The Body Shop • Spiced Vanilla Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.9(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Dolly444 on 6/28/2013 10:40:00 AM more reviews by Dolly444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My first introduction to Body Shop butters was a couple of years ago when a friend brought her 'Christmas body butter' into sixth form. It smelt so divine I had to take the name down (Vanilla Spice or something and it had little gold bits in) so I could track down a tub for moi :D Apparently, after months of fruitless searching, this Christmas only special had been discontinued and replaced with Spiced Vanilla instead.

This tub was nowhere near as satisfying as the one my friend had. It was moisturising yes, but it was much more of a cream than a butter. It was really soft and smelt nice, but didn't match up to the old version with gold bits in.

Funnily enough, the same time I purchased this butter, I also got the Spiced Vanilla lip balm, which must have been the old formula because it smells a hundred times better than the body version!

Taking into account the price tag of this body butter and the fact I wasn't completely thrilled, I don't think I would be purchasing this product again (except maybe in the January sale at half price!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thirdsword on 8/7/2012 1:00:00 AM more reviews by thirdsword

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so glad that the Body Shop replaced their Nutmeg and Vanilla with this. I think I like Spiced Vanilla just as much as good old Vanilla Spice! Unlike its predecessor, SV definitely has some spice to it! It's sweet and gourmand, but not overly so; it's a divine concoction that makes me think of desserts... I wish there was an EDT of this! As usual, it's great at moisturizing. I hope that TBS sticks with Spiced Vanilla this year, but I'm afraid of them replacing their holiday vanilla scent yet again so I have a second tub with me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ClassyMinx on 7/5/2012 7:57:00 PM more reviews by ClassyMinx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I received this body butter as a gift. It's okay, but I don't love it. Although it's mildy moisturizing, I have tried many other BS bodybutters that are more nourishing on my skin. As for the smell, I much prefer fruity scents. I find the vanilla to be sickly sweet. I like neutral, fresh, and fruity scents. I wear perfume everyday and don't really want my moisturizer clashing with the smell of my perfume. If you like vanilla then you'll like this. If you're looking for an effective moisturizer, then keep looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raggie92 on 6/13/2012 4:26:00 AM more reviews by raggie92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This body butter is quite moisturising as expected and smells really lovely. The sweet smell of the vanilla, and a light note of Cinnamon as well. I use it more as a hand cream and for my joints because it tend to be overly rich for my natural skin somehow.

However, when my skin feels really dry and flaky, I would use it all over after exfoliation. I won't repurchase it because the tub is so huge and I could never finish one in a year. And I still have a brand new one as back-up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChristinaMarieT on 3/13/2012 4:02:00 AM more reviews by ChristinaMarieT

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was a little disappointed with this product. The vanilla scent is very toned down, to the extent that it's only a hint of vanilla, with lots of spice. I was hoping for the opposite. However, the scent is very original, intriguing, and pretty, so it may catch other noses. As a body butter, it's moisturizing, but not deeply so, and very thick. Overall, I just wasn't impressed. The Body Shop carries more moisturizing body butters with definitely more pleasant scents, so I won't be getting this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CosmeticMadness on 3/10/2012 5:35:00 PM more reviews by CosmeticMadness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

I'm in love with the smell of this product. It's absolutely amazing and I've never smelled anything like it before! The only problem seems to be that I find it really greasy, but that doesn't particularly bother me hugely. Overall I like the product and I wish it was available all year round.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miss_Porcelain on 2/9/2012 3:27:00 AM more reviews by Miss_Porcelain

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

OMG i love the smell of this and the consistency is great. It's not greasy just perfect. Wish they sold it all year round!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 infrared258 on 1/29/2012 4:49:00 PM more reviews by infrared258

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first body butter from the body shop and I wasn't sure about buying it. But now I'm really glad I did. It has very thick consistency which is normal for a butter I suppose:) As it's very thick it moisturizes the skin heavenly. Only down side is that it contains parabens. So if you have extremely sensitive skin you might wanna consider buying something else. Other than that it's great. The smell is awesome in my opinion. So if you like the smell of it I don't think you'll regret buying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maan84 on 1/14/2012 1:28:00 PM more reviews by maan84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am a big fan of the body butters from The Body Shop. They are a must-have, especially in the winter season. It's so rich and emollient. It is the most moisturizing body butter/body lotion I have ever tried. Other stuff I've tried is usually not moisturizing enough. As for the Spiced Vanilla scent it's not my cup of tea. I usally like vanilla scents, for example I love the vanilla body mist. However, there is something about this vanilla scent that I'm not that into. It might be the spice part of the scent I don't like, dunno. Spiced Vanilla was limited edition (Christmas 2011). Even if it was part of their standard products I would not repurchase this particular scent. However, I will keep bying body butters cause I love them and my skin need them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* binkari on 1/3/2012 12:50:00 AM more reviews by binkari

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I brought this along for a regular holiday trip to Reno, NV because previous experiences have revealed that 1) it's really dry there, but 2) it's even drier in hotels, where the air is constantly being cycled through the air conditioner and 3) being constantly assaulted by scratchy hotel towels doesn't help. As a result, normal body lotions never cut it-- I end up slathering a ton of it on, only to get itchy, flaky patches in problem areas within the hour.


Enter this body butter. I tossed a tub of this stuff into my bags and we were off! Long story short: this saved our skins. Literally. I'm not a connoisseur of body butters, but this stuff was so rich and emollient, my skin felt moisturized and SO soft to the touch for hours and hours, especially after a shower. It relieves dry skin in a jiffy, but does leave a noticeable, oily texture behind (which isn't unusual, given what's in a body butter). I'm actually okay with it, since my skin was well-protected because of it, and while you might feel a little greasy, it's not sticky at all.


Scent-wise, it's not really my cup of tea. I'm not a fan of any fragrances associated with food products (more of a crisp/fresh scent kinda gal), but this didn't make me feel like I was a walking pastry. The vanilla is definitely there, but it fades into the background and you're left with some mild spices. It's not overpowering, and even my fiance was okay with this stuff. As an added bonus, it masked the smell of cigarette smoke that clung to us in the casinos.


Bottom-line: I'd definitely recommend TBS body butters to people in drier climates, but probably not in this particular fragrance since it's limited edition and I'm not a huge fan of "food-y" aromas (I scored this as an extra in a seasonal promotion). The slightly-greasy feel might be a dealbreaker for some, but I think that characteristic just comes with the body butter territory and isn't particular to ones from TBS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products