Pantene • Repair and Protect conditioner • Conditioner

rated 2.8(17 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 colleenme on 1/10/2015 10:14:00 PM more reviews by colleenme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

So surprised I liked this :-) About a year ago Zooey Deschenel was hawking this on tv, and how could anyone not love her glistening, healthy looking brunette hair? Well I had a 2 dollar off coupon and bought it at the beginning of summer 2014. I had just gotten some strong blonde highlights in some color treated light brown hair. I didnt want them to turn green or white in the Florida sun, chlorine or what have you. This stuff was thick, but with more slip than daily moisture renewal (another review). It smelled like Pantene, like an almost expensive perfume, floral and fresh and very long lasting in my below shoulder length hair. But the best part was it worked. It provided an excellent barrier to the elements, both when I rinsed it out and left it in at the pool. It protected my highlights including some red that barely faded, which is amazing. MY FAVORITE PART is my 8 yr old daughters hair is a nightmare, very coarse, blonde blonde and wavy. I am talking tears if she doesnt detangle it after washing or swimming_ total rats nest. Well my kid likes washing and conditioning her hair. Its a miracle lol. She might use a handful, but the rectangular ish bottle with a pump is the best_sturdy, stays seated on this ledge in my shower and almost empties to about 1/2 inch of product. So surprised Pantene_ I am not loyal to any one brand (love new things too much) but I swear its as good as Joicos the reconstructor with much better slip and fragrance for 1/10th of the price! Will repurchase after I bought Pantenes Daily Moisture Renewal for our mild winters down here in Tampa. Is been two weeks and I already miss the Repair and Protect formula

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 10/7/2014 6:44:00 PM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this would be one of the better conditioners from Pantene in a while, however, I still do not think it is very good.
I hate that products are allowed to advertise such things like "reverse 6 months of damage" etc.
Of course I did not purchase this thinking that this conditioner would wow me in that department but I was hoping it would be very nourishing, conidtioning, detangling, just make my hair just look healthier.
It had a nice consistency but I prefer a thicker conditioner that I can really feel saturate every strand and do its job.
It felt just slightly ok when rinsing and fairly conditioned.
It did not detangle that well, made my wet hair feel stringy, and did not make my hair look any healthier.
To me this is what a "basic conditioner" should be, and for something claiming to reverse damage and do some repairing then I expect my hair better have some smoothing to it, shine, add some luster, and of course detangle. This to me failed. I did not notice any more benefits to my hair compared to using a much cheaper store brand.
I think the claims need to be turned down a few notches. Pantene has had better and thicker conditoners in the past.
As for me I would not repurchase.
Also I hated the strong floral perfumey scent to me it was horrendous.

update: as I continue to use this (trying to finish up the bottle) my hair seems more damaged and dry. It breaks off very easily and when showering I am getting lots of fall out

EEWWW I know what scent this reminds me of... sorta like Pink amoxicillin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AChally on 8/9/2014 9:49:00 AM more reviews by AChally

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE

Made my hair go CLAMMY and greasy and just vile. Waxy Texture.

Would never use it again, I had to strip and cleanse my hair to get it back to normal. I do have good hair; shiny and sleek, but this made it horrible.

Very disappointing Pantene.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Talkabouthair on 6/23/2014 2:13:00 PM more reviews by Talkabouthair

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I think it's an overall great conditioner. I usually buy tresemee naturals which I'm totaly in love with but I was in need for a conditioner and this was the best one in the store. It takes away the frizz in my hair which is a problem because I have so much of it. It makes it silky and protects my hair from most damage. It's quite cheap so that's good but I think that for me it's just a good "in case" conditioner when I can't find tresemee naturals!
I just need to point out a thing that wellthatsme mentioned, it doesn't repair the hair but that was expected since there is no products that can ever do that. The only way to get rid of split ends is to cut it. And some might think that I'm lying but repairing products just become like a shell on the hair and it looks and feels repaired but when you stop using your products you will see that they are still there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tiesse on 2/1/2014 10:11:00 PM more reviews by tiesse

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am very happy right now with product. I believe that just maybe this product if for African Americans. I read your posts and you said it was greasy and heavy, well that is what I needed bad! My hair is so dry and brittle. I have totally natural hair, very thick, and coarse. I used this product tonight, let it dry I decided to use the bumping iron because my hair felt so good, it was so straight from the root! My hair is down my back! I can actually feel my scalp right now, I am so happy right now, so happy!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lady5andy on 1/8/2014 9:57:00 PM more reviews by Lady5andy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is for the Pantene Repair and Protect with the purple and gold logo.

It's a good value but it's not a good product. I do not like this product. It weighted my hair down and made them greasy after a while without moisturizing them. So their where dry AND oily and flat in the same time. Believe me, it's not a good combo. I must say however that I really like the charasteristic smell of the Pantene products. I think it's a really great scent, but that's the only thing I like about this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Wellthatsme on 6/14/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by Wellthatsme

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My hair has been extremely damaged, along with dry since I began to straighten my hair. I've longed for some type of hair line to cure my mistake. But it won't be Pantene.
Pantene's hair products always have a fresh smell to them, which is just divine! I liked the smell of this conditioner, which I used with the same shampoo, and it had a nice feeling to it. It's not extremely thick, nor is it runny or googy.
When I firsted use the shampoo, I studied my hair to see any changes. Nope! But I continued on, and used the conditioner. It detangled the knots I get from my curly, frizzy hair and made it feel incredibly sleek which I just loved. But once I got out of the shower, all the damage was still there.
In one use it will get rid of 6 months of damage! No, for my hair that is a complete lie. I do not recommend this to anyone, since it didn't help my hair go back to it's healthy state, neither did it help when I add heat to my hair!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lydia07 on 5/28/2013 4:13:00 PM more reviews by Lydia07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the bottle with the gold top called repair and protect which talks on the bottle about a dual-polymer complex and visibly erasing 6 months of damage. I like this product. Felt rich and made my hair look super shiny and feel soft and smooth. Seemed to stick my split ends together a bit too. It did seem to make my hair not hold a curl as good though. EDIT: I do think this made my hair seem a little dry in the long run. Especially after the second time I used it and it also weighed my hair down and made it flat

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thesavagefamily on 4/8/2013 3:26:00 PM more reviews by thesavagefamily

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I picked this up since I had a coupon, but wished I would have saved my money. I have naturally curly, but permanently straightened hair. My hair is on the dry end, but not super dry and no damage. I thought any repair from blow drying and straightening 2x a week would be great. I used the shampoo and conditioner 3x and each time was left with dry, brittle hair. Maybe it has protein and not enough moisture which would explain the dryness. I could hardly comb the conditioner through my hair and even though my hair was soft while it was drying, it immediately looked very dry when it was styled. I am passing this along to my niece and hopefully she will have better luck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kika824 on 3/21/2013 12:15:00 AM more reviews by kika824

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have to edit my original review for this mess...

I'm an avid high-end brand consumer when it comes to hair and makeup...and would normally turn my head away from this brand because of the bad things I've heard. But on a whim, I purchased the shampoo and conditioner because of it's promise to repair six months worth of damage, in one use. After one use - I WAS in love with it.
However, that was very short lived. I have fine hair, very dry at the ends, more oily at the scalp, and it's brittle. I felt an immediate difference in my hair after using it. I let it air dry, and didn't put any serums or hair softening products in it. But after a couple of weeks, my hair became so much worse! This product feels heavier than it did when I first used it. My hair is greasy feeling, and the build-up from using it is horrible. STAY AWAY from this crap!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pantene products

More Conditioner products