China Glaze • Swing Baby • Polishes

rated 4.4(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 gracep on 10/12/2012 12:55:00 PM more reviews by gracep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm astounded no one has had any problems with this product's application. It still gets 3 stars from me because the colour is truly beautiful, but the last time I had application this bad was when I used to use those crappy $2 nail polished from the chemist. So streaky and goopy that I needed 3 coats--but then about maybe two or three hous(!) later, my hand touched something and the polish got scooped off in places. If a polish isn't dry after a couple of hours, and isn't free of streaks after the first two coats, I'd say there's a problem! A day later I tried to fix the mistakes in the polish finish by going over with another coat--but again the polish was so streaky that one more coat wasn't enough. After 5 coats, still with streaks, I just thought I'd let it be. The colour was getting darker than preferable with all those coats anyway.

The colour is simply divine. It's such a classy, luxurious shade. If you've tried silvers and golds and felt like they haven't really been what you wanted, give this a go. It's a lovely champagne colour, like gold, silver, and brown mixed together, with a lot of shimmer. I think it really tells you how good the colour is when, after using 5 coats and feeling like it took an unbelievable amount of time to dry, I'd still use it again and buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OhsnappitsEm on 1/22/2012 12:18:00 AM more reviews by OhsnappitsEm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this nail polish during the colder seasons! Swing baby is a very pretty shimmery champagne/taupe color that is right on trend for the winter and fall. The color changes depending on the lighting and it also has little specks of glitter that are not chunky in the least bit. The formula of this one is a little thinner compared to my other China glaze polishes but it went on very smooth and even and only two coats were needed for it to become opaque. I wore the China Glaze base coat under this and it lasted for about five days with the slightest bit of tip wear before I wanted to change my nails up. If you could only have one color for the fall and winter I would totally suggest this one! I can't wait to wear it again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 madddiemom on 1/8/2012 9:40:00 PM more reviews by madddiemom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm surprised this polish doesn't get more love. It was so easy to apply. Went on smooth and covered in two coats. I put seche over the top and it dried quickly. It reminds me a lot of muppets designer de better without the copper flecks. It is such a shiny, metallic champagne gold, it looked more like a metallic taupe in the bottle but went on closer to the champagne gold color. It is so pretty and definitely work appropriate. Great polish!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polishnut on 12/31/2011 3:01:00 PM more reviews by polishnut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

China Glaze's Swing Baby is a champagne-colored polish with a heavy foil finish. This is the perfect shade for someone not wanting the complete yellowiness of a gold polish. Application was perfect - very smooth, not runny or gloopy, and total opacity in two coats with no streaks or bubbling. CG has gotten better with their drying time as well - very quick at about three minutes between coats. I was able to get a full week of wear out of this with only minor tip wear and would definitely buy this one again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TwiPixie on 12/22/2011 8:49:00 PM more reviews by TwiPixie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I feel like I was drawn to this nail polish because the color selection of nail polishes in Portugal isn't as nice as I'd like it to be (or maybe I just don't look around enough) but when I got it, and keep in mind it was my first ever 'nicer' nail polish, I just loved it. It looks very deep and dark in the container however I feel that you'd need many layers to get to that color, which is fine because I love how to layers look this pale goldish color. The formula is so different from everything else I tried, it's runny, while all my others nail polishes are thicker. It took my a while to get used to that but now I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LuxyLee on 11/19/2011 8:08:00 PM more reviews by LuxyLee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just purchased this and painted my nails today... I absolutely love this color! It is a tad bit similar to OPI's Designer De Better, but it's a tiny bit darker/mocha... It looks great with just one coat. I love wearing this during the holiday season because of the glitz. It's also a great color for everyday and goes well with any outfit because it is a shimmery neutral

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maan84 on 5/1/2011 8:17:00 AM more reviews by maan84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Swing Baby is a gorgeous goldish shimmery champagne color. Very pretty and versatile color. Goes with pretty much any look. Good staying power and easy to apply. I am not in love with this color but I can't deny the fact that it's very pretty. I'd probably repurchase. So far I've been very pleased with 99,9 % of my Nubar nail polishes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iEndlessly on 1/30/2011 9:39:00 PM more reviews by iEndlessly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm actually surprised how this polish has so few reviews! A glittery shimmer champagne color, this polish is what I find absolutely gorgeous for any occasion and basically goes with any look. I've used this polish for so many outfits I have worn, I am still surprised my friends compliment and ask if the polish is new (LOL).

The first layer application of the polish is very light, so to get a somewhat opaque color, two to three layers will most likely be needed. If not, this is also a great color to layer over an already opaque color (solid black, etc, etc) to create new colors : D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sferguson on 10/30/2010 4:58:00 PM more reviews by sferguson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love Love Love it ! I feel like a rockstar ! Shimmery gold , but not over the top ! Sophisticated glamour ! Love it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mskilicious on 10/17/2010 7:04:00 PM more reviews by mskilicious

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Really surprised that there are no reviews for this! Maybe it got overlooked, in this collection Bogie and Ingrid seem to have got all the love.

Swing Baby is a gorgeous neutral metallic-y champagne taupe. In some light it's pewter-toned and in others it's a very pale gold. Very shimmery but in a beautiful subdued (if something this shimmery could ever be described as subdued!) way.

Application is smooth and easy, Dry time is not the best, 3 coats followed by Seche Vite still smudged 5 mins later, which I've never experienced before. It takes 3 coats to get it fully opaque and it's very pretty this way - good lasting power, chip free for 5 days.

It comes into its own over a darker base though. Over OPI You Don't Know Jacques or Rimmel Beige Baby it is really special. The depth adds an extra dimension that I am seriously in love with. It almost counterbalances the "quirky" perception of taupe nails and for me is entirely work-appropriate. I've currently got a coat of Swing Baby over OPI Have You Seen My Limo (which always chips terribly for me - I'm hoping Swing Baby on top will help with that) and it's a really pretty shimmering silver-purple taupe. (Actually reminds me a bit of Copperclast pigment - another love!)

I really like this one and am considering a back-up. I can see myself getting a lot of use out of this through winter, into the summer months and beyond. I've never tried China Glaze polishes before and I'm impressed. Especially as these are 5.99 in the UK, versus OPI's 9.95, Nail Inc's 10.50, etc.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More China Glaze products

More Polishes products