to this whole "lipstick" thing and I was pretty hesitant about trying this on. Volga was winking at me from the Nars section the moment I walked into the store. How could I resist?


Volga is to die for. I am stupidly shocked at how amazing it looked on me. I have no better way to describe it other than a bloody purple; a remarkably bold mix of plum wine and blood red, with even opacity and long-wearing capability. It is the absolute epitome of my ideal fall lipstick, and is very up-to-date with current fall trends and looks. Volga is vivacious and bold, yet maintains a classic edge on its own level. It is entirely matte, and the unfortunate catch with nearly all matte lip products is drying lips. Yes, it's drying, regardless of being marketed as a moisturizing matte. I would strongly suggest applying a lip balm or some kind of moisturizing primer underneath this, or you'll be applying balm excessively after wearing it. Also, this is such a ridiculously small portion of product, but I guess it's more than the matte lip pencils. Another downside is that it's just the slightest bit difficult to apply; it doesn't go on quite as smoothly as other lipsticks, but this is because it's so matte and dry. This is the only reason why I cannot give Volga a 5 star rating. Otherwise, look no further for the perfect bruised burgundy lipstick.

I looked in the Nars section for a lip liner, and there was not a color match! I had to get Make Up For Ever lip pencil in 13c, which is almost scary how similar the colors are. You almost cannot tell the difference between the two; I've provided a picture of this above! If you want a lip liner to go with this color, keep MUFE 13C in mind.


I have to say that it's about time Francois released a line of matte lipsticks! I must also admit that, although I really love Nars eye and face products, I have never really cared for the slick feel and typical greasy texture of their lipsticks and glosses. This is definitely an optimistic release and a big step up from their usual lip product lines. Because of Volga's ultimate fierceness, I want all of the other colors in the matte line; and nothing will stop me from buying Volga again, when I run out.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NARS products

More Lipstick products