SkinMedica • TNS Essential Serum • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Lefrak on 9/24/2014 9:01:00 PM more reviews by Lefrak

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

If they charged $1,000 for this stuff I would pay it. I have never had a product that made my skin look and feel so good. I was so sad that my skin was looking saggy and awful, I did a search on Youtube and saw a presentation on this product and decided to try it and OMG! I love this stuff. The only thing I don't like is that you can't tell how much is left becasue of the way the product is packaged. I haven't had any problems with the packaging since I keep it upside down. I will be ordering again next week. Great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonymousme on 9/19/2014 9:53:00 AM more reviews by anonymousme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Foreskin and whatnot withstanding, this is an excellent product that helps even your complexion, smooth wrinkles, plump skin, and overall makes your skin look healthier.
I apply this in the evenings only and leave it on for about 10 mins before applying any other products over it (retinol, moisturizer, etc). The night I first applied it on my neck, it looked completely smooth and wrinkle free in the AM!!! This really showed me how it's working.

Pros:

- all those listed above
- the best results I've had were when I exfoliated prior to application. This is a MUST in my book.
- packaging insures active ingredients are separate until you disperse by pumping
- helped my skin heal faster when I picked at it!

Cons:

- price, obviously
- there's a slight smell but not enough to be off putting

Verdict:

- I'd def buy this again, I think it's an important step in prevention at this point

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jomarch24 on 8/5/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by Jomarch24

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is an absolute must product - one which made a noticeable difference both when I used it - and, unfortunately, when I stopped! I did replace it with the regular TNS Recovery serum coupled with other antioxidants as I thought that it would be a less expensive way to get the same results, but in the end I just found myself questioning whether it was really as good or not. What I DID learn was that the product you find on Amazon, Boundary Waters, and especially on e-Bay is NOT the real thing; it is often either expired or a Made In China fake (which lacks some of the patented ingredients). So it means taking a deep breath before buying, but you only get one complexion, and having good skin means saving on expensive makeup and even more expensive treatments. In the end, it's worth it, but I admit I don't quite see the reason for the price. And I agree that the packaging is idiotic; the truth is there's a lot of stuff stuck in that bottle after the pump fails, and it's impossible to get it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goodtiger on 5/26/2014 12:25:00 PM more reviews by goodtiger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a nice product for revitalizing mature skin. You have to use a separate retinol product with it, and the vitamin C in it doesn't seem to be all that much (I use a separate peptide/vit C/retinol serum over it twice a day). It has Syn Coll and DPHP which I like.

Ingredients:
Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media, Water (Aqua), Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Unsaponifiables, Alpha-arbutin, Isoceteth-20, Arachidyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Ethoxydiglycol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Ergothioneine, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Hydrolyzed Silk, Phospholipids, Ubiquinone, Rubus Fruticosus (Blackberry) Leaf Extract, Saccharomyces Ferment Lysate Filtrate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Aminobutyric Acid, Phytosterols, Tocopherol, Tocotrienols, Squalene, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Wax, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Dimethicone, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Polyacrylate-13, Polyisobutene, Polysorbate 20, Behenyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Butylene Glycol, Maltodextrin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Aminomethyl Propanol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Ethylparaben, Fragrance.

Everything in this product is totally dupe-able except the Human Fibroblast Conditioned Media. I would leave out the silicones, acrylates, parabens and excessive use of emulsifiers (all in there for long-term shelf stability not the health of your skin). I like that it has phospholipids, and wish they had gone with a straight phospholipid base instead of all the other emulsifiers/silicones. In spite of all the junk in it, it hasn't given me any cystic acne ... yet. I've used it for a week and already skin is softer and smoother with twice a day use. As I said, I also use another serum over it to amp up the actives.

You can get this much cheaper if you shop around online - don't fall prey to the spas' and offices' salespitch.

The packaging is silly. Two side by side vials in a pump mechanism so that the 2 serums mix when you pump. You cant tell how much is left and its a big honking bottle for only 1 oz of product, total.

Edit: Im on my 3rd bottle of this using it twice daily, and still liking it v much. Skin seems stronger, more finely textured and some freckles are lightening, altho I do use a strong C serum, retinol serum and sunscreen religiously with it.

I bought mine on Pricefalls.com ($170) for a lot cheaper than most places ask for it. Same consistency, smell, ingredients and packaging as what my Derm sells for $270. Would so many here be singing the praises of this stuff that they also got online if they were getting "fake product"?? You have to wonder dont you. The markup on this stuff is obscene.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laray on 5/10/2014 9:34:00 PM more reviews by laray

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great product! I just finished my first bottle and had to have it again. It took about a month of twice daily application before I noticed a difference. I was applying my makeup one morning and did a double-take. My skin was smoother. The wrinkles were less noticeable. My pigmentation was more even. I could not believe it. I have noticed that when I don't use it, my skin reverts back to the way it was before use. I am 60 yrs old so all of this is very important to me. There is an odor which is very faint. It diminishes immediately after application. I wish there was a warning when the product is almost out. There is no way to know with the current packaging. It is expensive. But, I am a very careful shopper and have purchased it online for a little less. I highly recommend this product. Just be patient.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rrgarner on 1/20/2014 2:04:00 PM more reviews by rrgarner

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is *amazing.* After only 3 days, my skin felt smoother. Now, after using one bottle morning and night, I can't stop feeling my face or looking in the mirror: dramatically improved texture, fewer lines, younger looking. Despite the price, TNS Essential Serum has become the one product I will never do without.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweet_like_honey on 10/4/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by sweet_like_honey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I got a free bottle of TNS Essential Serum through a promotion at my office and I am OBSESSED with it. I probably wouldn't have tried it if I had to pay for it because of the price (retail is $260) but I'm glad that I did.

I saw results after 3 days and nights of using this serum with the Skinmedica Facial Cleanser and their Rejuvenative Moisturizer. I had just gotten a chemical peel and an Oxygen Rx treatment, which exfoliated my skin, so the Skinmedica products penetrated better instead of sitting on top of a layer of dead skin.

After 2 days, my coworker asked me what I had done differently because my cheeks looked more "plump and juicy". I knew that my complexion had been looking tired before I started using this so I was happy to get the compliment.

Now, my face is glowing, my skin is super smooth, and NO BREAKOUTS. (Everything breaks me out but this doesn't!) I'm so happy and can't wait to see how much my skin improves after a few months of using this. I haven't seen any change in my nasolabial lines yet (my biggest concern) but if this can revive my skin after 3 days I have high hopes that it can plump up my lines eventually.

I use 1 pump in the AM and another pump in the PM, after cleanser and I wait 2 min after applying this before applying moisturizer and eye cream. I definitely recommend this to everyone who is concerned about aging. Just be sure to exfoliate well first!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dglazier1984 on 8/8/2013 10:11:00 PM more reviews by dglazier1984

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing! You need to use for at least three months for the results to really show!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* debbrumb on 5/20/2013 12:07:00 AM more reviews by debbrumb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this stuff!! I got a pack of skincare and 3 peels for $600 from a local med spa. I still have one peel to go but my skin looks much better. I have acne bowl scars (not the little pitted ones) and major sun spots. My cheeks and forehead are one big spot. This serum smooths out my skin and makes it look amazing. The Josie argan oil does the same thing though. It is about $250 so I got a steal with the pack and peels. PROS: Completely smooths out skin. CONS: Smell is bad and the price. I'm 40 and look about 30.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alwells on 4/6/2013 12:13:00 AM more reviews by alwells

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been obsessed with this stuff for years. I'm 39 and have great skin, if I say so myself. I notice a big difference when I use this product. I wish I didn't like it because it's the most expensive product in my regimen, but those be the brakes. ;)

I tried just the recovery complex (the red one, I think it's the recovery complex -- the one with the growth hormone) alone in an attempt to save a few bucks. I didn't see the same result and quickly switched back to the combo.

The product will get crusty at the top, but there's an easy fix (which seems a little insane given the price of the product, but again...). Just put a piece of scotch tape over the top before putting the cap back on. Works like a charm for the life of the product.

I also hate how you can't tell how much product is left. Should be a view strip or something, but there's not.

But at the end of the day, I have no crepey skin around my eyes and my face is smooth, which is why I love it! I will buy again, and again.

PS - you can get it on Amazon at a fraction of the price of the Dr's office.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More SkinMedica products

More Treatments (Face) products