NARS • Pure Matte Lipstick - Volga • Lipstick

rated 4.2(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ayushin on 12/8/2014 10:24:00 AM more reviews by ayushin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Volga is very nice vampy shade, very unique. I found this vampy lips very wearable. It glides like a dream for the first swipe, very opaque and matte. Too bad about 2 hour this made my lips dry, even chapped gasp! why?! i really love this lipsticks. Also whenever i eat/drink, its not even something greasy etc this lipstick fade unevenly, forming a ring around my lip line. Very unattractive. 3 lippies because of the formula, but i'll keep using it because i love the shade (stubborn one, i know) plus it's quite expensive. I won't repurchase thou

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 absolia on 10/8/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by absolia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the perfect vampy lippy. It's so bold and substantial and matte. It's very 90's and for that I adore it. I always gravitated towards more red-based bold lipsticks and while I loved them [especially from NARS], after a few months I'd get bored. I think the red base is what bored me. There is no red to be found in Volga. Purple-y without being garish, goth without being Hot Topic. It's divine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Narsfanatic on 8/29/2014 2:14:00 AM more reviews by Narsfanatic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to lipstick. Nars pure matte is one of the best matte formulas around- less drying than a lot of other brands out there. Volga is a deep aubergine, and I'm on my third tube already! Perfect for those who really want to make a statement

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blair_77_1999 on 8/16/2014 1:40:00 AM more reviews by blair_77_1999

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Gorgeous but I also bought Revlon Black Cherry & it is an exact dupe.I bought it to carry around when I don't want to run the risk of losing my $30 Nars.Its also a dupe to Tom Ford Black Orchid which I also had but ran out which put me on the hunt for Volga.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sheresists99 on 1/31/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by sheresists99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is the most expensive lipstick that I've bought and it wasn't really worth it to be honest. The colour is very beautiful: a dark plum/wine colour. However, it did not cover all of my lips. I found that it wouldn't cover the middle of my lips and feathered quite a bit. It was also really drying. I am actually planning on returning it because I was not satisfied

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sara44 on 12/21/2013 5:07:00 PM more reviews by Sara44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR THE PERFECT DARK LIPSTICK THIS IS FOR YOU

Generally dark lips are tricky to apply, and I'm a huge nars lover so I tried this out.
It's perfect. So easy to apply, great colour, long lasting.

I'll say this again SO EASY TO APPLY.

If I ran out of this lipstick I wouldn't even look at another line for a dark lip, would definitely be purchasing this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PORTIAINDIRA on 11/3/2013 12:20:00 PM more reviews by PORTIAINDIRA

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this yesterday at Nordstorms. I wanted a lipstick similar to MAC Lip Attitude, C11 made in France, that I wear everyday. The first thing that i noticed about this lipstick was the small size and pencil width of the stick. The MAC lipstick that I'm using has a wide traditional stick. I don't have a lot of depth perception, so it is more of a challenge to put the lid on this NARS lipstick. I was afraid of breaking the NARS stick, but it rolls out with a protected slant, so my being heavy handed has not been a problem. I apply my lipstick my minivan and I don't usually use a mirror. My application of my NARS stick in this instance will be interesting because it covers 1/2 the size of my lip. I nave full natural lips. I'm a black woman. I like that the NARS matte color is dense and no joke. I don't get skip marks with this lipstick, nor do I get skips with my MAC. It is easier to feel for my fat, normal sized, MAC lipstick than my pencil sized NARS. I've already pulled out my black Sharpie marking pen thinking that it was my new NARS lipstick. No worries, I didn't apply it, Lol. With tax this NARS lipstick cost $28.15 at Nordstrom's. Part of the appeal of NARS is that it is not sold at Macy's. It's special! I have to go to Sephora, Nordstrom's, or Amazon to buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 minatigerlily on 6/22/2013 11:48:00 AM more reviews by minatigerlily

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I would recommend this lipstick to any avid purple lipstick fiend. I am on my first tube, and unfortunately lost the cap a month ago. Lipstick is still fine and I wear it regularly. 25 dollars seems a little steep, but still cheaper than some of the most expensive on the market and a good deal considering that it WORKS.

It is almost impossible to find amazing matte lipsticks and this particular one is a lovely deep plum shade that goes on smoothly. Before applying I must exfoliate my lips and if the weather is dry I put on chapstick and let it dry for about 5 minutes. Then I line and color in my entire lips with either the matching NARS fatty lip pencil, or whatever similar color on hand. Than I apply one coat of Pure Matte, blot and then use a setting powder before applying a second coat(I do this with almost everylipstick). This may seem like a lot of work, but in the end I get like 6 hours of wear with no cracking or feathering. This lipstick dries almost immediately but my lips will stay moist throughout the day.

My only complaints are that it is dryer that most formulas, but following the steps above I have found that can easily be avoided. I also enjoy the packaging, NARS always does it right keeping things sleek and sexy with all matte black casing. Only other this is that I feel they could put a little more product in for the price. It doesnt take my too long to go through one of these small tubes, especially if I am wearing everyday like in the winter. Hope this helps all round great product if your looking for a dark matte lip!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aykhan on 10/26/2012 2:40:00 AM more reviews by aykhan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a big fan of the Pure Matte line, and this colour is one of my favourites (I love dark lipstick). It applies very smoothly, with excellent colour payoff and doesn't budge. I do have to make sure that my lips are exfoliated and moisturized before applying, but I have to do that with pretty much every lipstick since my lips are super-dry.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GucciDiva on 8/19/2012 7:12:00 PM more reviews by GucciDiva

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is STUNNING.
I am very pale but I have always wanted to find a dark lip that doesn't make me look goth. This is just right. It is a purplish wine color. Like a darker version of the Never Say Never lip pencil. This pops against my blue eyes and brown hair. It is rich & deep, but not garish. It is dramatic & fabulous.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products