Deborah Lippmann • Ruby Red Slippers • Polishes

rated 4.2(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 GoodyGlowShoes on 11/20/2013 11:16:00 PM more reviews by GoodyGlowShoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this polish, it's unique and special. I keep turning my fingers in the light to see how the different pieces of glitter catch the light. My manicurist put on a base coat, then one coat of China Glaze Liquid Leather, two coats of Deborah Lippman Ruby Red Slippers, followed by a top coat. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goodtiger on 5/19/2013 9:18:00 PM more reviews by goodtiger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this for winter pedi's. I layer on about 4 coats to really build up the sparkle and apply top coat every 3 days to keep the shine going. After all that it takes pure acetone soaks to get it off or a Dremel!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 3/30/2013 8:10:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful and unique. Vampy and goth-ish, but glittery and sparkly at the same time. Ruby Red Slippers is made up of multi-sized dark red glitter suspended in a black jelly base, a nice alternative to regular black polish. The only downside is that the application is very sheer, it took 3 coats for me to be satisfied with the results. Overall, I think this is a gorgeous polish worth the price tag. Another winner from Deborah Lippmann.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 12/31/2012 10:18:00 AM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was my second DL glitter polish purchase. I'm very please with the quality of DL polishes that I've use. RRS has good, somewhat thick consistency. The black base has small and larger red glitter pieces and is opaque after two coats. After application, the overall effect is a deep, dark black polish with subtle red glitters catching the light perfectly. In other words, the look is more on the vampy side rather than looking like the bright red slippers Dorothy wore in the Wizard of Oz. I prefer this more subtle, dark look because I feel it's more "grown-up" than most glitters on the market. DL is known for doing glitter polishes that are classy and good for the over 25 crowd. I strongly recommend and will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nobelprizeforshopping on 2/11/2012 12:51:00 PM more reviews by nobelprizeforshopping

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Disappointing. It looks beautiful in the bottle but it takes at least 3 coats for decent coverage, is very slow to dry and the chunky glitter bunches up and moves on application. And I'm seeing tip shrinkage and chipping on day one, with a base and top coat. I think this would work better as a glitter top coat over a dark red or black base.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 uponbluemoon on 2/5/2012 4:56:00 PM more reviews by uponbluemoon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the fence about this one. I was surprised at how thin the base is after one coat, thankfully a second coat gave enough opacity. The color reminds me of ChG Lubu Heels, but with bigger chucks of glitter. The glitter also ate my tc the first time, so it wasn't as glossy looking. I've applied a second coat, and hopefully it'll look prettier.

I feel this is a "looks pretty in the bottle but not so much on the nail" polish, and for $18, it's not really worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Noboho on 1/5/2012 5:59:00 PM more reviews by Noboho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first Deborah Lippmann nail polish and I FINALLY got it after coveting it for a year! I have DonnaShorts1 from youtube to thank for this! Once I saw it in one of her videos, I became obsessed with it, OBSESSED! And I still very much am. It's the most gorgeous, compliment receiving color ever! It's a black gel with what seems like millions of sparkly, ruby colored particles of glitter. After a couple of coats it just shines and sparkles! Just like Dorothy's shoes, BETTER even. With a top coat, it lasts quite well. Chipping was very minimal for me, which is wonderful as this would look positively hideous chipped. Now, because this polish is a glitter, removal is difficult. That is to be expected. I don't think that should deter anyone from buying this STUNNING shade. It's worth it just for the compliments alone! Yes, you will have to put a lot of effort into getting it off, but it's sooooo beautiful and remember, you have to suffer to be beautiful! On me, it looks like I have thousands of actual little Rubies on my nails. I have a feeling I'm about to become a Lippmann junkie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wtfiholly on 5/5/2011 7:26:00 PM more reviews by wtfiholly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have to say that I love the color mix, the black base and red glitter, however I am not at all happy with the removal of this lacquer in anyway. I have had more than one compliment on the way this lacquer looks and the mix of color, it does look amazing.
I "forgot" to bring the lacquer with me when I went away this past weekend due to the hard time I have had removing this off my nails and the almost damage that it does for the amount of remover you need to use to get it off. I had to soak my nails in a small container until it was gooey enough to get off and even then it was a chore.
I love the way it sparkles, love the color mix, love the way it looks after 3 coats (and two coats of top coat). I have never had such a hard time getting a glitter polish off in my life. I had to let my nails breathe for 4 days and oil the nail and cuticle twice a day to prevent any more damage. My hands were so dry, what a mess. I followed the direction of setting a wet cotton pad on the nail for about a minute and that did nothing. Then I tried the soaking method and had a better result, but it was not good for the nail at all. I love the color, but I will not want to glitter my nails like that again unless I don't have to go anyplace for at least a week. If I am feeling adventurous I'll wear this again, but in the meantime, never mind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GimpyPoop on 5/4/2011 12:51:00 PM more reviews by GimpyPoop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My first Lippmann – hurray! I have been coveting this forever and a day. And as luck would have it one of very good friends was kind enough to send it to me for my birthday.
So no lie, I always always receive compliments from friends and strangers when I wear this. My friend borrowed it from me and she received the same much attention!
Basically it’s red glitter – small and large hexagon, suspended in a very dark brown, nearly black jelly base. The smaller of the glitter particles is still larger than the ones in China Glaze Lubu Heels.
Lippmann somehow got the jelly to be at the “just right” transparency so that the red glitter really sparkles through! The bold red shininess against the black is really quite striking, to say the least. Just gorgeous!
I often wear a single layer of this over a darker red hue, such as Revlon Vixen, to conserve this nail polish (it’s on the pricier side). I find this really amps up the color as well – having an opaque base to lay the jelly-based glitter on top of.
The wear on this is quite excellent. It lasts a day or two more than my usual manicures, well maybe because it’s because I am all the more meticulous to wear it with manicure extender.
My only gripe is that I have the deluxe size of this and the brush came a bit splayed, so that makes application a bit annoying at times.
Anyway, adore this nail polish, highly recommend to everyone!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 insouciance66 on 3/26/2011 11:20:00 AM more reviews by insouciance66

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Toes only for me with this shade! I like the multiple sizing of the glitter; very eye catching. A little TOO eye-catching on fingers (maybe this would look better on short nails, but when mine are short my hands look stumpy). Lasts and lasts, looks terrible when it starts to chip (as does any bold shade).
Of course, the con here is the price. At 18.00 a bottle, the Lippman Collection overall does not live up to its price point. Usually when I buy a luxury end polish I get great coverage with 2 coats and supreme chip resistance - LC offers neither. I got this polish in the anniversary collection, and I think I have enough glitter polish to last me a lifetime now. In the future if I shell out almost 20.00 for polish, I think i'll stick to Chanel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Deborah Lippmann products

More Polishes products