Serge Lutens • Ambre Sultan • Fragrances

rated 3.8(141 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 5/31/2013 3:03:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Tanned skin, unruly hair, bare feet on some cracked, red earth, something nomadic and very very attractive.

On my skin, Ambre Sultan is more leather than amber and that's why more wearable than many fragrances from this house. (I find their dried fruits a bit too sweet and overwhelming) It opens with herbal notes that some of us may find medicinal, but I love it as much as the spicy vicks-like note that joins in later. There is some patch in Ambre Sultan and it smells sour (like that of Gucci) for a brief second but then everything finds great balance and depth... a bit sweet, a bit earthy, a bit spicy, a bit leathery. To me, it resembles Andy Tauer's Le Maroc pour Elle - which I like a lot- but is paler and therefore more wearable.

Ambre Sultan makes me think of Petra ruins in Jordan, with ancient magnificence and vastness. I find it addictive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 soitgoes on 8/13/2012 9:01:00 PM more reviews by soitgoes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ambre Sultan is a smoky amber on me. When I wear this, I am transported to the deep woods on a dewy, overcast fall morning. The morning air smells sweet as I trudge over wet foliage, trees are starting to get heavy with sap, and there is a detectable smell of smoky, charred wood from a campfire from the night before. This is like a memory for me.

Being female, the strong blast of fragrance right away is a little too much for me (feels quite masculine). But after a few hours, it mellows out beautifully. This amber is definitely worth trying at least once.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlamDiva on 11/24/2011 4:18:00 PM more reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ambre Sultan is a gourmand amber full of spices. A unisex fragrance, but IMO Ambre Sultan leans more toward the masculine. LM Ambre Passion is very similar but more powdery and feminine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Concord on 9/11/2011 1:20:00 PM more reviews by Concord

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

When this wa released, together with Rose de Nuit in, I think, 1993 there weren't many upscale ambers around, but I was still familiar to the concept of amber through oils and incenses from oriental shops and loved those smells. I first read about it in french Vogue describing it as a perfume for kings. I was immediately obsessed with the idea of it. The extreme orientalism and the timeless, luxurious-looking bottle. This was before the Internet was in every mans home so it took me years to even try the wax sample. I finally procured my bottle some years ago, via full bottles of Chergui and Muscs Koublaļ Khan, and love it dearly. Now, with the release of Lutens death-song De Profundis, I'm overwhelmed by these memories. How unusual and exotic and romantic the whole concept was back then. And me, a young poor man dreaming of affording/getting hold of a bottle. It's a flying carpet straight out of the Arabian Nights and I hope to always have it in my possession.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Giggio on 9/2/2011 4:19:00 AM more reviews by Giggio

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite fragances and a keeper for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SNIFFMEALLOVER on 8/1/2011 2:14:00 AM more reviews by SNIFFMEALLOVER

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Dry and bitter with a hint of sweetness. Nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 3/13/2011 6:23:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: coriander, sandalwood, bay leaf, patchouli, angelica, resins and myrrh.

This fragrance opens with a spice accord comprised of coriander, bay leaf and a dash of patchouli. It is warm and dry with a sweetish undertone due to the myrrh. As the fragrance progresses, the bay leaf becomes the dominant note, but thankfully myrrh softens the herbal-green qualities of the leaf. The notes develop quite inconsistently on my skin: at times they are metallic and flat only to become rich and aromatic again. The amber I see throughout the fragrance's development is in my opinion actually an accord, a composite of the other notes, for towards the end it dissolves into its single components again. This is not my favourite amber fragrance. Lasts for more than 4 hours on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amilita on 9/22/2010 11:31:00 AM more reviews by Amilita

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My other ambers bow down to the Sultan! I am a huge amber fan and Ambre Sultan is the pinnacle of perfection. I love the odd herbal bitterness of the opening and the drydown manages to be sweet, rich and deep without being at all cloying. It lasts all day, and then comes blossoming forth beautifully again when I work out (or get busy!) in the evening. I hope to never be without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bassclef on 8/16/2010 10:13:00 PM more reviews by Bassclef

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

A stunning rich amber. Resinous, sappy, warm, spiced but not "spicy." I'm not getting any herbs per se, or dried fruit like other reviewers--the main impression is of honeyed sap, melting with the heat of incense. A very low-key sweetened vanilla base, but by no means "sweet." A must-try. I can't wait for cooler weather to anoint myself with this and let it warm me from the autumn chill.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smake on 7/11/2010 8:41:00 PM more reviews by smake

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

musk sticks, sandalwood, frankincense, resiny.. oranges. sometimes smoky, sometimes sweet. love. (for ref: not as smoky as Fumerie Turque) Sillage was great at first on my skin, muskiness really shon, now the drydown is allot of resin and frankincense. SL rocks my world!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products