Serge Lutens Ambre Sultan

3.8

144 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/14/2015 5:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Edit: added a star because I have started using this more as a base note for other perfumes.

Smokey, amber, leathery, resinous, not too sweet, especially in comparison to the Bois et fruit series, chergui, and other Lutens. Even reformulated, ambre Sultan is a favorite.

As per the lutens sales person at Barneys, I have been using Ambre Sultan layered with other Lutens fragrances to add weight, heft or structure (Dabbed, not sprayed). Recently more and more lutens are available on line for discounted prices, and some blind-ish purchases end up being too sweet. For example, Ambre Sultan and Jeux de Peau seems to tone down the popcorn opening of JdP on my skin. The combination becomes a cross between Etro heliotrope and Caron Farnesiana. If you google lutens and scent layering, you come up with a variety of ideas, including suggestions from Serge Lutens, such as Ambre Sultan and bois Vanille; or chergui and a la nuit. (I also use original MKK for an animalic type of layering.

Ambre Sultan is not overtly powdery in the dry down (like, older renditions of. Fumerie Turque or Chergui).

Note: I wish my DH would consider wearing Ambre Sultan. He used to like this type of fragrance. In fact, in the 1980s, he wore the original Lagerfeld for men (as distinguished from the current one - it's not labelled 'classic'). However, he is very happy with Malles. Vetiver extraordinaire and doesn't really rotate fragrances.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 1/10/2015 3:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a deep, dark scent for a bold woman. On me this is amber, very resinous, with incense and something kind of silky, perhaps a touch of vanilla, and smoky burning fragrant wood on a fire. It is a fragrance that seems to project heat...meaning that it resonates and simmers on my skin and, like a reviewer below, in scent reminds me of flaming hot orange embers in a fire that pulsate with heat and smoky richness, long after flames have disappeared. It could be worn by a man or woman. The scent lasts all day and night on me, even remaining after a shower. Use care with this because too much spritzed on will overpower your neighbors. To visualize this perfume, I think of a self-confident, powerful woman in a tuxedo made for a woman, in black high heels, like a black-and-white-film screen siren of yesteryear. Her jacket is tailored so it hugs her curves. She wears no shirt under that jacket, so black lace of her bra peeks out. Her dark eye makeup is sultry and slightly smudged. In the room she commands every person's secret desires and she knows it. Later that night, she enters the hotel room where her lover is waiting; she tosses her hair back, unbuttons the jacket, and fully reveals the black lingerie and more, for the lover who has pleaded for her attention. That kind of power is ambre sultan, on the woman whose chemistry agrees with it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2014 5:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Ambre Sultan is my first Serge Lutens; a very warm and exotic scent.

Top: amber and spices (oregano and bay in particular, how interesting! Slightly foody)
Middle: amber and sandalwood (dense, robust, maybe a hint of play dough in a pleasant way)
Base: amber and vanilla (after the exotic spicy first course Christopher Sheldrake serves us desert to finish with)

Throughout the whole development there are more resins and myrrh detected, adding a rich smokey quality. It's actually a multilayered fragrance, each spray provides long hours of olfactory pleasure.

For me it's mostly suitable to cold weather and definitely not one to spray in a rush; some scents simply deserve to be savored.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/31/2013 3:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Tanned skin, unruly hair, bare feet on some cracked, red earth, something nomadic and very very attractive.

On my skin, Ambre Sultan is more leather than amber and that's why more wearable than many fragrances from this house. (I find their dried fruits a bit too sweet and overwhelming) It opens with herbal notes that some of us may find medicinal, but I love it as much as the spicy vicks-like note that joins in later. There is some patch in Ambre Sultan and it smells sour (like that of Gucci) for a brief second but then everything finds great balance and depth... a bit sweet, a bit earthy, a bit spicy, a bit leathery. To me, it resembles Andy Tauer's Le Maroc pour Elle - which I like a lot- but is paler and therefore more wearable.

Ambre Sultan makes me think of Petra ruins in Jordan, with ancient magnificence and vastness. I find it addictive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2012 9:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ambre Sultan is a smoky amber on me. When I wear this, I am transported to the deep woods on a dewy, overcast fall morning. The morning air smells sweet as I trudge over wet foliage, trees are starting to get heavy with sap, and there is a detectable smell of smoky, charred wood from a campfire from the night before. This is like a memory for me.

Being female, the strong blast of fragrance right away is a little too much for me (feels quite masculine). But after a few hours, it mellows out beautifully. This amber is definitely worth trying at least once.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/24/2011 4:18:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Ambre Sultan is a gourmand amber full of spices. A unisex fragrance, but IMO Ambre Sultan leans more toward the masculine. LM Ambre Passion is very similar but more powdery and feminine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2011 1:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When this wa released, together with Rose de Nuit in, I think, 1993 there weren't many upscale ambers around, but I was still familiar to the concept of amber through oils and incenses from oriental shops and loved those smells. I first read about it in french Vogue describing it as a perfume for kings. I was immediately obsessed with the idea of it. The extreme orientalism and the timeless, luxurious-looking bottle. This was before the Internet was in every mans home so it took me years to even try the wax sample. I finally procured my bottle some years ago, via full bottles of Chergui and Muscs Koublaļ Khan, and love it dearly. Now, with the release of Lutens death-song De Profundis, I'm overwhelmed by these memories. How unusual and exotic and romantic the whole concept was back then. And me, a young poor man dreaming of affording/getting hold of a bottle. It's a flying carpet straight out of the Arabian Nights and I hope to always have it in my possession.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2011 4:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of my favorite fragances and a keeper for a long time.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Dry and bitter with a hint of sweetness. Nice.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Notes: coriander, sandalwood, bay leaf, patchouli, angelica, resins and myrrh.

This fragrance opens with a spice accord comprised of coriander, bay leaf and a dash of patchouli. It is warm and dry with a sweetish undertone due to the myrrh. As the fragrance progresses, the bay leaf becomes the dominant note, but thankfully myrrh softens the herbal-green qualities of the leaf. The notes develop quite inconsistently on my skin: at times they are metallic and flat only to become rich and aromatic again. The amber I see throughout the fragrance's development is in my opinion actually an accord, a composite of the other notes, for towards the end it dissolves into its single components again. This is not my favourite amber fragrance. Lasts for more than 4 hours on my skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1377 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Back to Top