Mane 'n Tail Conditioner

3.8

168 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine Lactate, Distearyldimonium Chloride, Stearyl Alcohol, Emulsifying Wax NF, Cetyl Alcohol, Coconut Oil, Glycerin, Sodium Chloride, Vegetable Oil, Fragrance, Hydrolyzed Protein, Lanolin, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, FD&C Yellow #5.


on 2/28/2015 11:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I have virgin Asian hair. I don't use any styling products and rarely use heat. I used this in conjunction with the Mane 'n Tail shampoo. I couldn't tell the difference between when I used this conditioner and when I didn't. My hair is not detangled, shinier, or smoother feeling. I still use it occasionally to finish it, but I don't reach for it often.

Overall, this conditioner didn't do anything for me and I won't be repurchasing.



on 2/20/2015 2:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I echo other reviewers. This product made my hair feel dry after one use and waxy with buildup. Hair was flat and oily by bedtime... Don't use it if you have thin/damaged hair. Back to Amazon it goes!


on 2/1/2015 4:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I ABSOLUTELY HATE THIS SHAMPOO! It worked for the first couple months but now it decided to hate me! I'm glad I ran out of this product because I don't want to deal with frizzy, split ended hair anymore. Thanks to Tresemme anti-breakage shampoo my hair is finally healthy again!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a fantastic conditioner! It really works to strengthen my hair and I love the smell. I've been trying to grow my hair out, and this conditioner and the shampoo does a very good job at nourishing and strengthening my dry, curly hair. My hair is already beginning to look thicker, healthier and my split ends don't get as severe as they used to get. Along with taking biotin supplements, my hair has been getting thicker and is looking longer and longer. Whenever I use the shampoo and conditioner, my blowout can last a bit longer, and I don't need to wash it as often. This is definitely recommended if you are trying to grow out your hair, and especially if you don't want to be washing/blow-drying your hair as often!

I just take a big glob of it and massage it throughly into my hair, making sure to get it in every bit of my thick hair. I then put it up in a bun while I shave, wash my body, etc..then I rinse it out. My wet hair feels so much smoother after its all rinsed out!

The only thing I am concerned about though is that I have been getting a lot of buildup on my hair recently. It may be caused by mane n tail, it could be my styling products or it may be because I have hard water, so I'm not exactly sure if the mane n tail is the culprit. I'll update if I figure out whats going on! I'm going to start doing a clarifying treatment regularly though, so its not exactly a huge deal.

I would definitely buy this again!


on 1/11/2015 3:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Bought this with the shampoo about 4 weeks ago, it might actually be the best conditioner I've ever used!
I used to have extensions in, so when I had them taken out I felt well bald, hence I've been on a one woman mission to get it looking thick and healthy ever since and this product was recommended for exactly that. I've had so many compliments on how shiny my hair is since I've been using this, it doesn't look or smell like much but the proof is in the puddin! It makes my hair feel like silk and I'm hoping over time if will also improve the condition XD

*TIP when rinsing out your conditioner use cold water- as cold as you can stand, it closes the cuticles making the hair reflect light better so it looks shiny and it makes hair easier to comb so there's reduced chance for breakage.
Xx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/30/2014 4:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I had several packets of this conditioner along with the coordinating shampoo that I took with me for use while I was away on vacation. I used this for 2 weeks straight so I feel like that was adequate to give this a proper review. This is a leave in conditioner and like that since it is one less step and quickens my shower time. This was easy to apply over my damp hair. I had to use quite a bit since my hair is long and very dry. I was able to just barely comb through my hair with a wet hair comb but it took some work as this does not leave a silky slippery feeling like other conditioners I have used. It did not leave my hair scented as I like when it's clean and fresh. It worked in well and conditoned my hair in preparation for heat styling. My hair still felt dry and I really wanted to really like this and even with a positive impression going into this based on reviews and all the raves I've heard about this but I just soooo wasn't impressed. It's not worth all the hype. It served it's purpose but just barely. I have used much better products for conditioning. Maybe this works great for some people, but it really didn't for me.


on 10/13/2014 8:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Mane 'n tail conditioner works really well with my hair (despite its initially off-putting thin consistency), and based on the ingredient list, is silicone free! I like to use it on my ends in the showre, and sometimes I use it as a leave in. I use it a lot as a mask, too--just mix 4 parts conditioner with 1 part aloe and 1 part honey. Warm it up a little in the microwave, and apply! (recipe originally from http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=128). It smells pretty nice, is pretty cheap (around $8 for 32 oz where I am), and that huge bottle lasts forever. Only downside is theat 32 oz of product is a little unwieldy--I solve that problem by putting it in a smaller bottle, and refilling when the bottle gets empty (I use a condiment squeeze bottle).


on 8/27/2014 1:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Really enjoy this line. I used it when I was younger and silly me thought I should use other products. I am not back to using this and love the shine and softness it gives my hair.
Even after the first wash you could see a big difference. I love that the scent is not a fruity one and LOVE that the scent lingers on my hair well after washing, none of my others do this.
I use it on my daughter who is now 6 and she has super long healthy haid well past her bottom. We have to keep trimming just to is doesn't get any longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like this stuff! My hair is baby fine and quite thin, so it breaks off easily. This is a protein conditioner so it helps strengthen my hair, but if I use it too often it makes my hair drier, I think they call it "protein overload", so I alternate with Matrix Conditioning Balm. I'm not a fan of the smell, it smells like cheap liquid hand soap. And I have to use a lot of it since it's thin and watery, but I only paid $2.50 for it and I bought two 16oz bottles so the price is justifiable :)


on 7/3/2014 11:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Two bottles and counting. My hair loves this stuff. It only means one thing: I am part horse! :D

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Products


Moroccan Oil
805 Reviews
Deep Repair Mask
302 Reviews
Back to Top