Revlon • Super Lustrous Matte - Smoked Peach 013 • Lipstick

rated 3.2(63 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Fiache on 10/28/2014 1:14:00 AM more reviews by Fiache

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My lips - dry, quite pigmented. NC42.
This lipstick does not work very well on my lips. I tried so hard to love it, but it fails me every time I put it on. It applies patchy so I need exfoliate before, be light-handed upon application or add a gloss on top of it to make it look decent.
It's a lovely light nude peach with a tiny bit of sheen to it but not very noticeable. The color is opaque with 2 layers. It has no scent or taste to it.
The problem with this lipstick is that it just doesn't feel smooth, comfortable and creamy on my lips. It's definitely not moisturizing. It accentuates every little bit of dryness or flakes you might have on your lips. I own another super lustrous in the shade "Primrose", that one feels buttery smooth, moisturizing and is way more comfortable. The best way to apply Smoked peach is with care, this is not a "slap on without mirror" lipstick.
So bummed the formula of this lipstick didn't work out for me cause the color is very pretty and not like all the other lipstick shades offered out there. The packaging has a see-through cap which makes it easy to pick color from your lipstick holder and feels sturdy. I wouldn't bash the entire line, since Primrose worked out for me, so I guess they failed to complete the consistency of the line. It was cheap, but I will for sure never re-purchase it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AnastaciaViolet83 on 9/7/2014 4:49:00 PM more reviews by AnastaciaViolet83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This color is not for me. It is a matte peach color although it has some obvious gold glitter. The color applies patchy and the formula drying. It isn't a terrible lipstick though. This color would work very well for someone with a very warm coloring. The color just looks orange on me and not at all flattering on me. I have seen women with darker skin or tan olive skin in this color and it looks great. I also have seen blondes with peachy skin look nice in this too. The only way I could get this color to look half decent is to put on Revlon bellini gloss over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bklyncowgirl on 5/22/2014 11:57:00 AM more reviews by bklyncowgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The skinny: Thumbs up! Dabbed lightly or with deeper swipes Ė me likey! Gloss is a must to really bring this color to life. My new summer color!

This is on sale at Rite Aid for $5.99 this week (along w all lip and nail). I had a coupon for $5 off purchase of 2 lip/ nail products and snatched this up along with 820 Pink Cognito (Shine formula, which is a dud). So this ended up costing $4 after tax and all.

I really like it! As described previously, this is a lighter peach (for C3 me itís not pale) Ė a nice alternative to nude and a little more life-giving. I wear it without liner and with a gloss on top. When I tried it immediately after returning from the store, I did so after just wiping off what I had on. When applied this way, over my bare lip, it goes on thick and pretty opaque. There is a little streaking, but not much, and zero shimmer (although I do see little micro glitters when I examined the tube after reading other reviews - these are not apparent on my lips and I never would've noticed; undetectable in texture as well). Maybe the batches differed or they revised. I never ever put a lip product on without conditioning first (other than trying for color initially). But I really liked the strong effect. Put (a nice apricot) gloss over it and WOW! (I also love to top it with Maybelline Color Whisper in Coral Ambition)

Without the balm I was surprised to find it wasnít drying. However, it accentuated many lines I never realized I had. Gloss fixed that. When applied balm first, then lipstick Ė I got a much different effect, much more subtle, as expected and also very pleasing. My typical lip routine is as follows: 1) lip balm; 2) primer; 3) liner; 4) lipstick; 5) gloss.
So using Smoked Peach actually simplifies my routine.

Applied using deep swipes on dry lips, or lightly dabbed along my moisturized lips, this color works. The formula is oddly soft and moist for a matte, which I did not expect. The soft, but Ďthereí peach color is really sweet (Iím C3 in winter, MSF natural in medium in summer). This is an appropriate shade depth for my skin tone and does not wash me out in the least. In fact, I find it warms me up. I donít have a color like this and am really happy I took a chance. Very flattering for summer, especially.

Iím not crazy about the cheap looking packaging on these Revlon Lipsticks (i.e., see through cap) but they do seem durable. Remember back in the day - the cap was angular I think, and they had those 3 or 4 raised gold rings around the tube haha, I guess there has been improvement. The product itself stands on its own and somewhat justifies the high cost for drugstore ($8.99 regularly!) I would repurchase on sale, as is my rule for all drugstore products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 5/7/2014 3:20:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just bought this lipstick, and I don't know if Revlon updated it or what, but there isn't a trace of the shimmer other people commented on. This is a truly matte lipstick, which takes some getting use to if you like a little sheen like I do. That problem is solved easily enough. I just top with a little peach gloss. I like Revlon's Pango Peach on top of this. The effect of the two combined is a really pretty pale peach. Overall, this is a nice color, and it's priced right. I think I'd pick it up again if I ran out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 riceisnice on 3/22/2014 2:42:00 PM more reviews by riceisnice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not the shade for me...
Since this was from Revlon's matte line, I wouldn't have expected there to be shimmer in this lipstick. This is a warm peachy nude lipstick with fine silver shimmer in it. It does not look good on me. The shimmer makes me complexion look pasty and dead. I never wear it alone since it looks so bad on me, so I usually apply a brighter lipstick on top. I can't make any claims about its longevity since I have yet to wear it alone for more than five minutes.
The texture of this lipstick is smooth and feels a little powdery on the lips. It's a little drying, but nothing that will make my lips chapped. Despite having a matte finish, i feel like this easily moves around on my lips, and sometimes it bleeds outside of my lip line.
Not going to repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ablackmon317 on 2/16/2014 3:54:00 PM more reviews by Ablackmon317

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been on a major nude lip kick lately. I've never really been into super bright colorful lips. I came across this color and thought I'd give it a try. And I love it. I'm pretty fair (I dunno my Mac color as I've never bought Mac products before. But in cover girl 3 in 1 I'm 810 the 2nd lightest shade) and I think this looks great on me. Wore it w a "no makeup" makeup look and it gave me just the pop of color I needed and it really made my blue eyes pop! I can't believe all these bad reviews I'm reading on it cuz I really like it so far!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 poppynogood on 2/4/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by poppynogood

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Who puts shimmer in a "matte" lipstick? Not only does this have visible mica pigment in the tube, it settles into cracks and makes lips looks terribly wrinkly. The color is also weird with pale skin tones and goes on streaky and hideous. I felt like a truck stop grandma for the 3 minutes I wore this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jeniphooo on 1/26/2014 6:46:00 AM more reviews by jeniphooo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This comes off as a pale baby peach on my nc30 skin and washes me out. Won't repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Teawater on 12/22/2013 3:40:00 AM more reviews by Teawater

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is absolutely horrible, like, how did this ever get made horrible. It goes on streaky, settles into the lines on my lips and is NOT MATTE. There is a whole lot of shimmer in this product. The only way I can use this lipstick is by using a lip balm underneath it and a gloss over it. With this method, there is a need for constant reapplication.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lmm419 on 8/4/2013 1:06:00 AM more reviews by lmm419

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Green    

***** MAC DUPE ALERT *****

This is a dupe for "Ravishing" by MAC. A color that I absolutely love, by the way.

I'm NC 20, brown hair, green eyes with warm undertones. I love peach lipsticks and saw this at Walgreens on sale and with a coupon I got it for $2.50. When I saw it in the store, I thought it looked a little similar to Ravishing by MAC but figured I'd still get it considering I love peach lipsticks and the price was so right. When I swatched it next to Ravishing, I couldn't believe how similar they actually were. Almost identical. I need to post a pic to show you guys. The biggest difference is this is a matte so it's dry and no shine to it, while Ravishing is a cremesheen so it is more hydrating and has a sheen to it. Also, Ravishing is a tad more pigmented. This particular lipstick is a beautiful soft coral-peach color that looks great when paired with Bellini lipgloss by Revlon or by itself, if you don't mind dry lips, that is. If you do wear it without a gloss, exfoliate and wear lots of lip balm underneath. It's not a bold orange color at all, which is nice for days when you don't want your lips to be va va voom. I probably wouldn't repurchase this again because I love the cremesheen formulation by MAC so I would just buy Ravishing again but for anyone on a budget or just don't want to spend over fifteen bucks on a lippie, I would def recommend this color. It's so pretty. I'm not sure it would work too well on cool toned gals, though.

***** Edit: I have attached a pic to show the two colors side by side. (pic is with flash)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products