Neutrogena • Body Clear Body Spray • Skincare - Body

rated 3.3(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Productjunky123 on 6/25/2014 12:47:00 AM more reviews by Productjunky123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Deep Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually really like this stuff. I use it for my chest shoulders and back. Not that I break out much in those areas they still have bumps on them I like to get rid of completely. I use it in the morning and night right after I shower and the spray feels absolutely refreshing after a hot steamy shower. Also the 360 bottle is very clever so it's easy to spray your back with. It's not one of those "clears up your skin overnight" deals but I can notice less bumps and clearer skin. And I see a lot of people talking about the smell but it honestly doesn't bother me and I could care less as long as it's working. Most products that I've found that do work for me don't smell the greatest but I don't mind at all I rather have beautiful skin ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 12/15/2013 3:22:00 AM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an HG product for me and a multi tasker at that! I sometimes break out from sweating during workouts. Last July was the first time though that it was more than a blemish or two. I used my old standby, the acne body wash by this brand like I do anytime dreaded "bacne" appears. It helped quite a bit but I wanted to wear my tank tops, strapless dresses and it was taking too long for me.

I saw this in the store and tried it on a whim because a spray would be easy to use for my back. It really helped speed healing of those breakouts I already had, without leaving marks. Further, it seemed to help prevent future breakouts. I've since figured out I can use pretty much any old generic, orange colored acne body wash in place of the more expensive one yet this spray is not so easily dupe-able. I really loved how smooth my back and shoulders remained.

So impressed I used it on my face in place of say a BHA toner. That was a huge leap for me considering I have very dry, sensitive, often reactive skin. I'm in my 40's, not acne prone on my face but do have a tendency towards clogged pores that manifest in little bumps. I generally cannot tolerate physical exfoliation but tread lightly with any kind of chemical one as well. But this works really well for me!
I spray some on my hands after washing my face at night (never spray it directly on your face risking getting it in your eyes) then just pat it on. I wait about 20 min to a half an hour then apply my moisturizer. In the summer its often an oil. In winter its often Nivea, Vanicream, as I get so dry and need to use heavy duty products. When used regularly I always see a difference. My skin is smoother looking and feeling, less redness too, way fewer clogs, so my makeup goes on more smoothly and I can use less. The downside is its hard to find. I plan to order it online now to avoid having to search locally. A little goes a long way, a bottle lasts for ages even though I used it liberally on not just my back, but upper chest too. It helps to keep that skin looking and feeling smoother as well.
When going away I simply poured some in an empty sample sized lotion bottle. Its simple since the spray is in a screw top bottle (I dislike when sprays don't have removable tops).

All in all a great find I will continue using.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 miffffy on 11/22/2013 7:27:00 AM more reviews by miffffy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My gym friend recommended this to me and I have to say, this is an awesome product! I break out so easily on my chest and back after workouts but with this spray really helps prevent and cure my acne. I put it on before working out and use it right after until I can get to a shower and it seriously works. I like how it can spray upside down which helps when I need to spray it on my back. It smells just like an alcohol based spray, the smell doesn't bother me because it quickly goes away. It really cuts all oils on the skin, it's really handy and I would recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* csquared14 on 7/19/2013 9:04:00 PM more reviews by csquared14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good, solid product. Not great, but good, and when you have bad acne, good can still be enough to significantly improve your life. Neutrogena really does not have much in the way of competition in terms of body acne treatments at the drugstore price level, and this spray does help.


First, I've had back and chest acne basically since I was a teenager. Not fun at best, outright embarrassing at worst. I didn't think that there was anything I could do but try to swab my old BP treatments for my face onto the places I could reach on my back, so discovering this product was a huge gamechanger. It's in a spray bottle that claims it can be sprayed at any angle. While this is true, as you get down to the last of the stuff, it becomes really difficult to spray it upside down to get the center of your back, which is disappointing. While it's not expensive, it's also not dirt cheap, so you do feel like you're wasting it. It also sprays a lot of product onto not a very wide area with each spray, so things can get a bit drippy if you're trying to get your whole back.


And it does work, to a point. I saw a significant reduction in body acne when I used it consistently day and night (emphasis on CONSISTENTLY). As with any skin treatment, you really need to wait a full skin cycle (seven weeks) to see serious, noticeable results, but it did do well in terms of treating any angry breakouts I had over the course of a few days. It definitely did not get rid of my body acne completely, was useless against the occasional cystic breakout, and also did do much in the way of helping the clogged pores and blackheads I sometimes get on my shoulders from my handbag and bra straps trapping stuff on my skin. I didn't realize that there were products that could actually do better until I upgraded to the Dr. Murad version of this spray, which is ludicrously expensive but does work better (and has a retinol in it). That said, this did make me able to wear the occasional racerback shirt on occasion with dying of self-consciousness, which is kind of a huge deal to me.


I'd recommend this product and, although I've moved on, said that I would buy it again because I did for a number of years, and I'd absolutely go back to it if Dr. Murad changes his game (please don't!). Don't expect miracles or flawless skin, because it's not going to get you there on its own. But I would expect a serious improvement, and sometimes, that's enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1029384756 on 6/22/2013 10:12:00 PM more reviews by 1029384756

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

One use and my Bacne is 50% gone. The packaging makes application easy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sandyatthebeach1 on 10/1/2012 9:34:00 PM more reviews by sandyatthebeach1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on a whim when I was at my local drugstore, since I have pretty gross bacne and wanted to treat it. After using it for a while, I can say that this works pretty well! It's not a miracle product that clears up your body acne after one day, but it did help diminish my bacne and make my skin become smoother there. It has a sort of stinging alcohol-y scent when you first spray it (I try not to breath after the initial spray) but it fades in a few seconds, and I only use it at night, so it's not a big problem.
Also, a tip from experience: when you condition your hair, make sure you tilt your head to keep it from touching your skin! I realized that a huge cause for my bacne was my hair conditioner. No matter how much I rinsed, the conditioner would stick onto my skin and break me out, so when I ran out of conditioner and realized my bacne had cleared up significantly, I realized I should be more careful. Hope this helps! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arianell on 9/20/2012 6:12:00 AM more reviews by arianell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't necessarily think this body spray is awful, it just doesn't give me very noticeable results. I was very excited to try it, as I often get breakouts on my shoulders and they tend to be very stubborn, and I've been using it pretty religiously (once or twice a day) for about 2 months... I'm just not seeing a ton of improvement in my breakouts, unfortunately. I will use the rest of my bottle, but I don't think I'll buy it again unless it suddenly performs a miracle. On the plus side, I DO like the design of the 360-degree spray bottle, and the spray feels very refreshing on a hot day.

The worst thing about this body spray is definitely the smell. I tend to like the smell of Neutrogena products in general, but this doesn't smell like their soaps or shampoos, or like their other skincare products... it just has a very strong, unpleasant medicinal quality that lingers on my skin for quite a while. I wish Neutrogena would do more to mask whatever causes that scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PositivelyRadiant on 9/12/2012 1:48:00 PM more reviews by PositivelyRadiant

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have bought many bottles of this wonderful product and nothing seems to work better to help relieve my chest acne. I only need to use this spray once or twice a week to keep my chest from flaring up. I rarely get pimples on my face but my chest can break out really badly and I use Neutrogena's Body Clear Body Scrub daily. I find that if I use the body spray daily, my skin becomes too dry and starts to peel. Also, after I spray my skin, I need to wait about 5 minutes for my skin to dry before I put on any clothes, otherwise I'm concerned that I may discolor my clothing. Altogether, between the spray and the scrub, I have my chest acne under control.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cleo_satsweet on 7/4/2012 1:02:00 PM more reviews by cleo_satsweet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Does not work

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sio2 on 6/22/2012 1:47:00 PM more reviews by sio2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have had the strangest struggles with mild and stubborn adult acne since I stopped taking birth control pills over a year ago. I have used several different oral prescription medications (solodyn, spironolactone) for the acne that I get on my chest and back and while they did work, I didn't like being so dependent on oral prescriptions --- especially since one was an antibiotic and the other altered my hormones.

I slowly weened myself off of 100mg daily of the Spiro and continued using a once daily benzoyl peroxide 10% wash (I buy a 4-pack of the oxyclean on amazon for less than $20, and I also let it sit on my skin for several minutes in the shower before washing) and started using this body spray when I randomly came across it at my local CVS. I have used the Neutogena Body Clear Scrub/Wash in the past, but it did absolutely nothing for me, so it took me a few minutes to decide if I should try this product. However, I'm glad that I did because this spray seems to be working well in conjunction with the benzoyl peroxide! For the past month I have used this spray twice a day, once in the morning and once before bed. I haven't had any breakouts and only get the occasional small pimple that goes away so quickly I don't even fret about it. I would recommend anyone to at least try this product as the price makes the risk worthwhile. Consider trying my regimen, it may work for you!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Skincare - Body products